We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to TAA 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Ranked #14 of 207 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great room, clean. Everyone was friendly. Good location, walking distance to convention, shopping, restaurants. Varity of free breakfast was nice. Happy hour and staff on second floor (bar) were first class.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy091971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hey nancy091971,

Excellent review! We're glad you stayed with us and appreciate your time - we hope to see you again -

Best,
RYan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,273 - 1,279 of 3,420 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for one night only before flying back to Australia.
Arrived by taxi from the airport and the kerbside valets were helpful, although we chose to take our luggage.
Check in was efficient and although staff young and trainees were super friendly and incredibly helpful (10/10). Restaurant recommendation and service by hotel van excellent. Was worried when our room was on a high floor as had read about the lifts. At no point in our stay did we wait more than a couple of a minutes, so was pleasantly relieved.
The room at first appeared a little dark (not a fan of dark rooms) but did get use to it although took two showers to find the light over the bath. The city lights were lovely.
The included breakfast was good, although finding a seat was difficult and had to wait for refills of food. The cookies and mil a great touch. Unfortunately we missed the drinks.
Found downtown not particularly appealing and fairly deserted on a Monday, for this reason possibly wouldn't stay in the area again.
The Magnolia was a good location for JFK museum, could walk to trolley up McKinney Ave Trolley and the DAART.
Would recommend Magnolia if staying in this area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hey JohnandLisa,

First of all, thank you for staying with us and secondly, thank you for the review! That we could make your last night in the States memorable means a lot and we want you to know, there will always be a room for you. We hope to see you again - till then,

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

You are always warmly greeted here and everyone is interested in making your stay enjoyable. I really enjoy staying at this hotel. Walking distance to the business district and close enough to restaurants and shopping that you can park your car and forget it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rescuesdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hey rescuesdogs,

We are thrilled you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thanks for the review and keep us in mind next time!

Best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Came across Magnolia because I needed a downtown location near offices and courthouse. Great rates for 7+ night stay (almost 50% less than regular rate). 1-bedroom suite was huge. Not particularly well appointed and kitchen was contractor-grade at best, but clean and reasonably well maintained.

Perks such as included breakfast, evening drinks and milk & cookies were quite nice. Breakfast in particular was of good quality and items were rotated enough that I just barely got tired of it by end of 12-day trip.

Only complaint was the elevators. They seem almost original, and several were out of service. Extraordinarily slow, Stopped, and then doors would not open for several long seconds (at least). During rush periods they shut down the call button and monitor the vestibule on the security camera. Elevators were manually operated by a porter with a radio in his hand telling him where to pick people up. It became a running joke among guests. On the plus side, this gave folks something to talk about and was a good ice breaker. It did not ruin the experience at all, and my sense is that they are working on it, but the elevators desperately need a complete overhaul.

All in all, a very good hotel and a great value. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Not much by way of views. 21st floor and above to get over neighboring building (at least in 1br su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hey mdkane,

Thanks for staying with us and for the review - we can tell you dug us and we appreciate your patience in regards to our elevators. We are working to enhance this portion of our hotel - we thank you again and look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a great hotel right in the centre of downtown Dallas in a stunningly converted art deco skyscraper, formerly the home of the Magnolia Oil Company - look for the illuminated 'pagasus' horse on the rooftop

The rooms are smart contemporary boutique hotel style with gorgeous bathrooms, the only downside is the slow speed of the lifts - an issue the hotel is trying hard to deal with, but obviously difficult in a heritage building

The breakfast buffet was great and also included in the room rate was a happy hour drink and other nice touches at different times of the day

Room Tip: Ask for a really high up room for great views, or a low room if you want to avoid the chronically sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikewbn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hey mikewbn1,

Thank you for staying with us, noting our decor, empathizing with our elevator issues, and for generally being a great guy! We're glad you reviewed your stay with us, and we look forward to the next.

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Magnolia wa awesome. Loved the cookies and milk offered free of charge. I would definitely stay again. Great service and location. Valet employees were super. Jacquelyn at the front desk was awesome also. Rate 10!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojo2833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hey mojo2833,

We will pass on the kind words to Jacquelyn and we thank you for staying with us, and providing a review of the experience. We hope to see you again soon - all of the things you loved will still be here.

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel was great. The staff was very friendly.

My only complaint was with the valets. If you didn't want to valet park, $26 vs $6, they immediately became unhelpful. This needs to change because they are the first people a customer interacts with from the hotel. They set the tone.

Luckily, everyone else was great and totally made up for the valets.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AaronNWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hey AaronNWA,

Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing. Your comments in regards to the valet staff have been noted and addressed. We're glad you dug it on the whole, and we hope to see you again soon. TIll then,

Best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 207 in Dallas
7,259 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#24 of 207 in Dallas
4,280 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 207 in Dallas
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Adolphus
#19 of 207 in Dallas
2,686 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown

Address: 1401 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75201-4901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#11 Business Hotel in Dallas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#24 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range: £113 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown is a downtown Dallas, Texas hotel near American Airlines Center. This boutique hotel offers extended stay accommodations, corporate lodging, and venues for weddings & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Dallas
Dallas Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing