We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have always preferred this neighborhood during the day”

Deep Ellum (Deep Elm)
Ranked #26 of 239 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This former warehouse district is now a funky nightlife and shopping area.
Addison, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“I have always preferred this neighborhood during the day”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The crowds during the days, especially on the weekends, are a bit more "seasoned"...no green hair, no banger music, no security concerns. This is a funky neighborhood that is a restaurant destination for me. My all time favorite Dallas restaurant (a Yankee Not Going Home, I've been here since 1977) in Deep Ellum is Cane Rosso on Commerce...REAL pizza and the Caesar salad has silver anchovies, and they have an outdoor patio where you can bring your dog. Hunt for your Birkenstock's and your laissez faire attitude before you go to Cafe Brazil for monster breakfasts/excellent coffee or to have a truly amazingly loaded veggie sandwich on artisan bread for lunch. Want a white tablecloth and all that goes with it (not commonplace in this neighborhood) ? Try The Lemon Grass; you will not be disappointed. This neighborhood has morphed over the last 35 years. There are now a few interesting galleries and it helps that there is quite a bit of condo and townhouse residential, plus pricey apartment rentals in the hood and around the fringes. Night time music genre tends towards a younger crowd. Best time to go is around 11 a.m. on a Saturday or Sunday. This is not a slick, chic neighborhood; go to Knox Henderson or Uptown or Turtle Creek if that is what you are looking for. This is very laid back trendy with an edge.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    107
    43
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“NAH!”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I have gone back to this area of Dallas for 20 years, it fades in and out, and just not going back. Thee are too many dive bars, no class. Jut not my thing. I wish Deep Ellum could replicate Ft. Worth Sundance Square, it has class.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Bohemian Dallas”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

There is a definite bohemian feel to the shops, bars, and restaurants in Deep Ellum. We strolled and enjoyed the art under the underpass on Commerce Street. There is a variety of types of places to eat and drink. We weren't there at night so I can't comment on the music venues and what it was like at night but if we had time we would've stayed to try out a place or two. Parking is something to make sure you pay attention to signs and not park without paying. They will tow or boot your vehicle!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank redbirdfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Funky Entertainment District With Historic Roots”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Deep Ellum is one of the city’s entertainment and nightlife districts, and the place to go if you like the funkier side of things. It hasn’t developed the gentrified feel that similar districts in some of my other favorite cities have, and I hope it doesn’t. There are plenty of other places in town for when you want that. The yuppies and hipsters have made inroads in a few places, but Deep Ellum still has an edge to it. It’s a good place for people watching. The district houses a number of restaurants, bars, art galleries, and performance venues. It can seem kind of dead at times.

There are murals and other forms of public art all over Deep Ellum. Take some time to check out some of the murals as you go through the district, as many reflect the area’s historical and musical heritage while others are a reflection of its current vibe. Besides the murals, be sure to notice the park under the overpass on Commerce Street. The bridge supports and other upright surfaces are covered with artwork, as is the adjacent dog park.

The district got its start as an industrial and commercial district in the late 1800s, and you can still get a feel for that from some of the architecture. Later, it became one of the country’s centers for jazz and blues. The district has the city’s largest collection of intact early 20th century commercial architecture, including some buildings on the National Register of Historic Places. Some of these aren’t as pretty as the buildings in the downtown historic district, but are a good representation of the period’s commercial vernacular architecture.

I first visited Deep Ellum on my first visit to Dallas as a tourist, well before I had any idea I’d be moving here, and I still make regular visits, most recently this past weekend. I usually only come here when I have a specific restaurant or venue in mind, but I seem to find something new on each visit. Some streets do feel safer than others, and there are a few areas with a concentration of vacant buildings. It needs to attract a few more businesses to improve on that. I tend to stay in the areas with the highest concentration of businesses when roaming around. There is metered parking on the street as well as paid parking in private lots. As in many entertainment districts, you will still need to pay on evenings and weekends.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank wolfie_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“In Dallas, go Deep!”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This revitalized downtown area has some of the best food to be found: Cafe Brazil (Don't miss Breakfast!), Cane Rosso (Authentic Italian-style pizza, and Twisted Root (Best burgers in town), to name a few. Plus, there are numerous unique shops and a variety of nightlife establishments too - so make a day of it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cashester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deep Ellum (Deep Elm) also viewed

 

Been to Deep Ellum (Deep Elm)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing