We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Ranked #16 of 206 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The only reason this place doesn't get five stars is because the elevators are so dodgy (a common complaint, and a valid one). The breakfast is also somewhat lacking, but good enough that that wouldn't pull it down a place alone. It is convenient to most of downtown Dallas, and was very convenient to the DART East Transfer Center, which is where my bus into town bus picked up and dropped off. I'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Lju3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hey Lju3,

Thanks for staying with us and for reviewing. Your balanced review has been noted and we appreciate your time. We hope to see you again soon - till then,

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,243 - 1,249 of 3,398 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just spent a weekend at the Magnolia Hotel Dallas during a trip to attend another great concert at the East Dallas Christian Church with the international musical group, From A Land Far Away. The Magnolia provided great service, great facilities, and a convenient location in Downtown Dallas for this occasion.

Room Tip: For those requiring kitchen facilities, they have a great arrangement. For a night or two, the king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrederickBurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hey FrederickBurg,

Rock on! We're so glad we got to be a part of your musical journey and we hope it brings you back to us soon.

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Magnolia for a few days and had a wonderful experience. I was in town for a meeting at the Hyatt, but we elected to stay at the Magnolia since it was closer to more restaurants, was significantly less expensive, and had free amenities that the Hyatt only wished they could provide. The hotel is in an older historic building, but the rooms and guests areas are updated an not "old and musty". The daily welcome drink reception and nighttime "milk and cookies" were a nice touch and the free breakfast was delightful! Initially I had stopped at the continental breakfast area and thought it was nice,.... I would have been satisfied with that. I later noticed the hot breakfast which was set up on the opposite side of the room, which was great! We stayed three nights and every breakfast was a little different. WiFi was complimentary and worked without a hitch. We didn't take advantage of the free shuttle since everything was so close but that is a nice plus. I had heard numerous complaints about "those lousy slow elevators" but it was not really a problem for us. In fact, when we got our room (23rd floor and right by the elevators) I thought....."first we will wait all day to get an elevator and then the noise will keep us up all night". Neither happened. We never waited longer than a couple of minutes and slept great. I am not a big fan of valet parking but that seems to be the norm in downtown Dallas and we always had good service. We would definitely stay at the Magnolia again!!! Hope you guys make #1 hotel in Dallas..... you deserve it!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hey TJ S,

I mean, wow! Thank you for putting it all out there - we appreciate your staying with us and your time writing this detailed review. We'll take note of what's working and keep on keeping on.

Hope to see you again -

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Magnolia Hotel is a great place to stay. The furnishings are modern, and beds comfy. They offer more secure Internet connectivity than I've seen in other hotels (unique passcode for each device), offer free breakfast, reception and cookies and milk. You definitely feel like they want you to enjoy your stay. There is a known issue with the elevators (a bit slower than usual), but they are open about it and offer to compensate with points or drinks if inconvenienced.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hey Tricia T,

Thanks for staying with us and for offering not just opinions, but options. We can dig a review that helps us improve so, thanks for your time!

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Wonderful experience from valet to checkout. Furnishings were modern with the feel of elegant Dallas history. Convenient location with easy in/out of town. Great perks of guest nightly happy hour, bedtime snacks, late night cocktail bar, and great continental breakfast spread complete with cheese grits. The view from our room of the edge of town light displays and afternoon sun was really nice. Guest shuttle to area restaurant was a real plus. Definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: Room with an after dark view of the west end of town was great but afternoon sun should be tempered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beesbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hey beesbreeze,

The way you describe it, I want to stay here!
Excellent, romantic story - glad we got to be the setting.

We hope you'll come back soon -

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A Grand Old Hotel with a comfortable modern feel. Super friendly staff helped us with directions to museums, restaurants. Valet parking was extra but it did make it easy & painless to deal with downtown. If you want amazing views of the Dallas skyline from Gothic Revival (the Kirby Building) to sleek green glass and steel skyscrapers (I.M. Pei's Fountain Place) ask when you check in -- Room 1805 was great!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockyKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hey RockyKO,

Great review! We're proud to have had such an architecture aficionado stay with us and invite you back anytime!

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We loved our stay! The location was perfect walking distance to anywhere we wanted to go in Downtown Dallas. The room was very unique and comfortable and the breakfast was very good. Also extremely convenient access from the interstate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hey Katrina C,

We're so happy you had such a great experience during your stay! Keep us in mind for the next one.

Best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 206 in Dallas
6,944 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#24 of 206 in Dallas
4,103 reviews
The Adolphus
#19 of 206 in Dallas
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 206 in Dallas
2,077 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#10 of 206 in Dallas
1,086 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown

Address: 1401 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75201-4901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#11 Business Hotel in Dallas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#34 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range: £124 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown is a downtown Dallas, Texas hotel near American Airlines Center. This boutique hotel offers extended stay accommodations, corporate lodging, and venues for weddings & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Dallas
Dallas Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing