We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was more than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Ranked #15 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Was more than I expected”
Reviewed 26 December 2009

The rooms were more updated than I expected after reading reviews of similar-aged hotels in the downtown Dallas area. We had the queen Signature Suite. We looked at the architecture on the Adolphus hotel to one side and downtown to the other. Hospitality Hour was nice, and such a small thing as a cookie bar is something that we talk about to friends. The breakfast buffet is in the bar(which was the second floor), but that is fine. there was NO smell of smoke whatsoever. They did a good job of making the club a multi-purpose Club/breakfast area. As some mention, the Valet parking was a little high, but I also noticed they informed us of the price upon check-in, so it wasn't a surprise......they're not out to do that like others it appears. There really wasn't anything bad about the stay at all. Oh, some may gripe about elevator speed.....what the heck. It's a great hotel!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttowntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,030
    804
    290
    109
    98
See reviews for
500
935
206
1,182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

we had a terrible experience here. The ceiling had a 2 foot crack in it, the middle section of blinds was all broken up and warped to where they could not even be pulled up, the elevator fireman access panels looked like someone got mad or something and punched then to where they were broke and hanging, and last but not least the Jacuzzi which was the main reason for booking was broke and not fixed within the 5 days I was there as well as the elevator panels were not fixed at all either. The internet was a pain in the butt to use because if the mouse and keyboards were not missing from there stations then someone was on them for hours at a time. Not an overall good experience but I would book with them again if someone was able to confirm with me that everything was taken care of.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksig419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Great old building with beautiful new look. They offer great weekend rates with free breakfasts at all their hotels and the Suite was so nice we could have moved in!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrostJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

My daughter's wedding was a breeze and it was a magical night not only for the happy couple but for the parents of the bride and groom as well. The venue was ideal and our guests had a great weekend in Dallas!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank techtraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2009

It's an old hotel and I thought the architecture and details were nice. Very friendly staff from the people at the desk down to the valets. We had a discounted rate. I'm not sure I'd pay full price but I tend to be a little cheap about some things. Overall, I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2009

I stayed here because we've stayed at the Magnolia in Houston and love it! This location was just as cozy. We had a little run in with the valet but we were told that they would be contracting a new company after the New Year.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liza2377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shreveport
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

we stayed for a cheer comp. at the convention center and the magnolia was awesome. although there were 2 weddings there. I could complain about the bad,But the good was so much better....killer staff,Great valet(just call ahead) the happy hour and cookies and milk were awesome ....I will def. be back

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheerdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 203 in Dallas
6,339 reviews
The Adolphus
#19 of 203 in Dallas
2,580 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#7 of 203 in Dallas
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 203 in Dallas
1,886 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#21 of 203 in Dallas
3,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown

Property: Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Address: 1401 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75201-4901
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#11 Business Hotel in Dallas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#34 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown is a downtown Dallas, Texas hotel near American Airlines Center. This boutique hotel offers extended stay accommodations, corporate lodging, and venues for weddings & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Dallas
Dallas Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing