We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid BBQ, Can't go wrong here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carl's Barbecue

Carl's Barbecue
Ranked #11 of 254 Restaurants in Cypress
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Cypress, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Solid BBQ, Can't go wrong here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great BBQ. Their BBQ stuffed Baked Potatoe is a regular at our house. I had had their brisket, sausage and turkey; all are very good. 95% of my visits are take out since it is right on my way home from work.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyPMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    35
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfort food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I stop at Carl's 3 or 4 times a month to pick up dinner for the family on my way home from work. Favorites are the brisket and sausage plates/sandwiches, the stuffed baked potato, and the baked potato casserole. If you are really hungry I recommend the chicken fried chicken, or the chicken fried steak: either choice nearly overlaps the plate. You can also get most items on a kid's size portion, which is nice. And they will substitute green beans for French fries if you like.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Have eaten at Carl's for years and never been disappointed! Great for gatherings to go or eating at the relaxed and picnic type atmosphere

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank krippy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Well it seems there must have been a change in management or something is seriously wrong”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

I have for over 25 visited this place when it was a walk up counter in a small hut. This weekend I was even more depressed to find that the food quality has spilled even since my last visit a few months back! What give newanahent new owner not sure but the place went from being a good BBQ place went from being one of my favorite place to eat to never go there again. First off the meat is dry and well over cooked portions are skimpy at best and the price is well not in proportion. Sauce taste like canned tomatoe soup dressed up AT BEAT NASTY! Shocked indeed I am this place needs a complete over haul or shut its doors.

Life long customer lost!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great ribs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I had ribs and baked potato salad, both were very good. The desserts looked very good as well, but I was there for a birthday party & we had our own cake so didn't try the restaurant dessert. Good food & casual atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carl's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Carl's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing