We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pillow Talk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Ranked #15 of 206 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I recently stayed for Valentine's day and had a nice time. The staff was more than friendly an accommodating to our needs. The room was cozy and clean, it felt like I was in a large one bedroom apartment. It had every appliance needed to cook in the kitchen. The bathroom was large and so was the tub. Room service was fast and friendly and the breakfast was fresh and delicious. Its location is close to all the fancy restaurants downtown. The window shades keep all the light out, which is great for sleeping in. My only complaint is that the bed was not king size and the pillows were really firm which gave us a stiff neck the following morning. I would definitely stay again, but will bring my own pillow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up high to get a nice view of the city and bring your own pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aynge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear aynge,

Love the title, love the words. Thanks for reviewing your stay with us and I hope we can do it again in the future, without a stiffneck. We thank you kindly and look forward to serving you again.

Best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,343 - 1,349 of 3,410 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel when in town for a Cowboys game. Wanted to be in the city center. This hotel was perfect. Walking distance to everything. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is friendly. I would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Ryan,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We're glad you got to get down with Dallas and we hope to do it all one more time. Till then -

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights after a long flight and was happy with our choice. Great location, breakfast and happy hour. Only negative was the slow lift being on a high floor. Room was spacious and comfortable.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Bouv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hey Bouv,

Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing your stay. We appreciate the kind words and appreciate our guest's patience as we work to resolve our elevator difficulties. We thank you and invite you back -

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Magnolia was one of the hotels suggested for a wedding that we were attending. Since we were going to be in town for a couple nights, we wanted a suite. We ended up with a corner suite and it was wonderful--good views of the city, spacious and well designed. Kitchen was bigger than most suites that we have stayed in which was nice. Bedroom and living room were far apart so noise was not an issue. He never heard the folks in the next room even though it there was a connecting door to make it a two bedroom suite. Breakfast was better than expected with a good choice of items (the choice were different both mornings). Evening cookies and milk were a nice touch. The evening reception was nice, but you will likely want to upgrade your drink to beyond the complimentary offerings.

Elevators can be slow at times, but they had an operator during our checkout on Saturday, so there was no issue. The valets were fasted than the text message service predicted, which was very nice (told it would be 40 mins, but car was ready in 10 min).

Room Tip: High floor didn't have much street noise--occasional siren.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeW82834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hey MikeW82834,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your patience with our elevators and are glad you found the amenities to your liking. We hope to serve you again in the future. Till then,

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

With our birthdays and Valentine's Day all in a nine day period, my wife and I have developed a tradition of celebrating them all together with an overnight trip to Dallas with a great dinner. I chose Magnolia because I had stayed there for a business trip in December and the boutique hotel we have stayed at before has changed ownership.
I guess your perspective changes when your wife is involved. In December I actually enjoyed the wait at the elevators since the last thing I wanted to do was go to the mediation I was scheduled to attend. With her we ended up taking the stairs down from the fifth floor a couple of times (not up! I didn't pack my defibrillator). It is an old office building and it has its charms and foibles.
We got the Valentine's suite package and I actually ended up in the same corner suite I was in for my December trip. The room was large and quiet. All of the furniture appeared new and the fridge was nice to have, but as soon as she took her shoes off my wife complained that the carpet felt sticky and gross. The bed was comfy, the pillows convinced me that I'm Goldilocks since I couldn't get comfy, but the blackout window curtains rocked! The tub was large and appealed to my wife's need for a bubble bath (which would be a nice item for the concierge to stock, but CVS is only half a block away). However, since she was hip to the package we booked, we were disappointed that the robes and turndown service never materialized. They'd have been nice touches since they were listed in the package at booking. We did get our champagne, though.
The Magnolia tries hard, though. I appreciate the beer and wine comps at happy hour and the cookies & milk between 8-10 pm should be done by every hotel. The breakfast in the morning is done in the same bar/lounge/atrium space. It has a good variety of foods and beverages.
Basically, if you need to be downtown the location is great and valet service is great (it can be initiated by text). However, getting down/up is a drag and a cab can be a challenge, but that's downtown for you (in December the hotel shuttle took me the 1.5 miles to the lawyer's office since no cab was around--above & beyond service). The prices we have paid are very reasonable for the area, but the fumble on the robes and turndown lost a rating point since they were in the package & my wife was involved. We'll look for another place to stay next year, but in a pinch I'd come back for a business trip if I had another miserable issue to deal with in town.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a lower floor. Bar, breakfast & cookies at night are all on the second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3thehardway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear 3thehardway,

Thanks for the balanced review. Reading it, we realize there are some things that didn't quite work for you. Improving our service is key, and your feedback is instrumental to that process. Thank you for sharing and we look forward to hopefully serving you again.

Regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very glad we chose to stay at the Magnolia. Historic building, nicely restored. Large, comfortable corner suite, with comfy bed and nice appointments. Large bathroom, kitchen area, and good views. Staff well trained and friendly, from valet to housekeepers. Nice breakfast in the AM, with happy hour in the evening. Pretty crowded but well done. Only complaint was that the elevators are very slow, and waits were long. Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Get a suite, and a corner one if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjgkng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hey mjgkng,

We're so happy you had such a great experience during your stay! Keep us in mind for the next one.

Best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Sending Valentine Day weekend here was an ok idea. The reason why we choose the hotel was the overall romance package. We checked the car in with the valet and entered into the hotel off of commerce, which kind of leaves you completely exposed to on coming traffic. Check-in took about 30 minutes due to 1 person taking phone calls while the line continued to grow. We went to the room and dropped of the bags. We had a nice corner suite, that was excessively dated and with a queen bed, which was my fault when I booked it incorrectly. None the less dumped our bags took a quick walk around the room which was rather large. The couch was extremely old and worn, the tub was missing chunks of paint. Just overall a dingy room.
We went to the bar on level 2, which was very nice in the main foyer. Pours were decent, and they serve the full restaurant menu in the bar area. The hotel is quiet on the floors, as we did not hear anyone the entire time we were in the room.
Valet system is right on par with some of the best hotels I've ever stayed with, a simple text message and then a response of when the car is brought around. Don't worry about getting out there to quick the elevators are ungodly slow they will give you the 10 minutes they request to have the vehicle brought up.
The hotel itself is close to the west end, not much in the immediate area except high-end restaurants. Little bit of night life in the city most of it has moved north to Victory Park which is a short taxi ride or a long walk.
I doubt I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wick1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear wick1979,

We have shared your concerns with our staff and are constantly working to improve our customer service. Your feedback is invaluable to this process. Thank you for your review.

Regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 206 in Dallas
7,116 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#24 of 206 in Dallas
4,225 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#16 of 206 in Dallas
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Adolphus
#19 of 206 in Dallas
2,670 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#11 of 206 in Dallas
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown

Address: 1401 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75201-4901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#11 Business Hotel in Dallas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#34 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range: £114 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown is a downtown Dallas, Texas hotel near American Airlines Center. This boutique hotel offers extended stay accommodations, corporate lodging, and venues for weddings & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Dallas
Dallas Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing