We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, but pricy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #16 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Ball, LA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice, but pricy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

The staff is amazing! Very friendly and accomodating. However the rooms are pretty pricy, and I even had a military discount. There is valet but it is not free for overnight stays as most of us stay overnight at a hotel. The atmosphere is nice, and clean but just be warned that in the downtown area, most things close around 8p. even the pharmacies. Overall, I would stay here again and would recommend anyone as well, as long as you are willing to pay a little more.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdupont79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Public Relations Manager at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Thank you for honoring our staff with your kind words. They were delighted to hear that you were pleased with your stay.

We are grateful to all those who serve in the military. You deserve the best, and we are glad you found it at The Adolphus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,479
    574
    247
    134
    90
See reviews for
342
838
167
820
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

My husband and I were married 2 years ago at the Adolphus and have made it a tradition to stay here every year on our anniversary. This year we decided to upgrade to one of the larger suites and were VERY pleasantly surprised.

Check in was a pleasant process as they seemed genuinely happy that we were staying there. The hotel provided us with a kind note congratulating us on our anniversary and welcoming us to the hotel.

We made our way up to the 10th floor (1030 was the suite number) and were in (pleasant) disbelief when we walked into the room. I tried to take as many pictures as I could, so it might be easier to look at those rather than me going into detail about each room. A couple of things to point out though is that there is a full kitchen and a pool table, and the balcony is HUGE and overlooks downtown. If I remember correctly, when I made the reservation they stated that this is the only room that is modern. The other rooms are very traditional (but still gorgeous!).

We ate dinner at the French Room and weren't disappointed. The service was spectacular and the food was exquisite. I also highly recommend the Rodeo Bar for a lighter meal. Fun atmosphere and very reasonably priced food.

All in all, this is a wonderful hotel that I would recommend over and over again. Do not hesitate to stay here :)

Room Tip: Get room 1030, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank seb02a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

They treated us like royalty without paying royalty prices. It was an awesome experience!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank maryellen1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Friends and I (in separate rooms) had lots of complaints and problems with service. Our rooms looked into a tiny, dark inner space surrounded on 4 sides by hotel walls. When I complained, I was moved to another room with the same dark non-view, while others in our group had normal, outside rooms. At check-in I should have received info related to my tour, but I had to ask for it when I realized others had a tour document. Mine was misfiled so I would't have gotten it without asking.
Light bulbs were missing or very low power, so I had to move a chair next to a lamp to read. the first day, my room was never serviced, although I'd removed the 'do not disturb' sign by 9:30 am. On 3 of 5 mornings, my dirty coffee pot, cup, and used coffee service weren't cleaned or replaced. One evening, it took 30 minutes and 3 calls to get this taken care of at 5:30 pm.
The so-called concierge desk had no prepared lists of nearby churches and seemed to be just another bellman desk, not a concierge. Several people had problems at checkout with overcharges for add-ons to a "complimentary" continental breakfast. One evening I listened to a dog barking after 10 pm. Pet friendly is fine---but not near my room, please.
Free in-room wifi was a plus--so why did the business center PCs have usage charges? Access to a room fridge was very helpful. The bldg and decor were lovely, but mgmt doesn't appear to focus on service details.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sematsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Public Relations Manager at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
I wish I could say that we were perfect and never made a mistake; but, that is out of our reach. No matter how hard we try we still fall short of perfection. When the hotel is sold out and our resources are fully tapped, we stumble.

Please accept our apologies for the blunders we made while you were with us. We will happily make amends if you will e-mail us at your convenience.

The business center is owned and operated by J&S Audiovisual, and, as an outside vendor, they set their own prices.

We do, indeed, have a full-time concierge, but he is not on duty 24/7. The guest services staff do have complete lists of everything a guest might require during their stay, including nearby churches. Unfortunately, new staff who are in training are still learning the ropes. We offer this as an explanation, not an excuse - for which there is none.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

The Adolphus Hotel is and has been my favorite hotel for many years. It shines as the epitamy of an old world elegant, classical hotel and upon arrival the experience begins. The staff is very friendly, helpfula and most willing to please. The rooms are eqiped with a mini bar and they are well done in taste and style. Must eat at the renouned French Room for the most exsquitset dining experience. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank n_polley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

The location of this hotel is good, it is within walking distance of all the major sites within the city, you can walk to the historic West End in a matter of 10 to 15 minutes same for JFK assasination site, etc
The hotel has a nice old feel and it just reeks of history, however the bathrooms well at least the one in my room was looking a little tired.
The rooms are a good size and the service is very good.
The hotel is on teh blue shuttle circut so there is a regular shuttle to the airport which is handy.
I found that the hotle was good value for money and did not dissapoint me

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grant13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Public Relations Manager at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 22 May 2011
We appreciate your taking the time to write about your stay. It is very helpful for people to know how close we are to many of the city's popular venues. We have not finished refurbishing all of our bathrooms; they should be done soon. You were kind to make note of the historic character of The Adolphus. If only these walls could talk, the stories they could tell!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotan, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

During my daughter's recent wedding, we stayed in the Queen Elizabeth Suite. We really were treated like royalty. The suite was spacious, comfortable, and beautiful. The staff treated us with friendly respect. The wedding was wonderful, with No Drama. A Big Part of that was just having a good night's sleep and dependability. We would recommend the Adolphus Hotel in Dallas to anyone. It was Premier Service.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank susanmartinez12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Public Relations Manager at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 22 May 2011
The Queen Elizabeth II Suite is one of The Adolphus's treasures. Queen Elizabeth and Prince Philip relaxed in its luxury, including taking afternoon tea there. They and their staff are the perfect guests, kind and undemanding, with the most beautiful manners.

We take our cues from the British Royal Family and treat everyone with kindness and respect. Our staff wants to put each person at ease, creating the "royal treatment" we all expect when we travel.

It was an honor to be part of your family's wedding celebration. Thank you for choosing The Adolphus and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,945 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Property: The Adolphus
Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing