We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“By far the BEST hotel!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Ranked #13 of 196 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“By far the BEST hotel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The staff is incredibly friendly and very helpful. Their amenities are absolutely unbeatable (my 7 year old daughter loved the complementary bedtime milk & cookies)!! And the decorations/views are outstanding!! Highly recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessnlexi04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hey jessnlexi04,

Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for taking the time to review your stay. These are great ways for us to see what's working and in your case, everything is working. Good news. Thanks again and we look forward to the next stay -

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,957
    783
    272
    104
    99
See reviews for
490
894
201
1,136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our stay at Magnolia was excellent. Friendly staff, clean rooms, and you just can't beat the happy hour and milk and cookies! The staff was incredibly helpful when we were looking for restaurant suggestions in the area. I'll definitely be staying again the next time I'm in Dallas.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Brittany C,

Aww shucks! Thanks for staying with us and thanks for such a nice review! We love taking care of people and we're glad we got to take care of you - we look forward to the next opportunity.

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently had a night away stay-cation at this hotel. The reason I chose this hotel was because I wanted to get away and have a romantic night out. So, I googled most romantic hotels in Dallas, and after a few different search results (including TA) put this hotel in one of the top 5 spots for romance, I did some cost comparisons and booked a room here through American Express travel. Unfortunately this is not a luxury resort and therefore we were not offered a free room upgrade or late checkout, but neither would have wanted us to stay longer than planned. And here's why...

Upon check-in, I was neither told about the complimentary wine hour that the room description had entailed, was never told where the elevators were, when check-out was, where they served the "breakfast included", or where the ice machines are located (3rd floor and lobby, thanks to a friendly housekeeper's help).

After an unfriendly welcome, I went to the room to unpack & put a bottle of champagne on ice (this was a surprise trip for my husband), and I found the room to be rather warm and stuffy so I turned the thermostat lower and switched it from 'auto' to 'on'. I put the bottle on ice and went to pick up my husband. We came back to the hotel almost 3 hours later and the room was no cooler and all the ice had melted in the bucket. So I lowers the thermostat again to 55 degrees, went to retrieve more ice, and we left the room to venture around downtown. Almost 3.5 hours later, we returned to the room to find more melted ice and an unusually warm room. As it was quite late and we did not feel like calling down to see if maintenance could fix the thermostat, we decided not to make a fuss (culpa mia, I realize).

After finding a few disgustingly questionable stains on the floor, broken blinds (hiding a great view of downtown), and enduring a stuffy night's sleep, the one saving grace was their hot breakfast buffet. This wasn't great, but it was a good mixture of eggs, breads, fruits, cereals, and juices.

The two stars are for location (close proximity to Neiman Marcus, unique bars and restaurants, and other various shops), and a decent included breakfast. For $179/night ($206 after taxes), I believe I've enjoyed a better night's stay at a newly renovated Motel 6, but location was very good. If you're looking to plan a romantic getaway, I would not recommend the Magnolia. But if you're looking for a decent-priced downtown hotel, don't care about having a king-sized bed (the rooms come with queen-sized beds), and aren't too concerned with weird stains on the floor, or having fully functioning room features (a/c & blinds), then I would recommend this hotel. Oh, they did have great water pressure in the shower!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cscala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear cscala,

We have shared your concerns with our staff and are constantly working to improve our customer service and decor. Your feedback is invaluable to this process. Thank you for your review.

Regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Vista, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel is fantastic! Let the valet take your car and then take the free car service to and from your destination. No need for designated driver. ; ) Everyone is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are luxurious and roomy, even the bathrooms and closet! Just an absolutely wonderful girls trip!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hey Susan,

Thanks for having the girls over, and thanks for giving us such an awesome review! Anytime we get to make a getaway that much more awesome, we're there! We hope to have another celebration soon - till then,

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here during a recent trip to Dallas. It was a wonderful experience. The entire hotel is immaculate, the service from any and all departments was outstanding, the location was perfect for our purposes. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hey Linda,

Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing your experience! We love to hear that people are happy and we look forward to having you again -

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had a great long weekend at the Magnolia Hotel starting with Mardi Gras where we were served with cocktails and music and then marched across the street to a fantastic buffet which included more music and dancing. This was quite unexpected and a great way to treat their hotel guests. Every morning we had a great continental breakfast and again every late afternoon drinks and before bed was served milk and cookies. This was a great experience the only downfall were the elevators. They need to either open all the elevators especially people that need to get to a wedding and need to be on time. At one time we waited 15 minutes for an elevator, remember we were on 19th floor. I would stay there again and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryHS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear MaryHS60,

Those pesky elevators! We are working hard to engage them, and we appreciate our guest's patience as we work to improve this element. But thankfully we have guests like you, who see the golden opportunities and hard work we put towards making each guest feel at home. Thanks for staying with us and for reviewing and we look forward to the next one -

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was the 2nd time that I stayed at Magnolia Hotel Dallas and the service was excellent. The hotel was clean and the staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to collegues, family, and friends. Nice and convient location.

Room Tip: The room was very comfortable and extremely clean. I prefer a room close to the elevator and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Lessie H,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your experience. We're glad you dug your stay and look forward to the next one.

Thanks,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 196 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,744 reviews
The Adolphus
#16 of 196 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,493 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 196 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 196 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#19 of 196 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown

Property: Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Address: 1401 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75201-4901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#11 Business Hotel in Dallas
#34 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown is a downtown Dallas, Texas hotel near American Airlines Center. This boutique hotel offers extended stay accommodations, corporate lodging, and venues for weddings & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Dallas
Dallas Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing