We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Landgrove Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Snowdon Chalet(Londonderry)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marbledge Lodge(East Dorset)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The INN at Willow Pond(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Winds Country Motel(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olympia Lodge(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manchester View(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Manchester)
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chalet Motel(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$88
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magic View Motel(Londonderry)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
75
17
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
17
3
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdirt roadhonor barbridal suitepainting workshopwinter tripdownhill skicountry roadopen to the publicseveral choicesplay tennisprix fixecross country skiducklingquintessential vermontnew englandworth the tripjacuzzi tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I visit Vermont often, and have stayed at many different places, from upscale inns to modest B & B's. There is certainly a place for all these lodging choices. But if I had to pick one inn that epitomizes what people think of when they think of Vermont, the Landgrove would be the place. I've had the pleasure of staying there in all four seasons (including mud season), and always feel a distinct sense of contentment when I'm there. Everything exudes cozy, from the woodburning stove in the great room, to the dining room where wonderful breakfasts and dinners are served, to the front reading room, to the honor bar, and to all 18 guest rooms. Tom and Maureen, the owners, are sincerely nice people who have found their calling. There's something close by to do no matter what the season, but equally gratifying is there's nothing you need to do besides enjoy this wonderful inn if that's your mood. I also love the location on a semi-backroad. Go out of the inn, look around, and you could just as easily imagine that it's a hundred years ago. So soothing it re-energizes my soul. The sign out front says The Soul of Vermont. I definitely agree!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enduro338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We just returned from three nights at the Landgrove Inn, which is in one of the most beautiful and scenic areas of Vermont's Green Mountains. The Inn rambles on in several direction and is directly across from some decent cross country skiing trails. (In fact you can rent equipment right on site and practically ski out the front door.) We were part of a group and our price per person included breakfast and dinner. Dinner includes an appetizer, entree and dessert. What is amazing about the Inn is that they only have 18 rooms but offer 6 or 7 choices of entrees and the same number of desserts each night in their restaurant. This is not a gourmet restaurant, but the food is very well prepared and plentiful, and we appreciated not having to drive in the evening for dinner. I would say the Inn offers typical New England accommodations. The rooms are a reasonable size and furnished well, but certainly not sumptuous. They also seem to vary quite a bit. I was in a single, which was much less attractive than a suite (Room 7) that was nearby, which was quite nice. So it makes sense to ask the Innkeeper about the accommodations when you make your reservation. Speaking of the Innkeepers, Tom and Maureen, they are amazing accommodating in every respect -- eager to help you with directions, area attractions, or just lending you something from the kitchen. They have an honor bar and offered chili for lunch in the event you did not want to travel out from the Inn. We did go out and recommend the Bryant House in nearly Weston, the home of the well known Vermont Country Store.
As I mentioned, they have their own cross country trails, but there are other Nordic ski areas nearby for variety, and at least 4 major downhill ski areas within a 1/2 hour of the Inn. I would really recommend the Inn for groups like ours or for family reunions. Great location in central Vermont and excellent starting point for day tripping.

Room Tip: Really should consult with Innkeeper because there is great variety between the accommodations.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The biggest thing I remember about this place, is their great restaurant!! I've had their authentic Mac and Cheese twice! It has vermont white cheddar, baked with a crumb topping! I miss it so bad hehe. The rooms are a good size, the area is nice and quiet. The place is definitely i'd visit a third time and more! The customer service was also wonderful. The decor and atmosphere is also very enjoyable if you like the classic feel rather than ultra modern for a stay back east.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonValo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

There's a standout country inn in Southern Vermont, especially if you like good food and have an interest in the arts. Landgrove Inn is set in a truly Vermont countryside, a short distance from Weston and Manchester, not to mention four ski resorts, and holds various art workshops in a separate studio. The meals, hospitality, and ambiance are far above average. It's no wonder that most guests are returnees and that artists and writers gravitate to the Landgrove Inn. Robert Wills

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The Landgrove Inn started out as a ski lodge and now has become our favorite family inn on multiple occasions. We had our oldest daughter's wedding here, and the tent and beautiful grounds were a perfect setting, near a white clapboard tiny country church. Everything is overseen personally by the innkeepers. They looked after my elderly mother at Christmas time, as if she were part of their own family. The cuisine is fresh, local and delicious--the duck was excellent! the blueberry pancakes were epic!-- For my last visit in January I discovered what is now my favorite room: a spacious but cosy suite off the main dining room. It had a working fireplace and 360 degree views of the inn's sweeping lawn and gardens. We love this inn for being romantic and old fashioned, affordable and simple, but with modern comforts.This isn't your spa-with-the-plush-bathrobe expensive luxe type of place (which I also enjoy), but rather a family setting as if you were in a private home. In the winter we love the sleigh rides and cross-country ski trails, the game room with the big TV and lots of books to read; there is also downhill nearby at Bromley Mtn. In the summer, we go to the Saturday morning farmer's market in Londonderry and check out the art shows in the inn's art barn. There's a swimming pool, horse rides and plenty of nature for the kids to enjoy in the meadows, ponds and streams that surround the property. Some people in our family need more urban things to do, so they visit the outlet stores (J Crew etc.) in nearby Manchester, or check out the old-fashioned (if pricey) stuff at the Vermont Country Store in Weston.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews