We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Weekend!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Ranked #14 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding Weekend!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed at the hotel over the weekend to attend a friend's wedding since the reception was close by. Although the hotel was very, very full because they were hosting two weddings we felt the service was outstanding!! We had a suite with an adjoining queen double room and could not believe how spacious it was. For the price we paid we felt it was outstanding value. Lots to do around the hotel. The only negative was that we could not get a pay-per-view movie to work. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request a high floor as there is quite a bit of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moneymombeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,994
    791
    283
    105
    98
See reviews for
498
917
202
1,154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights for business. The hotel rooms are a bit dated and feel more like apartments vs. hotel rooms. However, the hotel has everything you need - great breakfast buffett, free wifi, a mini fridge and coffee maker in the room and a decent gym.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillyvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our stay was FABULOUS!!! We were in Dallas for the NCAA Club Volleyball Championships cheering on the University of Wisconsin - Whitewater. All of the staff were very friendly and courteous. The breakfast, happy hour and cookies were all absolutely great and far better than advertised! The valet service and shuttle service were outstanding as well. All employees were exceptionally nice. I have already recommended the Magnolia to many of my friends and we will surely stay there again when in the Dallas area. Thanks again for an absolutely wonderful stay!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband and I were really looking forward to a night away from the kids, so we booked with this hotel after searching around quite a bit. We were scheduled for dinner and then off to a concert, but we arrived at the hotel in plenty of time to make our reservation...so we thought. First off, we had guessed that there would be valet parking since it is downtown Dallas after all. However, it did take a bit of time to get serviced and given our ticket, which had a number you could text or call for valet service. The card specifically states to allow 10-15 mins for a car to be retrieved. Well, we were welcomed by Daniel at the front desk, and he was very helpful, even offering us a free shuttle to dinner, which we opted out of since we were going to a concert venue further away afterwards. We didn't get to partake in the cocktail hour he informed us of, but we settled in and checked out the room. We had a suite on the 23rd floor (room 2326, I believe), and there was a lot left to the imagination. Very minimal decor, which I didn't mind. However, I do mind hairs in a bathtub and clearly banged up furniture and drywall. Yes, I know this is a 1920's hotel, but a little paint goes a long way. The bed was a little hard but it was okay. The tub was actually pretty nice and the water was nice and hot (a little too hot until I figured out the faucet!). So, everything was going okay at first until we tried to text valet. First, the card we were given wasn't recognized, which was a worrying sign. We needed to be gone in about 30 mins, so we headed down to the valet service outside of the hotel. Apparently, they had just parked the car two blocks away at high-end clothing store lot. The guy told us it would be about 10-15 mins. Okay. We sat, and sat, and sat. There were two ladies also having a hard time with valet, and one of the ladies said her keys were lost by the valet the day prior. Red flag! So, 20 mins have passed, and we check with the head valet guy. He assured us our car was coming. 30 mins later, we were running late, and the guy still gave us the same line. We were getting pretty heated at this point, so he went to the valet station where our key was still sitting, untouched. He ran to get our car, which took forever again. Meanwhile, a wedding party was coming down to check into the valet and their cars were arriving lightening fast. When we had approached another worker in a red jacket, he rudely said, "We have two weddings today, lady." Wow. So, I guess that was the excuse. We were late to dinner, which consequently made us late to the concert (and made us miss getting prime standing room). No apologies from any of the staff. Oh, and if you're in a hurry to leave, I would suggest booking a room on a lower floor since the elevators take a lifetime to get to the bottom level. We were so disappointed, we didn't even stay for the complimentary breakfast. There are many great hotels outside of downtown, and we could pay a lot less there at some chains that this boutique hotel that didn't live up to its claim. It's the details that count in boutique hotels, and this one is severely lacking.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mystyk41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quitman, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel offers charm and intrigue with the modern comforts combined with historic architecture. The downtown restaurants and shopping are quite accessible and enjoyable to walk to from the hotel. The breakfast, happy hour, and bedtime cookies were such a special treat and made our stay such a pleasure. We will be back! Oh, and the service was extraordinary...the valet, bellhop, concierge, and front desk people were all very friendly, pleasant, and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miranda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
205 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Located right across the street from AT&T's big Dallas office complex, this hotel is perfect for business travel to AT&T. But other than location, it's rather uninspired. The rooms are adequate, but the views are of other buildings. The lobby is just a place to pass through.

Recommended for business travel, but not for tourists.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T9-Orca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Love this boutique!! Great building, wonderful rooms, amazing breakfast, nice staff! With reasonable rates & a great location - near convention center and neimans -- what more could you ask??! Oh, maybe an awesome view of the city! We were on the 26th floor with a corner room & it was perfect - the room- darkening shades were a plus in the morning!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norseman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,950 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
The Adolphus
#16 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown

Property: Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Address: 1401 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75201-4901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#11 Business Hotel in Dallas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#34 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown is a downtown Dallas, Texas hotel near American Airlines Center. This boutique hotel offers extended stay accommodations, corporate lodging, and venues for weddings & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Dallas
Dallas Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing