We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Po Boy Ever!”

Stingaree Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Po Boy Ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Local, casual, right on the water, friendly wait staff - a favorite for lunch! I've honestly not eaten anything but their FRESH shrimp because it's soooo good! Their little bar/cafe downstairs serves the same quality shrimp. We've eaten there also as Stingarees is closed on Monday and Tuesday. I cannot imagine going to Houston without taking a day to ride the ferry to Bolivar Peninsula and have a Po Boy at Stingarees! We love them!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texlove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    113
    39
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville TX
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good casual dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed a weekend at Crystal Beach and had to try this place based on opinions of friends that live in the area. We walked right in on a Saturday night, no wait for a table (6pm) The bread basket is more like oversized croutons, I could have eaten the whole thing! We split the Shrimp Lover's Plate and it was great. Fried, charbroiled, boiled, crab stuffed, jalapeno and gumbo. It was all good. This is not a fancy, overpriced seafood place, its good casual dining. The view is nice over the intercoastal waterway.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GypsyGirl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Only Option in Bolivar ... and Not a Good One”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

On our way to Galveston, we stopped for lunch at the Stingaree. Several items on the menu were not available. I ordered shrimp cocktail and a baked potato. The shrimp was medium-sized, well-handled meaning no tail with a 'cocktail sauce' served in an opaque plastic squeeze bottle! Lemon was in a plastic tear-to-open packet. Baked potatoes, ordered by both of us, had been pre-cooked then microwaved. Dry skins and not even hot nor steamy when cut open. We were given a tear-top mini tub of oleo despite ordering butter - which they did not have. Condiments were all in tear-packets: sour cream included. No ground pepper but a shaker of grayish 'pepper' which we did not trust. My Sig. Other cannot remember what he ordered, so he said to say it was unmemorable ... and a place we will not return to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank newsanddeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great lunch awesome view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Stopped for lunch with my dad. We had the crab stuffed avocado. It came with a small salad and a small bowl of gumbo. The crab salad stuffed into the avocado had lots of crab meat and the flavor went well with the avocado. The gumbo was awesome. Very tasty and just enough to want more the next time.

Helpful?
Thank Sabduv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thompsons Station, TN
Level Contributor
204 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We drove down from Galveston tonight for dinner at Stingaree. It was a pleasant surprise. The disappointing part is they had fresh flounder but by the time we ordered they were out. That's what happens with fresh fish. We started out with an order of boudin balls which were very good. Then dinner: pecan crusted fresh snapper for me and my wife got the grilled stuffed shrimp. Both were very good. A couple of Lone Stars to top it off makes for a nice dinner. This restaurant is right on the water. We arrived just past sunset so we couldn't enjoy the view but we enjoyed our dinners.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stingaree Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Crystal Beach, Texas Gulf Coast
Crystal Beach, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Crystal Beach, Texas Gulf Coast
Crystal Beach, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Crystal Beach, Texas Gulf Coast
Crystal Beach, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Stingaree Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing