We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“West End Hotel - Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End
Ranked #70 of 196 Hotels in Dallas
Ohio
Level Contributor
207 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“West End Hotel - Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I recently stayed here during a business trip for a week. I wanted something that offered a good package which this place does! I had a room with a microwave and fridge, there is a free shuttle that will take you out within a 3 mile radius from 7am to 7pm, and also has a great breakfast each morning. The hotel and rooms are nothing fancy, but they are clean. I had some issues with the tub not draining and the sink, but upon notification to the front desk a maintenance person quickly came up and addressed these. In terms of location, it is near a few restaurants like Fridays, Spaghetti Warehouse, Hooters, House of Blues, and Ellens. CVS Pharmacy is also near. Nearby attractions include the Dallas World Aquarium, Perot Museum, 6th Flood Depository, and Dealy Plaza where JFK was shot. The breakfast was really good too….fresh oatmeal with toppings you can add such as brown sugar, walnuts, raisins, almonds, honey, and pecans. They even have nice greek yogurt too! Most hotels never offer that! I was excited there were healthy cereal options too (Kashi, Cheerios) and not just some blend of sugary cereals. You also have your basic breads, muffins, and fruit (apples, bananas, and one day freshly cut pineapple too!). When you want to use the shuttle, just let the front desk know so you can book a time. Mornings are generally the most busy…between 7-7:30AM so plan ahead if you have a group.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4GTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeff d, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for takng the time to write such a detailed review of our hotel. I will pass along you kind comments toour staff.


Thank you again!!


Sincerely,



Jeff Durham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    170
    93
    33
    22
See reviews for
82
93
36
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
159 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

This was our third visit in 12 months. We like this hotel for the convenient location for music venues we enjoy. This trip we were booked using "points" from our frequent sty account. Landing in room 303 (you'll want to remember this number) was a mistake on our part. The room was fine as far as being clean and comfortable. Decor I'd about two generations behind newer locations, but not shabby looking. The beds are a drawing point, always comfortable and inviting. Now the low point, when we arrived from the concert about 11:30 there was music seeping in from somewhere. Not overly load but definitely distracting when trying to go to sleep. In the past we stayed on higher floor and next time we will request a room that doesn't face West End, ask for one facing the Aquarium, and on on a higher floor. Will we go back? Of course, it's still to convenient and the staff is great ( Matt in the car park was super helpful).

One last thought, West End seems to be going down since the opening of the American Airlines Center across the freeway. New venues are opening there as West End looks half empty.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing east, away from the noise of West End and on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeff d, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for continuing to choose our hotel in the Dallas West End and for taking the time to write a review. Our hotel rooms were renovated in the summer of 2013 and are the current decor packge that will be found in newy renovated SpringHill Suites.

Being in an entertainment area, the West End area of Dallas, there are many establishments that have live outdoor entertainment. We work with the establishments in the area if we receive noise complaints and generally the local establishments adhere to the noise ordinance, which is 11pm in this area.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.


Sincerely,


Jeff Durham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

My girlfriend and I picked Dallas as a fun meet-up spot for a Girls Weekend. We wanted to stay somewhere central, offering a AAA discount. This hotel is in a great central location, and the beds are super comfy...but that's where the good news ends.

Upon checking in, we went up to our room only to discover that it was directly across from the elevators. We returned to the front desk to see if they could put us in a quieter location in the hotel. Due to The Market event in town, all other rooms were booked, but we were told that another room would be available for the other 2 nights of our stay. Great!

Our new room was in a quieter location, however the remote control for the T.V. as well as the phone by the beds didn't work. We called the front desk and were told it would be taken care of the following day. (It never was...)

Additionally...we asked the front desk folks several times for information about getting to certain parts of town, what there was to do in town, etc. They are NOT familiar with the area, nor do they have any information as far as what to do in Dallas. So come prepared! We were really good at finding our own way around town, and had done quite a bit of pre-planning (thank goodness). However, when we headed for Fort Worth to check out the Stockyards...we explicitly asked about the train schedule -" does the train run all night or do we need to be sure to catch it at a certain time in order to return to Dallas"?? We were told that the TRE Train runs all night. IT DOES NOT - the last train is at 10:00 p.m. So, we were stuck at the train station (which is not in a good area of town) and had to take a $70 cab ride.

I really expected a LOT more from a Marriott Hotel. Unfortunately, I will never stay here again and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COGirl_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeff d, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time write a review of our hotel. I apologize for the various issues you had while a guest of our hotel. On sold out nights, we do our best to accomodate the numerous special requests for selected rooms in our hotel.

Our front desk associates try to stay up to date with the various happenings throughout the Dallas area and Ft. Worth. The various train schedules and other public transportation schedules are available online and are printed at the front desk. I apologize for the misinformation you seem to have received.

I am glad we had the chance to commuicate earlier and were able to reimburse you for your $70 cab ride at check out and reimburse you for one nights stay.


Sincerely,


Jeff Durham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponca City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We LOVED this hotel and its location. It was within walking distance to the American Airline Center and to World Aquarium and other museums and great restaurants, a VERY short drive to the Galleria, and a short drive to Grapevine Mills Mall where there is another GREAT aquarium and Legoland. Rooms were nice and big, breakfast was good, staff was excellent. Parking was right across the street or there was a parking structure diagonally across. Parking was not free, but it was only $3 a day and $5 a night. Valet parking was available for an additional $22/night, which I thought was a bit ridiculous. (Really, a $14 profit?) We are DEFINITELY staying there again the next time we're down for a Detroit Red Wings/Dallas Starts game!

Room Tip: The double room has 2 full-size beds rather than queen. There is a sofa bed so if you only have one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonReneeY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeff d, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I will pass along your kind comments to our staff. Our staff really enjoys the feedeback that these platforms offer. Parking in downtown markets is definetly a challege. As you mentioned, we do have several parking options available.

Thank you again for the kind survery and for staying with us at the SpringHill Suites Dallas West End.



Sincerely,



Jeff Durham
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Poor breakfast, double charges for the stay on the credit card!
But good downtown location and spacious rooms with all suites amenities.
You can find nice restaurants within walking distance ( like texan, mexican and thai).
Bus stop and railways near, for shopping malls take a taxi.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ftoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeff d, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and I will review your comments with the staff who handles our complimentary continental breakfast that we offer.


Happy Holidays!



Jeff Durham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

So many places look good on the net and not so good when you get there, this is NOT such a place.
We enjoyed a pleasant stay at the Springhill Suites, the place was clean and tidy the complimentary breakfasts were good and although the overall rating for the venue may not be quite up to a four star rating it was definitely closer to four than a three. The only surprise was the polystyrene plates and cups with plastic cutlery for breakfast.

All considered I would stay there next time I am in Dallas.

Room Tip: Go with the flow at breakfast, don't worry too much about the polystyrene and plastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icegolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeff d, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on our hotel. I appreciate the feedback and will share it with our staff.



Happy Holidays!




Jeff Durham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Helpfull staff. Rooms cleaned on time. We stayed for five days to recover from jet lag, it is ideally priced and located in the heart of the historical district. Very close to the dart rail system where you can virtually go anywhere. Definetly not plush but not too shabby either. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Forbesaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeff d, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for the kind review and for staying at the SpringHill Suites Dallas West End.


Happy Holidays!



Jeff Durham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Dallas
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 196 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
The Westin Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End

Property: SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End
Address: 1907 N Lamar St, Dallas, TX 75202-1714
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 196 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to comfort and convenience, SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End delivers a big opportunity. Elevate your adventures while visiting our West End hotel near top Dallas attractions including Dealey Plaza, Dallas Zoo and American Airlines Center, home to the Mavericks and Stars games. Everything is bigger in Texas, and our suites are no exception. Boasting 25 percent more space than traditional hotel rooms, our stylish suites offer separate areas for working, relaxing and sleeping, perfect for unwinding after a day of excitement. Wake up with our complimentary breakfast buffet, or grab something on the go from The Market, open 24 hours a day now featuring a beer and wine selection. When downtime arises, work up a sweat in our state-of-the-art fitness center, or enjoy a refreshing dip in our outdoor pool. In town without a ride? Take advantage of our free shuttle service to destinations within 3 miles, or travel around the city on the DART -- there's a station just half a mile away. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Dallas Downtown West End Hotel Dallas
Dallas Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing