We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surpisingly disappointing for a Panera”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Panera Bread

Panera Bread
Ranked #38 of 230 Restaurants in Conroe
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Willis, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Surpisingly disappointing for a Panera”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Friendly staff, reasonably quick service, but this location had the fewest choices, and worst food of any Panera I have visited. Very limited selections on the posted menu (where are those great signature dishes?). Usually the Panera mac and cheese is a guilty pleasure but worth every calorie - creamy, hot, and delicious. Here the cheese sauce was watery and overly salty, and the dish was a disappointment, as was the visit. Next time I want Panera's food, I'll plan to continue on to the The Woodlands -- longer drive, parking is harder to find, but the food is the usual good Panera quality.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NotPickyEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I keep coming back! ”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I love this place for two reasons, 1) I leave feeling satisfied but not stuffed and 2) the food tastes like real food not microwaved processed garbage. Also the staff here are super sweet!

Helpful?
Thank loverepub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
748 reviews
437 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 663 helpful votes
“Consistantly Great”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We love this location for lunch. It is consistently good, service is adequate, food comes out hot or cold depending on your choice, easy location to find. This chain has something for everyone in our group no matter who we dine with and special diets can be accommodated. Great bagels if you like the lesser dense and lower calorie type. Lots of choices if you come early. Don't really have a problem with the other Panera Bread's in the area but we like this one best. Salads are great and they can do little changes without batting an eye.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebekajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
236 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“You can do better”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Like many chains, this one is ok. We had lunch there on a cold day and had good soup and mediocre sandwiches. Because it was cold we both craved warm comfort food, so we chose the grilled cheese. The bread was nicely done, but the cheese was surprisingly tasteless. A few years ago we had grilled cheese sandwiches from a Village Inn in Colorado, and they were far superior to these. Panera appears to want to be considered a little upscale, but this kind of food just isn't good enough to support it. If they were really so good they wouldn't be trying to rope in repeat customers with a club membership.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mister_Boffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Breads!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

One of the best places for a delicious sandwich and a bowl of soup. I highly recommend the broccoli cheese soup with any of their sandwiches.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank yourreflectphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Panera Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing