We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Famtastic place to see”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seal River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seal River Heritage Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My wife and daughter and i just spent a week at the Seal River lodge. the operators are the best there is in the adventure travel business. The family truly takes care of you, sees to your every need, keeps you safe and engaged and the food is magnificent. The lodge offers a once in a lifetime experience of walking with Polar Bears and is unique in the world in that regard. i recommend this place to everyone with an adventurous spirit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erikhoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband , daughter and I had the most wonderful visit to Seal River Heritage Lodge this past July. It was an unforgettable experience that we cannot recommend highly enough! If you are on the fence about this kind of an adventure vacation - take the leap! Let Mike and Jeannie Reimer, and their beautiful family, show you the wonders of Hudson Bay. You will be thrilled by being so close to the animals, and being able to observe them just doing their thing. The daily hikes, zodiac trips out to the estuary to see and swim with the belugas, informative and interesting talks every evening about the wildlife and ecology of the area were great! We couldn't wait to get up each day and see what adventure awaited us.
Although remote, the lodge is comfortable and beautiful. The food was wonderful and abundant. Aside from three delicious meals a day, there were snacks, homemade cookies, hot and cold hor deurves, wine - it was a ten! The ambience was welcoming, cheerful and relaxed. We felt pampered, secure, and privileged to be able to enjoy their world.
Don't be tempted by those cheaper tundra buggy tours in Churchill - this is more expensive, but worth every penny. This trip isn't just about seeing the animals, it's about learning about them in depth and sharing their world for a few memorable days. Do it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank calynn621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

What a fantastic trip. It was our second time with Churchill Wild and it was even better than the first. The nay Sayers said we wouldn't see many bears in Summer, but they were very wrong! We saw over 20 different bears, walking, sleeping, swimming, playing. We saw young bears, old bears, mumma bears with cubs.
We swam with the Beluga whales which in itself is an incredible experience, they are so curious and bold, and make the most delightful music for us to hear.
Our guides, Terry and Andy are very experienced and knowledgeable. They instill confidence even when the bears are getting close.
The accommodation is very comfortable and the food great.
Recent Previous reviews are all accurate.

Room Tip: Most rooms have 2 single beds, (or more) if you want a bigger bed you might try requesting one. Beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaaLaa2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Just experienced a marvelous trip to this property. The lodge is amazingly comfortable and environmentally efficient for such a remote area. Mike and Jeanne planned this extremely well and continue to be two of the most delightful managers one will ever meet. They are joined by their family in the operations and go out of their way to provide a remarkable experience for all guests. The staff is warm and welcoming, as well as, very efficient . The guides, Terry and Andy are excellent in helping the guests to see the wildlife safely while stressing the protection and conservation of animals and plants. There were many sightings of bears and whales. Few birds were present at the lodge at this time but Mike arranged for me to be able to visit birding areas during our day in Churchill. I have traveled to all seven continents and experienced all levels of adventure and highly recommend this trip if you want exciting wildlife adventures, meeting warm, wonderful people and having delicious food. They limit attendance to small numbers so you need to apply very early. Their trip planners and coordinators at the off-cite points are also very helpful and demonstrate the same warm and welcoming demeanor that seems typical of the "Mike and Jeanne standards".

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The reviews by Dr. Sridhar, Derek (Bath, England) and the Auzzie couple from Brisbane give you a truthful and correct evaluation of this amazing wildlife safari.We all visited the same week.

The Arctic has many surprises: I looked a beluga whale in the eyes and stood three-feet from a polar bear. Separated by a strong fence (at the lodge), the bear’s warm breath mixed with mine as we watch each other carefully. I watched the glimmering green northern lights and pinched myself every day to see if this was really happening. The quality of the lodge, fabulous food, superb guides Terry and Andy, and the hospitality of the owners, Mike and Jeanne as well as their family, made this experience among the best wildlife adventures I've had. I'd give them 5 Stars!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justgonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

These are facts about this great place -
1. You will walk among polar bears in the wild - as close as you can ever imagine or as close the Lord of the Arctic permits
2. You will watch polar bears swim in the bay and come to your zodiac and swim back to land
3. You will see polar bears not on snow - in July - amongst fireweed and rocks and green bushes
4. Polar bears will come to the lodge and be inches away from you
5. There will be beluga whales and they will come and chat with you while you float in a dry suit
6. Chatting with beluga whales will remain one of the most remarkable experience in your life
7. The trip to Hubbard point was fantastic - make sure they take your there
8. They are plenty of birds
9. Someone commented that there was no wildlife photographer - who needs one? you will have plenty of time to take as many pictures as you want - check out the pictures I posted
10. The lodge is very comfortable
11. The food exceptionally good and a lot of comfort food too - and they meet special needs too
12 The guides - we had Andy and Terry - the best you will ever see or meet - knowledgeable, responsible and friendly
13. The hosts Mike and Janie will make you feel as comfortable as possible and will address every need you may have - the best you can hope for
14. The Chefs - beautiful couple who cook amazing meals
15. The staff are first rate and highly efficient
16. you will have access to satellite based email only - no big files please - so you can keep in tough with your family
17. There is never a dull moment - the days are exciting as the short nights - we saw northern lights at 1 AM - and a spectacular moonlight
18. Expensive? Yes but worth every penny - the experience, I believe will last forever - my friends cannot believe the photographs I took - I told this story a 100 times already- and it is only been a week
19. Make sure you get the list of things you should have from the lodge before you travel - the bugs will get you - be prepared - antihistamines, steroid cream, epipen if you have allergies
20. The hotel in Winnipeg that you stay on arrival is efficient and convenient - 2 mins walk from baggage claim
21. The last week of July we had spectacular weather
Go there - it will be once in a lifetime trip

Room Tip: Some rooms will have a window which will give a view of the wild
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sridhar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This lodge is magnificent. Mike and his family make you very welcome and tge service is exemplary throughout. The guides Andy and Terry were great and enabled everyone to get the best out of the trip. Highlights were swimming with Beluga whales and being within 2 feet of a polar bear at the lodge. Thankfully a wire fence between us. A real wilderness experience. Expensive but thoroughly worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Seal River Heritage Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal River Heritage Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 79 | Kleefeld, Seal River, Manitoba R0A 0V0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Seal River
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Seal River
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Churchill Wild - Seal River Heritage Hotel Churchill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing