We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
79
88
39
25
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
88
39
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la quinta nice hotel sausage small town road trip the entire hotel wonderful stay stay there again nice place to stop the main highway staff was friendly free breakfast the breakfast area room was clean and comfortable waffles texas panhandle next morning
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was a great value and an extremely clean facility. The rooms are large and quiet. Plenty of parking for a group of 4 driving 2 trucks with large trailers and a car. Nicely lit parking lot.

The only disappointments were small. We were promised bottled water----and they were out. We were promised biscuits and gravy---and there was none available that day because......they were out and/or the manager hadn't arrived to restock.

The breakfast we did have was excellent. Fruit, yogurt, cereal, bread or croissants, and make it yourself waffles. There were also some nice rounds of pork sausage, which didn't seem to fit in with cattle country. All they needed was extra napkins to remove the extra grease. Thankfully, napkins were plentiful. We were amused to see that the waffle iron made impressions of the state of Texas. Somehow, eating the shape of Texas made for an extra special morning!

Be aware that the town is surrounded by cattle feed lots. That means lots of cattle aroma. Seems to me this would be the perfect facility to serve chicken fried steak. Just seems to be fitting. And i bet they could also be formed to the shape of Texas!

Room tip: We were given very quiet rooms--no need to ask this night. But, i would ask if making a reservation during the busy summer travel season.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuc7k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

reserved and paid for room then when we arrive they accidently had cancelled our reservation with no rooms left but would put us up at their sister motel "The Sands". I refused due to we saw that run down "Bates Motel" on the way into town and there was a reason they were the only motel with rooms. What a death trap. It's all a way to lure you in and then try to stick you in the 1960 motel from hell. We got back into our car and headed to Colorado. Don't NOT waste your time or money !!!!!

Room tip: It's right next to a feed lot so be ready for the naste smell there.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skinner199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Nice place; but, way too expensive for Dalhart Texas at $147 per night. Place was nice and clean; but, will not stay there again at this price. Hope this helps all the people planning on passing through this town.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Gerald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Nice big room for the family. Nice pool and breakfast. Staff was friendly and helpful. grounds and buildings were nice and well maintained. There were eating places nearby so that was convenient too. Would stay there again.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Many people have allergies, like me, and we need to have pet free rooms and the eating areas that do not allow pet. I understand that LaQuinta would have fewer people staying at their motels without pets, but other hotels have accommodations for both which is not a problem for either except if the are allowed to co-mingle.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews