We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit disappointing”
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
Ranked #12 of 233 Restaurants in Conroe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Huntsville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“a bit disappointing”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We have visited this location many times before since it is only a 45 minute drive from home,
and have always enjoyed the food. But this time it was a disappointment. I ordered the
chicken with broccoli and cheese special and it was served with some kind of gooey stuff on
top. I ordered apple pie for dessert and it was like the crust was not baked long enough.
It was a cold day but the fireplace wasn't lit. But the service was fast and the waiter was
attentive and pleasant..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elaine3844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    42
    20
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Not all Cracker Barrels are created equal: This one is great”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I know that this is a chain and that you would expect it to taste the same at any store, anywhere: NOT SO! This one is special! The service might have been a little suspect -- I think we had a relatively new waitress - but the food was absolutely fantastic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a36redbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldspring, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good Home Cookin'”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I get to eat a lot of "exotic" foods due to the travel associated with my job and I was craving a good, home cooked meal, that I did not have to cook. I had the chicken fried steak and veggies. Yum, Yum, Yum. My husband had chicken livers and some of my chicken fried steak. We both really like Cracker Barrel and the atmosphere of times past. I just wish restaurants in general would put more thought into making it a less noisy experience. Good food and our server Yvonne was spot on. Good job overall.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nomadladymedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griffith
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“It's a cracker barrel”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

And the food was great as always and the selection in gift shop was festive for the upcoming easter holiday

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C. Texas
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delightful Place for Family”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

A group of women from the family met for dinner. Most had breakfast for their meal. I enjoyed the vegetable platter. The sweet potato was small (plenty for me) but delicious.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TagTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing