We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tried For Myself”

Vernon's Kuntry Katfish
Ranked #1 of 230 Restaurants in Conroe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned and operated, Vernon's Kuntry Katfish provides home-style cooking in a casual and comfortable environment. Just like walking into a family member's living room and having a relaxing dinner, Kuntry Katfish has the same homey atmosphere with its panel wood walls, carpet floors and personal touches. We also feature a large room that is perfect any event. Our large menu features many Southern favorites along with a broad spectrum of seafood (shrimp, scallops, oysters). Customer favorites include chicken fried steak, and of course, our famous katfish. Everything on our menu is cooked to order and made fresh every day - we guarantee consistent flavors and quality. We believe in high-quality products, large portions, and fast, friendly service. Whether you're having a casual outing with the family or you're grabbing lunch with co-workers, Vernon's Kuntry Katfish is the perfect place to go. Also be sure to ask us about our full-service catering!
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tried For Myself”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

As being new to the area we were told about this restaurant. As an avid reader I checked up and things looked good. We expected great catfish and looked forward to the green tomato relish.
Not impressed and felt rushed by the young server who was flirting with a table in her little shorties. The relish tasted like it came from a jar. My friends catfish was warm and mine cold and a little dirty tasting.
Also the place is rather old and dated. Spider webs hanging off the stuffed fish on the wall. I'm not one to go on but our group will be passing by on this one for sure!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank txfoodie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buster B, Manager at Vernon's Kuntry Katfish, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Sorry we didn't show you a great meal when you came in recently. That's all we want to do! I wish you'd let us know about your catfish while you were here -- we'd never want you to eat something that wasn't right. Hopefully we'll get a chance to show you that this was an off day and "Katfish" is in the name for a reason!

All the best,
Buster, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    110
    28
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good food , good prices”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

my wife and I have eaten there can not count the times always very good people very friendly easy to get to right off fm 105 or west davis same road

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulgX5110FQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buster B, Manager at Vernon's Kuntry Katfish, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Too many times to count is exactly how many times we want you to come see us! Thanks for letting us know you're a fan, Paul. Hope you're having a great summer.

All the best,
Buster, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great comfort food”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We tried the chicken fried steak with mashed potatoes, cream gravy, fried okra & biscuits. Food is served in a homey dining room. People are friendly & service is very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buster B, Manager at Vernon's Kuntry Katfish, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed your Chicken Fried Steak and that it was matched by good service, Carol. It looks like you were just visiting, but hopefully we'll be able to cook for you again sometime in the future!

All the best,
Buster, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

So a re-review. Horrible sums it up.

Cold food. Slow service. Wrong order. Arguing waitress when she messed up the order and I mean argue. What do you want me to do about it attitude. I've down no wrong.
Wow.
Flies swarming the tables. Slop truck stopping by your table as they clean up after guests. This institution of catfish has gone straight down the toilet. I'm betting that old Vernon is spinning in his grave as he watches his life's work be run down.
If travelling along 105 toward Montgomery heading out of Conroe pass by and maybe stop at Phils Roadhouse in Montgomery. Catfish is better and the service is always pleasing!

Helpful?
1 Thank tm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buster B, Manager at Vernon's Kuntry Katfish, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
After over 20 years in the food service industry, I always held the opinion that the customer was always right. However, that was not the case in this situation. This was a classic case of the customer taking a resolvable problem and turning into a major incident.

I concede that this gentleman's order was wrong. When we tried to resolve the problem it became apparent that the customer would not be satisfied unless his meals were “comped”. When we presented him with the correct order, he pushed the plate away and did not eat. He then informed the manager that he would not pay for his meals nor the meals of his guests (which were eating without complaint). The manager said that she would gladly comp his meal but the other two would have to be paid for. To this he responded with the fact that he was a senior writer for TripAdvisor.

Apparently, he believed that a negative review would intimidate us into “comping” the other meals. When the customer signed his credit card receipt, he wrote “under protest” on the receipt. He informed the staff member at the counter he was going to contact his credit card company immediately and said “He would not be paying for these meals!” This exemplifies the fact that the sole purpose of this customer was not to pay for any of the meals.

Our staff did everything they could to try to satisfy this customer. They apologized, offered a gift card, and tried to get his contact information so the owner could contact him. He refused all and said he would call myself, the owner, which never occurred. Instead, he wrote this tasteless review referring to problems such as cold food, slow service, etc. which were never brought up to the staff. But worst of all mentioning my deceased father, which I take as a personal attack.

My family and our staff know that we are blessed to have the customers that we continue to satisfy on a daily basis. In turn, we pass these blessing onto our community. This is the model in which my parents built this business and the model we continue to follow today.

All the best,
Buster, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious Food! ”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Anytime we visit Conroe, we have to eat at Vernon's! This is excellent, down home cooking. The hush puppies are to-die-for!

Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buster B, Manager at Vernon's Kuntry Katfish, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
We love hearing that we're a staple when you find yourself in Conroe! Looking forward to serving up some more hush puppies next time you're in our neck of the woods. Have a great rest of the summer, Kathy.

Until then,
Buster, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vernon's Kuntry Katfish also viewed

 

Been to Vernon's Kuntry Katfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing