We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$341
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$331
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Dallas Hotel(Dallas)
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,462)
Filter reviews
3,462 results
Traveller rating
2,095
835
311
114
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,095
835
311
114
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmilk and cookiesqueen suiteiron cactusgreat hotelfull kitchenevening receptioncocktail hourneiman marcusfree happy hourvalet servicefree breakfastvalet parkingfree shuttleconvention centerenjoyed my staywest endbusiness trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,317 - 1,322 of 3,462 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Came across Magnolia because I needed a downtown location near offices and courthouse. Great rates for 7+ night stay (almost 50% less than regular rate). 1-bedroom suite was huge. Not particularly well appointed and kitchen was contractor-grade at best, but clean and reasonably well maintained.

Perks such as included breakfast, evening drinks and milk & cookies were quite nice. Breakfast in particular was of good quality and items were rotated enough that I just barely got tired of it by end of 12-day trip.

Only complaint was the elevators. They seem almost original, and several were out of service. Extraordinarily slow, Stopped, and then doors would not open for several long seconds (at least). During rush periods they shut down the call button and monitor the vestibule on the security camera. Elevators were manually operated by a porter with a radio in his hand telling him where to pick people up. It became a running joke among guests. On the plus side, this gave folks something to talk about and was a good ice breaker. It did not ruin the experience at all, and my sense is that they are working on it, but the elevators desperately need a complete overhaul.

All in all, a very good hotel and a great value. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Not much by way of views. 21st floor and above to get over neighboring building (at least in 1br suite line). Elevators are an issue, so lower floors may be advantageous.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hey mdkane,

Thanks for staying with us and for the review - we can tell you dug us and we appreciate your patience in regards to our elevators. We are working to enhance this portion of our hotel - we thank you again and look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a great hotel right in the centre of downtown Dallas in a stunningly converted art deco skyscraper, formerly the home of the Magnolia Oil Company - look for the illuminated 'pagasus' horse on the rooftop

The rooms are smart contemporary boutique hotel style with gorgeous bathrooms, the only downside is the slow speed of the lifts - an issue the hotel is trying hard to deal with, but obviously difficult in a heritage building

The breakfast buffet was great and also included in the room rate was a happy hour drink and other nice touches at different times of the day

Room Tip: Ask for a really high up room for great views, or a low room if you want to avoid the chronically slow lifts
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikewbn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hey mikewbn1,

Thank you for staying with us, noting our decor, empathizing with our elevator issues, and for generally being a great guy! We're glad you reviewed your stay with us, and we look forward to the next.

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Magnolia wa awesome. Loved the cookies and milk offered free of charge. I would definitely stay again. Great service and location. Valet employees were super. Jacquelyn at the front desk was awesome also. Rate 10!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojo2833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hey mojo2833,

We will pass on the kind words to Jacquelyn and we thank you for staying with us, and providing a review of the experience. We hope to see you again soon - all of the things you loved will still be here.

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel was great. The staff was very friendly.

My only complaint was with the valets. If you didn't want to valet park, $26 vs $6, they immediately became unhelpful. This needs to change because they are the first people a customer interacts with from the hotel. They set the tone.

Luckily, everyone else was great and totally made up for the valets.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AaronNWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hey AaronNWA,

Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing. Your comments in regards to the valet staff have been noted and addressed. We're glad you dug it on the whole, and we hope to see you again soon. TIll then,

Best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I spent a night here on business during Final Four week.

Staff were pleasant from check-in. The building was quite clear in making its anomolies known to its guest (milk and cookies from 8p to 10p and "social hour" from 5:00p to 7:00p). Knowing the Pegasus was on top of the building, I jokingly asked if the hotel let people up there to see it and they said that they couldn't because they didn't own it, but promptly supplied me with two postcards and a written history of the building.

The room was small, but pleasant and on the 23rd floor. The view wasn't much (I could only see a sliver of grass). The downside was the elevators, which routinely took a considerable amount of time.

After returning from dinner, I stopped at the milk and cookies, which were delightful.

In the morning, I was easily able to get in a run, heading up to Cedar Springs before turning onto the Katy Trail (however, I think being out at 5:00a helped to make this possible; the downtown streets would be too crowded. Breakfast was expansive, but nearly everything had touch much grease/oil (even the eggs!)- I later learned from a native that this is normal for the Dallas area.

Overall, a pretty good place, although I wouldn't spend what they were charging for the room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hey Mark F,

Thanks for staying with us, reviewing, and for being awesome. Your comments in regards to breakfast and price have been noted. We hope to have you back again soon.

Best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews