We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best takeout dinner in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McKenzie's Barbeque & Burgers

McKenzie's Barbeque & Burgers
Ranked #5 of 230 Restaurants in Conroe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For a taste of traditional, Texas-style barbecue, join McKenzie's Barbecue & Burgers for lunch, dinner or both! Try our sandwiches with your choice of filling: sliced beef, chopped beef, turkey, ham, chicken, hot link, sausage, sloppy jo, pork loin or pulled pork. Can't decide? Try our plates with your choice of 1, 2, 3 or 4 meats with two sides. For the real carnivore, you can have the plate with meat only, no sides. Hosting an event? You can order our meats by the pound.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best takeout dinner in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Me and my family eat here all the time. They have great stuffed potatoes, burgers, and the barbecue is just all around superb.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SamAndJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    45
    16
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
264 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“OK but nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Even though we told the counter person we had never been there before she didn't give us any info on what we got as far as sauces, fixins...nothing. The meat was OK but there was only one sauce that was fair.

The chair I was sitting on was ready to break out from under me. I moved it against a wall and told someone behind the counter. No one took the chair away. A few minutes later someone went to sit in the chair and we had to let them know about it. I went to the counter and told someone else. Still no one took the chair. It would be different if the place was busy but it wasn't. That's just lazy, uncaring and poor business practices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BaltimoreRedbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Ribs!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This restaurant has great bbq and wonderful ribs. The staff is friendly and the service has always been good. It's the best BBQ in conroe.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sueandmikeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tx
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great barbecue and burgers. Christian owned”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is the best burger and the BBQ is also very good. The owners are extremely nice Christian people that are very generous to their community. Get here early for lunch because they do get very busy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JonTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BBQue Variety”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This place serves cafeteria style with a variety of meat offerings. Their "specials" are very nicely priced. Families will enjoy McKenzie's because you can get just exactly what you want on your plate.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McKenzie's Barbeque & Burgers also viewed

 

Been to McKenzie's Barbeque & Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing