We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem on a Quaint Brick Street”
Review of Red Brick Tavern

Red Brick Tavern
Ranked #4 of 229 Restaurants in Conroe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Montgomery, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem on a Quaint Brick Street”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Be sure to go a little earlier than the typical 'dinner hour' when you try out this restaurant. I've had both lunch and dinner here and both times, by the time I was leaving, the place was packed. The food seems a bit pricey but the portions were large and our waitress even warned us about the size of the portions and suggested that we share - which we did. This made the meal quite affordable and we still felt that we had plenty to eat. I've enjoyed the Drunken French Onion Soup, Chipotle Chicken Quesadillas, and the fish tacos. All were great and my husband raved about the mac and cheese. (I'm having that next time!) They do have live music later in the evening but I'm not sure I'd want to fight the crowds. The place is rather small and when we were there for dinner it was packed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    83
    21
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Great Find in Conroe!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Last Saturday my husband and I were up in Conroe, checking out a few of the antique marts I had heard about. After walking around we were getting a little hungry AND we had passed the Red Brick Tavern, a restaurant we had been wanting to check out. We had read good reviews about their food and their awesome Bloody Marys, so were excited to try them!! Our intentions were just to get a snack, but after chatting with the waitress we found out the only guaranteed GF food would be the pizza, because they bring in the crust..so here we had to go and order one (luckily it wasn't too large!! Plus we had a spinach salad with only things I was sure about on it. They do home-make all their dressings onsite and the waitress had said if the owner was there, he would have had more knowledge of what I could eat. It was nice she cared enough to tell me that...I do so love it when someone really takes the time to listen and even if they say "no I don't understand" it's better than tell my they have GF when they don't!!
We ended up ordering the spinach artichoke pizza but substituting the regular sauce for the Alfredo (in the past Alfredo has been a no-no) and the spinach salad, no croutons. Both were very good. OH...we ended up ordering the Bloody Mary also, we thought we had heard it was this huge, meal-type one, but sadly it was only a regular one...tasted good but...not what we expected, and kind of pricey at that!

All in all we had great service, nice townie atmosphere, and a good, reasonably priced meal. Yay....we'll be back!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gospel breakfast”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We were very pleasantly surprised to have live, family appropriate music during Sunday breakfast. The building us very historic and well decorated. The food was very good and we really liked the potatoes. Would go again !

Helpful?
1 Thank MauriceMarfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldspring, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Red Brick Tavern”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Excellent spinach salad with salmon on top. The restaurant is easily accessible from the street. A fun place to meet friends for lunch!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bentleybeagledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tx
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great food, just a little pricey”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is small restaurant and tavern owned by two locals. We tried it for dinner but I heard the lunch is great. The food is excellent, especially the fish and the pizza. The chef is very talented. I thought the prices are a little high for the venue but you do get what you pay for they say. You have to try whatever they have on special. I would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Brick Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Red Brick Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing