We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As you'd expect - Breakfast and more !”
Review of The Egg & I

The Egg & I
Ranked #306 of 3,601 Restaurants in Dallas
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Addison, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“As you'd expect - Breakfast and more !”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Any restaurant that serves breakfast late rates high in my book. The food and service were good. My only 'issue' was allowing dogs on the patio. I realize I am in the minority in Texas by not having a dog, however, when I go for a meal, I expect to be able to sit at my table without have a dog bothering me. Although he was on a leash, he could easily reach my leg and wait for scraps.

I would still go back and give it another shot due to the quality of food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Ordered the Vera Cruz Chicken and Avocado omelette. It was a good, low calorie option. Came with side of English muffin and fruit. It was tasty. I'd personally like more chicken but my preference is always more meat.
Our server was nice and friendly. The food came out relatively quick. The restaurant itself is your typical breakfast place. Nothing fancy- clean and open, no complaints. Price-wise, it was good. Food, coffee, and tip came to $15.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
1,004 reviews
670 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“O.K. food and service”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This an o.k. place to have breakfast. The food and service were of average quality for a breakfast place and not as good as several other breakfast places I prefer in DFW. My egg white ommlette was good as was the toast and fruit cup. My wife didn't care for her pancake. I also didn't like that there was no "side order" options on the menu - as there are at other breakfast places - to order a side of potatoes, bacon, etc. Finally, it seemed a bit expensive for what was offered.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mohsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Breakfast and/or Lunch served your way”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I like nothing better than having Breakfast for any meal of the day. Unfortunately, they are only open until 6a to 2p on Weekdays and 6a to 2:30p on Weekends. That's still plenty of time to beat a path to this family friendly restaurant and enjoy their wonderful food and service.
They also offer Soup, Salads and Sandwiches for those more traditional persons.
We get here probably once or twice a week. Their daily specials are inventive and delicious.
You don't even have to 'settle' with the usual, but can if so desired.
You owe it to yourself to give them a try.
Juli Erickson

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladyactsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The food and service were great, the prices about average. Would definitely eat here again when in Dallas.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Egg & I also viewed

 

Been to The Egg & I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing