We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel but bad neighborhood ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas/Stemmons Fwy(I-35 E)
Ranked #92 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
San Antonio, tx
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Decent hotel but bad neighborhood ”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We are a family of four with a 1 year old and a 3 year old that stayed one night at this hotel. We got this hotel thru Hotwire.

Pros :

1. The room was really spacious and had a suite area where the kids could play.
2. The bathroom countertop was large.
3. Breakfast was great. The lady in charge kept it well stocked. She was working hard, one could see.
4. Lots of storage room inside the room and the hotel itself looked well kept.

Cons:

1. The area where the hotel was located didn't seem good with gentleman clubs all around with one just a few yards away from the hotel. Not the fault of the hotel but we wouldn't have felt safe venturing out on foot after dark.

The hotel itself is family friendly but the area where it's located is a concern. We will not book this hotel just because of the neighborhood.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank krisans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas/Stemmons Fwy(I-35 E), responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear krisans,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am delighted to read that you liked our spacious rooms, amenities and breakfast option. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. It is regrettable that you did not find the hotel location preferable. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    39
    24
    11
    10
See reviews for
28
26
11
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed on the night of Aug 14. Absolutely perfect in every way. Kind and efficient reception, big spotlessly clean room with more than adequate air conditioning, the best breakfast selection I've had in travel (and free!) and impeccably clean dining area, safe, all-in-all a 10 out of a 10. I travel a lot and stay mostly in another prominent chain and this was a last-minute stay, but I have to say on all points (including room cost), this has me rethinking and willing to consider HI Express in future travel. If they all end up like this experience, it'll be an easy decision. This was an extremely pleasant surprise!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank OldFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Ugh. When I book a non-smoking room, I guess I should ask if the room has ever been used as a smoking room.

This hotel wreaked of smoke in several places. The strangest thing was if I kept my bathroom door closed and the vent fan off, it smelled like a smoke-filled bar when I opened the door.

The carpet in my room was old and thick and I believe trapped years of smoke in it too.

This is an old hotel that needs a makeover. I really wanted it to be nice since it's so close to the Love Field airport, but I can't do smoke.

Room Tip: Great place for smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stop_At_Red_Lights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas/Stemmons Fwy(I-35 E), responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Stop_At_Red_Lights,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I trust we can regain your confidence in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dallas hotels

Fairburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel does have a musty smell in the hallway carpets, but the room was great. Very clean and well kept. Sometimes I can be a little picky, but I would stay here again. The staff is fantastic and the breakfast was cool. Honestly, I've stayed in Ritz Carltons before and the only difference is the rooms were much bigger and they had robes. I've seen a few bad reviews for this hotel but I didn't have any real issues with it at all( the refridgerator was kinda old, but I didn't even use it). If you are stuck up, you will find a lot of fault with the hotel, but if you are an avg laid back person, you will be satisfied. My sheets were clean, my shower was clean,and there was no mold growing in any corners of anything. I was there for a convention, so it was a little out of the way from the downtown area, but I liked the hotel. I would like to remind you that it is a Holiday Inn Express, not a Ritz Carlton so you can't go there expecting the same amenities. Word of advice...Fly into Love Field

Room Tip: If you're traveling with Kids there is a strip club across the st( u can't see it from the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shines530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel on two trips in July. During each trip I stayed for 4 nights each. This hotel is a great place to stay since it is close to DAL airport (Love Field). The rooms are clean and modern. I appreciated the quality mattress and pillows. I was able to get good rest after long 12 hour days at work. The breakfast included was hot, fresh and tasty. I did use the workout room and was able to get a treadmill when needed. The nearby eateries are quality and offer good variety. There's also a starbucks in the adjacent parking lot. Really there's nothing bad to say about this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stumbled upon a gem in a bustling city. We had a wonderful night's rest in a comfortable and clean room. The kids really enjoyed the outdoor pool and our whole family enjoyed the nice breakfast that was provided in the morning. Everything went tremendously smooth for the duration of our time spent at this HIE.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffytrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

To be fair, I booked a room that gave the hotel the choice of where they put me. I had no idea hotels still had smoking rooms, but I was out into a smoking room. It was horrible.

The staff was friendly. The breakfast was decent. The room was right above the pool, and when the windows were open it was very noisy, but when they were closed it was near silent.

My room didn't have a trash can in the bathroom which was odd.

This hotel won't be one of my top choices when I come back to Dallas, but you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjug685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas/Stemmons Fwy(I-35 E), responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear tjug685,

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the breakfast selections and found our staff friendly. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced, particularly with your room accommodation. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and services we offer to our guests. We have forwarded your concerns to the respective departments and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve our guest satisfaction.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Northwest Inn
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dallas-Love Field (Medical Center)
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dallas NW Highway at Stemmons/I-35E
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
MCM Elegante Hotel and Suites
8.7 mi away
Comfort Suites North Dallas
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Dallas
Days Inn & Suites Dallas
#111 of 203 in Dallas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas/Stemmons Fwy(I-35 E)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas/Stemmons Fwy(I-35 E)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas/Stemmons Fwy(I-35 E)
Address: 2287 W Northwest Hwy, Dallas, TX 75220-4304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas/Stemmons Fwy(I-35 E) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Dallas/Stemmons Fwy (I-35 E) is a newly renovated hotel located in prestigious North Dallas/Market Center, downtown Dallas. We are 12 miles from Dallas Fort Worth International Airport (DFW) and 2 miles from Dallas Love Field (DAL). We offer complimentary shuttle to Lovefield Airport Monday to Friday from 7:00 AM to 10:00 PM. The Holiday Inn Express hotel is 1 mile from Speed Zone & Texas Stadium/Cowboys Stadium. Downtown Dallas, Deep Ellum, West End, lower Greenville Avenue, Northpark Mall and the Dallas Galleria Mall are within 10 miles. When booking now, you have our lowest Internet rate guarantee and you earn Priority Club points for your stay with no extra fees! Our newly renovated hotel and its lavish guest rooms make it a perfect stay for the weary business traveler. Over sized rooms, luxurious sofas, granite tops are great way to unwind. For your dining needs, try famous restaurants in Dallas: Pappadeaux, Pappasitos, Pappas Brothers, Jason s Deli, Red Lobster and Olive Garden. Like the nightlife? Try Firewater Bar and Grill. Our meeting space is newly renovated and ideal for all types of events for 5-85 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas/Stemmons Fwy(I-35 E) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Dallas/Stemmons Fwy(i-35 e)
Holiday Inn Dallas
Dallas Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing