We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will <3 this place”
Review of The Joule, Dallas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Joule, Dallas
Ranked #7 of 204 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You will <3 this place”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Loved the atmosphere! parking was easy, they allowed me to park during the day in the valet lane! The front desk was truely helpful & friendly! My orig. room had a air conditioning problem, so they upgraded me to a corner suite! I have to say the new restaurant CBD is phenomenal! The best chicken liver mousse appetizer I ever had and I would venture to say (as a true foodie) the BEST burger in Dallas.....run don't walk & try it for yourself. That being said ....the fries were just ok. After this stay I've decided from now on, this will be my quick 48 hr get away for me time!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Trey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    186
    48
    27
    30
See reviews for
92
363
55
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A chic hotel in downtown Dallas that tries to be a little different.

We were impressed by its stylish and modern foyer and comfortable, well presented rooms. Service was friendly and responsive.

A real bonus for a visitor to town is the free limousine service that takes guests to nearby attractions in Dallas. It worked brilliantly for us, with a friendly and helpful driver.

Loved the "eyeball" sculpture facing the hotel that we understand the hotel owner brought to Dallas

One minor irritation.. Service in the breakfast room fronting the street was a bit confused and not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClimbingOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect, KY
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased with our stay at The Joule. The staff consistently went above and beyond from the we walked in to the time we left. Clint the concierge, Angel the bartender and many others whom I did not get their names really impressed us. I would stay here again. Rooms are contemporary and nice.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank powercarsearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

What a fun place to stay! We hosted a bachelorette party here and had the 2 story suite and it was awesome! It was decorated in a contemporary theme with nice furnishings. The staff was friendly and helpful! The downstairs had a huge bathroom and living room and dining room. Upstairs had the bedroom and another bathroom. The view of Dallas was cool too! Definitely will stay again!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelsnob22Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I've been to Dallas numerous times and stayed at the best downtown hotels they have to offer but I must say that the Joule tops the list. Upon walking into the lobby I was asked if I would like some water or sparkling wine and of course I picked the sparkling wine which was wonderful. The bell man not only showed us to our room but completely unloaded our bags into the closet with care. I noticed some chocolates and a bottle of sparkling wine chilling on the desk with a note from the concierge wishing me a happy birthday which immediately made the hotel my new favorite. Things only got better when I visited the spa, even though at the time it was in a temporary location while the permanent location was being constructed. Aside from how wonderful the staff was, the hotel itself is beautiful. The rooms, although small (since it's an old building), were perfectly decorated and quite comfortable. The pool area was lovely as well. The hotel offers complimentary shuttle service for the downtown area which is also a nice touch. Even though I was only there a weekend, I am sure that this hotel is the best I'll find in downtown Dallas.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room, they're a little bigger and have windows on 3 sides so the natural lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimberlyMarie731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I've read about the millions of dollars worth of renovations and improvements to the joule in Dallas. Expectations were high before our arrival. First impression courtesy of the door men, I thought, was promising. They were alert, professional and courteous. The lobby was modern and sleek. The chairs, tables and the taschen books on them were aesthetically pleasing. Check in took a little bit of time. I did not like them asking us for our phone number and email address aloud (I thought it odd since they should have this info from our reservation) and us answering for everyone in the lobby to hear. Therefore, I politely asked to write down the info they asked for. The lighting in the hotel and the room is very dim. Our room was clean, turned down, with chocolates. A few minutes after check in and as we were unpacking, there was a knock on the door. A gentleman carrying a silver tray with a large bottle of water and a plate of hand made chocolates were presented to us courtesy of management as a welcome treat. Nice touch. I explored the hotel. The hotel's roof top pool was unique that it extends past the building's structure as if falling off the edge over Main street. I availed of the Joule's Taschen library, shopped in its several fashion boutiques including Comme des Garcons (Neiman Marcus is next door) and did a cardio work out in the clean and well equipped gym. This gothic high rise is not out of place among the impressive buildings around Dallas downtown conceived by Pritzker winning architects such as I. M. Pei. Other designs around the hotel making the Dallas skyline famous, are Beaux Art, Art Deco, Post Modernist, Renaissance revival and Victorian. I was disappointed to learn that Charlie Palmer's restaurant at the Joule closed and is replaced by a mediocre restaurant called CBD. Our room was okay, polished, modern and dark. As for guest service, one of the managers, Sony, personalized our experience and seemed to us, made it his own mission statement that we have a memorable stay and choose the Joule next time we are in Dallas again. I have to say, Sony and the Joule succeeded.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gvurslf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

From the minute we arrived, we knew this was going to be a sublime hotel experience. An incredible welcome from the doorman to the front desk - every interaction has been an incredible experience in how to look after customers. Lovely glass of champagne on arrival was a nice touch, and the rooms are just stunning and comfortable in every way, not to mention beautiful art and design everywhere you look - if you appreciate the finest service, great rooms and a hip hotel, you will love staying here..

Room Tip: We have a corner suite so would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacqueenSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 204 in Dallas
6,654 reviews
The Adolphus
#19 of 204 in Dallas
2,611 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 204 in Dallas
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#22 of 204 in Dallas
3,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Joule, Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Joule, Dallas

Property: The Joule, Dallas
Address: 1530 Main St, Dallas, TX 75201-4804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#4 Business Hotel in Dallas
#5 Family Hotel in Dallas
#5 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Joule, Dallas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joule Hotel, named for the international unit of energy, is the stunning product of a revitalized 1920's neo-gothic landmark Dallas building, three restored buildings of 1930's vintage, and several new structures. A visual masterpiece from award-winning designer Adam D. Tihany, the hotel creates a tasteful union of old world quality and contemporary design, while densely populated throughout by museum quality artwork from names including Tony Cragg, Tony Tasset, Andy Warhol and Richard Phillips. In addition to new guest rooms, spectacular multi-story penthouses and bespoke lobby experience, the property includes an impressive glass-fronted rooftop cantilevered pool, subterranean spa, rooftop terrace with glass pavilion, beautiful event spaces, first-class dining, vibrant cocktail destinations and one-of-a-kind shopping experiences. The Joule is an artfully delivered experience set in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the flagship Neiman Marcus and within walking distance of the Dallas Arts District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Joule, Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Joule, Dallas Hotel Dallas
The Joule Hotel Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing