We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 days in Dallas!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Ranked #16 of 204 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“4 days in Dallas!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

First time to Dallas, we found this place a great experience. Friendly staff, great location. We were upgraded to a suite which had everything including a great view. We had easy wifi, great breakfast then happy hour was terrific and the evening meals even though not a big menu all on it was wonderful, topped off with cookies and milk at the end of the day. The staff was some of the best we have had and we have travelled extensively. We would stay again without hesitation and all we can say is well done everyone, thankyou for a terrific stay.

Room Tip: corner suite great for views on 22nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor and Mim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hey Trevor and Mim W,

Thank YOU for staying with us and for an awesome review - we hope to have you back soon -

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,052
    813
    294
    109
    101
See reviews for
504
946
208
1,202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Formby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We would definately stay here again .
This is not going to be the very best hotel you have stayed in but how often do you get to stay in the refurbished HQ of a major oil company ?
The rooms are spacious and well furnished for a 3 star hotel , the public rooms are interesting and the evening reception should not be missed (free beer and I'm from Yorkshire , the part of England which makes Scotsmen look positively extravagant).
It is also in a great location and very easy to find ..
The lifts are so quirky that they are almost an attraction

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms are a way of avoiding waits for lifts .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavenWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hey DavenWendy,

Love this review! Thanks for staying with us and for getting us. Your attention to details is much appreciated and we hope to have you back soon. Till then,

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Chose this hotel because of its location and prices. Originally I had booked at another hotel that was cheaper, however after I added everything( free wifi, breakfast and less expensive parking) the Magnolia was the better deal. My husband and I are glad I did. All the staff was as nice as could be, the free breakfast is great with the exception of more fruit being needed. The nightly cookies is a nice touch. Our biggest complaint are the elevators, only 2 worked properly and they were slow.( Historic buildings have historic elevators). If you don't mind using the stairs occasionally, than this is the hotel for you!! We loved it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apeybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear apeybaby,

Thank you for staying and thank you for reviewing. The elevators are being updated and we appreciate our guest's patience as we work on this issue. We're so happy you were happy and we look forward to more happiness in the future.

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Great location, within walking distance to a number of downtown attractions and restaurants. The room was a nice size, comfortably furnished. However... it's an older hotel, and had some of the pitfalls you might expect with an older property. The elevators during peak hours were s-l-o-o-o-w! The halls were dark and somewhat dingy. My room was on the 8th floor, facing Akard Street. Apparently, this is where the garbage gets collected - at 5:00 every morning. Be prepared to be wakened at that hour by banging trash cans, rumbling diesel engines and chatty trash collectors. The late night rowdies didn't help, either. Maybe it's quieter on a higher floor. The breakfast buffet was... meh. Didn't get a chance to try the wine reception, but the milk and cookies hit the spot. Overall, I wouldn't go out of my way to avoid this place, but I might try some other properties before going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and avoid facing Akard St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailor908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear sailor908,

While we understand from your review that things weren't all the way awesome, we're taking this review and constantly improving our services. Your feedback is invaluable to this process - so thank you for helping improve our awesome.

Regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have stayed at the Magnolia since 2010 and have lost count of the number of times I have booked a room here. The service is always great but now I am starting to see the different sides of the hotel. I absolutely enjoy the beer and wine reception, the milk and cookies before bed, and the breakfast buffet in the morning are all the things that keep me coming back. This trip was busy and I did not have time for all three. The first thing I noticed is that the suite they put me in on the 18th floor had two small seats instead of the normal couch. After traveling all day I really enjoy unwinding with some couch laying, working on some projects and having the TV on. It is hard to do that in a small seat vs. a long couch. Then the internet was spotty, and I have never had trouble with the connection. My computer kept disconnecting from the service and when it would reconnect it would pop up the long in window for the network, the same continued to happen with my iPhone. I know everyone mentions the elevator, and after three years of seeing the same thing one beings to think if they pay attention to customer feedback or if they decided to renovate a historic building and call it a day. I do like how they have upgraded their shuttle service over the years, they went from one SUV to several spacious vans and that makes it easy for getting around the 3mile radius of downtown instead of having to wait on the valet to get the car. I also like how they finally added a rewards program, this will keep me coming back, and gives the staff an idea of the people that have stayed before. They give the same information every time I stay and so hopefully now I can just hear "welcome back, any questions?"...which after checking in and listening to the long speech I did hear "welcome back" and that makes a small difference. Overall not a bad stay, not a great one, but still a nice place to relax and spend the weekend close to everything else.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are quieter but the internet may not be as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Buzz H,

Thank you for your return trips and for helping us improve our services. You mentioned the pluses, and mentioned the issues needing attention, both have been noted. Well-balanced reviews like this help identify areas where we can rise to our normally elevated standards. We appreciate your thoughts and look forward to the next stay (and mention the couch thing, we'll hook it up) -

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We were on the 21st floor with a great view of downtown. The hotel is obviously an old building and the elevators are very slow. I felt like our room was a converted apartment. We had a full kitchen, living area, bath, bedroom. What should have been a queen bed felt more like a full. We stayed 3 nights and our room was never serviced. The first day I asked them to return in 30 minutes and they never did. Breakfast was included. There was a wonderful selection of eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, gravy, yogurt, fruit, etc. Parking was expensive, another $27 added to the bill each night but the valet service was great. I just texted my receipt number and my car was waiting for me when I was ready to leave.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALeMire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hey ALeMire,

We are thrilled you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thanks for the review and keep us in mind next time!

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Spring
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Overall a nice property. Was dissapointed that there wasn't a pool. It is a great location. The workout room is nice, rarely used but it is nice. It is an absolute perfect location. Cannot be beat.

Rooms are small but workable. Very New York City like...


One last thing to point out, the elevators are very slow. Allow yourself extra time.

Pleased though

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThatBGuye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hey ThatBGuye,

Thanks for staying with us, reviewing, and being awesome. Your notes have been shared with staff and we look forward to making your next stay even better. Till then -

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 204 in Dallas
6,654 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 204 in Dallas
1,986 reviews
The Adolphus
#19 of 204 in Dallas
2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#7 of 204 in Dallas
1,066 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#22 of 204 in Dallas
3,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown

Property: Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Address: 1401 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75201-4901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#11 Business Hotel in Dallas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#34 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown is a downtown Dallas, Texas hotel near American Airlines Center. This boutique hotel offers extended stay accommodations, corporate lodging, and venues for weddings & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Dallas
Dallas Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing