We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Relaxing Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Out by the Sea Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My family and I stayed here for the weekend and loved every minute of it. The rooms are great and the service is greater. Carol made us feel right at home and gave us every accommodation including her cooking and friendliness. The patio is beautiful and relaxing with the hammocks and the garden. It is very close to the beach, close enough to walk right down in just a few minutes. If you're looking for a relaxing, easy going, social place to stay, Out By the Sea is everything you'll need!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jared C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

Out By the Sea B & B was a nice place to stay right near the beach. It has a nice homey feel with a nice courtyard. Carol and Renee made us feel at home in her home. We will be coming by to visit on our next trip to Crystal. It was so interesting to hear about what was actually happening during Hurricane Ike from someone who was actually there and how she and her company survived together. It was great to meet ya'll and will be stopping by again.... Jo Beth and Kevin

Room Tip: the rooms are a little small, but the service and friendliness of this B&B was very hospitable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Me and my wife of 32 years just needed a weekend away. We had worked almost 70 hours a week since the first of May. We stayed in the Honeymoon 2 room. It was small but very comfortable,clean and had everything we needed for our weekend stay.this Bed and Breakfast has a very comfortable feel about it. It's not so fancy that you are afraid to sit down or touch anything like some places we have seen. Carole was an incredible host.Down to earth and very easy to talk to. We spent several hours just sitting on the deck in the cool breeze until almost midnight.we feel we have meet and made a new friend.we will GLADLY return for another visit.
it actually felt more like a VISIT rather than a stay . We totally fell in love with Mrs Dinky ( Caroles k-nine companion ) .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsy and David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

7/23/12 I have stayed twice at this B&B, once alone, now with my Mother and sister. First time I stayed in one of the Honeymoon rooms which sits right on the deck so you can open your door for the constant joy of the beach breezes. Carole was such a wonderful hostess and I enjoyed my time so much I wanted to share it with my family. This time the three of us stayed in the Regatta Room which has two queen beds and a private bath. The room was very comfortable and well decorated. Again Carole was a wonderful hostess taking extra time to make sure we had all we needed. She now has a lift (elevator) that made it much easier for my Mom to get to our room without having to use the stairs. Carole makes breakfast each morning which is wonderful and it is was so nice to be able to meet some of the other quests. Her large living area gave us a place to sit and talk after breakfast. The beach is a short walk or ride and was much cleaner than I have seen in years. Her lower and upper decks have swings, hammocks and tables to enjoy reading or resting. I know I will be paying her another visit soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The website gives you the impression that this is a B&B with lots of rooms that are very separate from the owner's living space. This is not true. We stayed in the Regatta room and it was basically just a bedroom in someone's house. That's fine if that was what we paid for, or what was billed on the website, but it is not. We paid a decent amount of money especially for this area, and it was the most awkward experience. We were continuously underfoot in this woman's house. It was clear that anything we might do would disturb her. It was kind of like staying with a family friend you didn't know very well--we kind of felt trapped in our bedroom for fear of being in the way. It really felt more like an airbnb rental of a bedroom in someone's house than a B&B. She didn't even have keys to the house for us to use.

Clearly other people have different experiences here, and I think if you stay outside of the main house or know what you're signing up for, it might be a different experience. However we really thought we'd be in a room like a B&B, away from the living space of the owner.

The location is very close to the beach (a few hundred feet), and there aren't many people, which is nice. Friends told us to stay here as opposed to Galveston, but I thought Galveston was nicer, although definitely more people. The owner did have interesting stories about the hurricane and rebuilding.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jennybento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Out By The Sea Bed & Breakfast has two rooms inside the main home and three rooms in a separate location. The Regatta is located in the main home. Referencing the above review
it is clear that some guests adore staying in a Bed & Breakfast and there are others that prefer a home rental. We made every effort possible to provide this family with a pleasant experience.
The Regatta has two queen beds and comfortably sleeps 2-4. When they arrived there were two couples, a toddler and a teenage boy. This presented a concern which was discussed. The decision was made to place additional bedding in the room. This reservation was challenging for Out By The Sea, but we tried very hard to make this a positive experience.
Keys were provided for the room, a key to the Regatta and a key to the front door.
There was an additional set of keys provided to the husband when his wife was in Galveston and he needed access to the room.
At Out By The Sea we are dedicated to making our guests feel very comfortable and to exceeding standards! Please do see all our other wonderful reviews from B&B lovers!
Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Traveling to Crystal Beach for the first time, I had no idea what to expect. I am so incredibly impressed with the first-class, reasonably-priced amenities offered at Out by the Sea B & B and its owner, Carole Hamadey. The décor and details of all the rooms, which fortunately I saw during my weeklong stay, are impeccably designed, ever so comfortable and spotlessly clean. The entire B & B provides rest, relaxation, magnificent views of the water combined with a constant, pleasant ocean breeze, which gently caresses your skin and simultaneously keeps you cool that you can enjoy on every location of the property. Carole also personally cultivates a gorgeous garden on the B & B, featuring splendid flora and fauna (great bird watching). It is peaceful, restorative, fun, beautiful inside and out, and so much more. Carole instantly makes you feel at ease and will go beyond the extra mile to ensure your stay meets your every desire! She is extremely accommodating to each and every guests’ needs and wishes, whilst providing delightful service and care. She is a joy! I would highly recommend staying at Out by the Sea B & B on the Bolivar Peninsula/Crystal Beach (a ferry ride away from Galveston), rather than staying in Galveston, TX, where the beaches are crowded; not quite as nice; and, are much more restrictive. The B & B’s instant access to the beach is a huge convenience, which one can drive on with a vehicle or golf cart (to the contrary of Galveston and a Bolivar Peninsula signature fun and safe activity.) If you are looking for a wonderful get-away in this region – this is the ONLY place to consider staying! Thank you Carole for the superb experience!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Such beautiful rooms, and a breathtaking view of the gulf right from the balcony. Walking distance to the beach. The rooms are very clean and breakfast is always hot and delicious! Carol is such a personable woman with a genuine connection to her visitors, words cannot describe how lovely this stay was! A must see! I will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: The honey moon suite is amazing but all rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Out by the Sea Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out by the Sea Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2134 Vista, Box 2046, Crystal Beach, TX 77650
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Crystal Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crystal Beach
Price Range: £112 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Out By The Sea is a lovely coastal bed and breakfast in Crystal Beach. We are located on the Bolivar Peninsula. The peninsula is 30 miles of sandy beach and the audubon migration route for many species of birds. We are a well-known biding mecca with several sites for bird watching. We are a great family vacation site with our gentle warm water of the gulf, great fishing and shelling. Out By The Sea has 5 areas; The Regatta; a ;large room with 2 queen beds, The LaFitte; a lovely room for 2. These rooms are located in the main home. The Honeymoon Suite and the smaller room, Amour de le Mer are located in the attached building with a private deck which looks over the gulf and beach!The Honeymoon Suite is very romantically decorated and has a very large double heart shaped jacuzzi. There is also a large family area, The Pirates Den, has room for 5 guests, a bedroom, a living room area, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath.Small pets are allowed in this area only. Our tropical gardens make this truly a tropical paradise. Please join us to relax in one of our hammocks while the tropical breeze relaxes you as the waves gently break on the shore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Out By The Sea Hotel Crystal Beach
Out By The Sea b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing