We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in the heart of downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Ranked #13 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Dickinson, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is a fantastic hotel if you staying in downtown. They have a free two hour happy hour as as well as incredible cookies in the evening. The workout area is one of the best I have seen in a hotel. The suites are very spacious and have full kitchen.

The only downfall is the elevators. It can take 30 minutes to catch one up to your room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hey Darren B,

Thanks for staying, digging the cookies and the location - your comments in regards to the elevator service have been noted and shared. We appreciate our guest's patience as we work to enhance this element -

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,010
    797
    285
    106
    98
See reviews for
500
923
203
1,167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I had a great visit to Dallas and love the Magnolia. Complementary breakfast and happy hour were a pleasant surprise. The hotel shuttle was invaluable. My suite was large and well appointed. I highly recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Hey Margaret P,

Thank you! We appreciate your staying with us, and for mentioning the things that worked for you during your stay. We look forward to the next one.

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

While the elevator ceiling gorgeous and views pretty, the other details left much to be desired.

One elevator stuttered while another felt like a roller coasts which each stop. As I was riding up to my room upon check in another couple told me I was really lucky to arrive when I did since it took them a half hour to be to their room. I had no delays while there for the week.

Unfortunately I was 'lucky' to have a toilet that continually ran (noisy !!!) unless you jiggled handle of toilet.

Rooms clean but very dark lighting. Adjustable lighting would be preferable since several of us privately complained to each other over breakfast. As others noted, breakfast decent and staff efficient.

It was convenient to where I had to be for work, but on the fence if I would actually pay myself .

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GGinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear GGinNYC,

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to review. Your concerns have all been noted and addressed where possible. We appreciate our guest's patience as we work to enhance our elevators. We thank you again for your comments as they help us improve.

Regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

The room was very clean!!! And the free wine and beer at 5:30-6:30 every night was a great way to wind down from a busy day. The free homemade cookies nightly from 8-10 were the best. Every employee was friendly and smiled. The food there was delicious as well, Great place to stay!

Room Tip: Exercise room was awesome and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CouponGal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hey CouponGal2,

Thanks for staying and thanks for the awesome review. We hope to have you back soon - till then,

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

First time to Dallas, we found this place a great experience. Friendly staff, great location. We were upgraded to a suite which had everything including a great view. We had easy wifi, great breakfast then happy hour was terrific and the evening meals even though not a big menu all on it was wonderful, topped off with cookies and milk at the end of the day. The staff was some of the best we have had and we have travelled extensively. We would stay again without hesitation and all we can say is well done everyone, thankyou for a terrific stay.

Room Tip: corner suite great for views on 22nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor and Mim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hey Trevor and Mim W,

Thank YOU for staying with us and for an awesome review - we hope to have you back soon -

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We would definately stay here again .
This is not going to be the very best hotel you have stayed in but how often do you get to stay in the refurbished HQ of a major oil company ?
The rooms are spacious and well furnished for a 3 star hotel , the public rooms are interesting and the evening reception should not be missed (free beer and I'm from Yorkshire , the part of England which makes Scotsmen look positively extravagant).
It is also in a great location and very easy to find ..
The lifts are so quirky that they are almost an attraction

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms are a way of avoiding waits for lifts .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavenWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hey DavenWendy,

Love this review! Thanks for staying with us and for getting us. Your attention to details is much appreciated and we hope to have you back soon. Till then,

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Chose this hotel because of its location and prices. Originally I had booked at another hotel that was cheaper, however after I added everything( free wifi, breakfast and less expensive parking) the Magnolia was the better deal. My husband and I are glad I did. All the staff was as nice as could be, the free breakfast is great with the exception of more fruit being needed. The nightly cookies is a nice touch. Our biggest complaint are the elevators, only 2 worked properly and they were slow.( Historic buildings have historic elevators). If you don't mind using the stairs occasionally, than this is the hotel for you!! We loved it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apeybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear apeybaby,

Thank you for staying and thank you for reviewing. The elevators are being updated and we appreciate our guest's patience as we work on this issue. We're so happy you were happy and we look forward to more happiness in the future.

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,081 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 201 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
The Adolphus
#17 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,540 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#21 of 201 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown

Property: Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Address: 1401 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75201-4901
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#11 Business Hotel in Dallas
#34 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown is a downtown Dallas, Texas hotel near American Airlines Center. This boutique hotel offers extended stay accommodations, corporate lodging, and venues for weddings & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Dallas
Dallas Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing