We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for visiting SMU”
Review of The Lumen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lumen
Ranked #42 of 206 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We spent one night when I took my son to visit SMU. The staff is both friendly and efficient. It took under a minute to retrieve our car from the valet whenever we needed it. Our room was comfortable and clean and had a fun vibe. Since it is directly across the street from campus, you can't beat the location for an SMU visit. Breakfast in the restaurant was delicious. If my son ends up attending SMU, I won't even look for another hotel when I visit that area of Dallas again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2goldens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumDalGM, General Manager at The Lumen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Location, Location, Location..... We are excited that you had a great experience while here at the Lumen, we wish your son good luck with his choice of Universities and we hope that SMU is in his future. You can then come on back and relax a little while here in Texas....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

I had originally booked a two night stay at this hotel for a business trip, and was looking forward to staying at a Kimpton property in Dallas. All of the Kimpton hotels I've stayed at have been fantastic.

The Hotel Lumen is situated right across from SMU in the heart of the University Park neighborhood, which is a clean historic area of Dallas. The hotel is well appointed, has friendly staff, and a nice restaurant and bar.

My room was on the second floor, and nicely furnished, but the layout was a bit odd, with the shower facing the bed, and the sink and vanity on the opposite wall. However, the shower had several nozzles and rendered a nice massage!

I would stay here again, as it was quiet, comfortable, and in line with what I've come to expect from Kimpton.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiamondTrimOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumDalGM, General Manager at The Lumen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review for the Lumen, I am happy to hear you had a great time during your stay with us. We hope that you will continue to make the Lumen your home away from home while visiting the Dallas area. See you Soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised. This little gem rivals any of the big names in terms of quality and service. Clean, spacious rooms, modern amenities, and a car service up and down the strip. You could hear a pin drop, but nearby school was on spring break, so not sure how noisy it is when the campus is bustling. Hotel restaurant was outstanding and the fitness center had a nice balance of machines and weights. Stayed Fri-Sun and was sorry to leave.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Jesse_Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumDalGM, General Manager at The Lumen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

So happy to hear that you had a great experience here at the Lumen, we take pride in our guest service and our product. To hear you say that we beat the big name hotels in this area is always great to pass on to our staff memebers. They love to take care of our guests and it shows on a daily basis, thanks again for taking the time to write this survey and we hope to see you soon......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I organized a weekend retreat for a small group of women and chose the Hotel Lumen. It was an excellent choice. My dealings with all the staff--the event planners [Elizabeth & Kaley], the event staff [Rosa & Carina], the Front Room general manager Brown, and waitstaff [Lacey & John], the front desk and the valets--were friendly, professional and caring. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated with the best service I have ever received during this type of event.
The food was delicious at every meal, even the snack breaks we had were deliciously healthy and not run of the mill. The facilities, food, and service added to our ability to focus on our work in a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.
I would, and will, definitely recommend the Hotel Lumen for any small group events that I am a part of in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaeguBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumDalGM, General Manager at The Lumen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

So happy to hear that your group experience went very well and that you took the time during your review to give our employees a few shout outs. This is great and I will of course be sharing with my team during the next employee meeting. Thank you again for your kind words and I hope that the Lumen will always be your choice hotel while working or playing in Dallas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed two nights at the Hotel Lumen and had one of the best experiences ever. My room was immaculate, and the service was spectacular. I am vegan, and the chef made certain that I had a gourmet breakfast, lunch, and dinner (No boring plate of steamed vegetables here!) even though vegan dishes were not on the menu. That is rare. I loved this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an enclosed bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumDalGM, General Manager at The Lumen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Love to hear your comments and yes, our Chef ROCKS. So glad that he could accommodate your needs and exceed your expectations, we look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review, the teal appreciates it very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed in Dallas during the Christmas to New Years Week. I wanted to be close to Highland park Village.
This hotel came up on the Map as being really Close. It is right across from SMU. They have a shuttle service that will take you to Highland Park to shop. And come back and pick you up.

It is the most wonderful little mid-century jewel. I absolutely loved it. If you love a smaller place and want to be in that part of town and want a place that is Pet friendly. This place is for you.

The staff was wonderful and so personable. I forgot to clean out my safe and when i left town they called me before i got too far to let me know that they had my things. So nice.

I am definately going to make this my Home away from Home in Dallas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 284patsyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumDalGM, General Manager at The Lumen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

We are so excited you enjoyed your time here at our little hidden jewel, as we love it as well. I am happy that we can and will continue to make your visits and holidays just a little more special moving forward. We look forward to seeing you soon, and to welcome you Home......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

The stay started off a little rough. I thought I had booked two rooms but apparently modified my original reservation instead. Robyn was great and bailed me out. Andrew was stellar. House staff provided prompt service. Nice heated pool. I would certainly stay again if needing a place near SMU, which is right across the street.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Lincoln52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumDalGM, General Manager at The Lumen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed your time with Team Lumen, we hope to see you again soon. Thanks for taking the time to write your review, it means a lot to us as a team and hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
The Highland Dallas
#12 of 206 in Dallas
422 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#10 of 206 in Dallas
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 206 in Dallas
1,186 reviews
Hilton Dallas Park Cities
#39 of 206 in Dallas
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lumen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lumen

Address: 6101 Hillcrest Ave, Dallas, TX 75205-2243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Dallas
#13 Family Hotel in Dallas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#45 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range: £132 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lumen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lumen, brilliantly illuminates your stay in Dallas. Ideally situated across from SMU campus and adjacent to the swanky Social bistro, its chic retro style provides modern comfort that feels fresh and inviting. Located in the affluent Park Cities neighborhood, our luxury boutique hotel is near exceptional shops, restaurants and museums. The hotel is also close to the Dallas World Aquarium, Meyerson Symphony Center, Dallas Art Museum and the American Airlines Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lumen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lumen Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing