We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #16 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Very pretty lobby and events area down stairs, decor on the room floors not as impressive. Room was large with a big closet and beds were comfortable enough. Seems like the place could use a serious deep cleaning and refurbishing. Lighting in the bathroom was incredibly dim but there's a wall mounted phone...shower rod was rusted and dirty, ceiling had cracks that had been painted over. Some of the towels were stained. Yes, it's a historic hotel but I've stayed in several historic hotels that still felt very clean and current. We booked room at a discounted rate, would have been very disappointed if paid full price + the $ 28 for valet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okietravel918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your letting us know about the disappointing aspects of your stay. What you describe is not acceptable, and our management will be addressing what happened, rest assured.

Thank you.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,481
    575
    247
    134
    90
See reviews for
342
839
167
821
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we had to wait 10 min for someone to valet our car, and we were the only car. The staff all acted mad. Our room was dirty. There was left over soap left in the shower from previous guests. Two light bulbs were burnt out and when the air conditioner came on or went off it sounded like a machine gun going off! It literally woke me up every 20 minutes during the night. They also LOST MY HUSBANDS TUXEDO that had been delivered the previous day. Thankfully we were able to rent one. After we complained about the problems they offered to give us free parking for a day. After spending $600, $28 off is more like an insult than a comprise. Don't stay at Adolphus!!! Our friends stayed at Hyatt and it is beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaSmith32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Our senior management is looking into the problems you experienced and will be following up on each one.

Thank you for letting us know. Please accept our apologies for your poor experience.

Sincerely,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

An historic hotel with lackluster service. Housekeeping inconsistent then very slow to address problems. Incorrect billing but didn't find out until I got home as they could not run my bill upon checkout due to some technical issue. Building needs some repairs. Certainly did not meet expectations.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank susantnqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We apologize for not meeting your expectations.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

read a few bad reviews about this hotel but having stayed for 3 nights i found the place to be excellent.
lobby is really worth visiting even if your not staying.
room clean olde world style that i had no problem with.

no vending machines on the floor but not the biggest issue i have ever had as it does not fit in with the decor

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshunt_bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Guest,

The management and staff appreciate your kind compliments and fair review.

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor travelers.

We hope your travels will bring you back to Dallas and The Adolphus soon.

With best regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

When I went to write this review, I noticed I'd reviewed it before upon a previous visit. Sadly, nothing has improved. It is nothing more than a relic trying to get by on its history. It starts with arrival. I arrived at approximately 5:30pm on a Friday and waited about ten minutes to be able to pull off the street into the mandatory valet parking. I noticed a similar back up the following day. Here's a tip: hire more people. Then, you can move the cars more quickly. Bad first impression.

Check in took a while, but was fine. I went to my room and noticed two things: 1, the toilet was running (leak) and 2, the top of the wallpaper was COVERED with a layer of dust. GROSS. Because it had two double beds and I was by myself I asked for a new room. They told me to come down and they'd give me one. (No suggestion that they'd send someone up with a new room key right away).

My new room was in the corner on the 21st floor (may have stayed in very same room before). Similar dust on the walls. I have uploaded a photo of the air vent in the bathroom. This is normative for this hotel. Gross. Also, the bathroom is dark and has an old style tub.

I needed ice. I took off looking for the ice machine. No luck. You have to call room service. I did, and 15 minutes later, I had ice. The next day I needed an iron. There was an ironing board, and a spot for the iron, but no iron. I called housekeeping to get an iron. 4 stars? Come on.

I concede I prefer more modern hotels. If you love old hotels, you might like this one, if they cleaned it. But considering what it could be, it's incredibly depressing.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms and corner rooms provide some needed peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Our senior management team will be reviewing your complaints and following up with appropriate action to ensure that what you describe does not happen in future.

We apologize that we continue to disappoint you.

Sincerely,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Dirty, no free wifi, over priced, go elsewhere. Hotels nearby are nicer and less expensive. I was stuck here five nights. I should have gone next door. The free gym was Nice. Live and learn when in Dallas stay away from this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Adam,

Your comments gave us pause.

Sincerely,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed at the Adolphus for nearly a week in October 2013 on business, and as somebody who has stayed in hotels a fair bit while on business, I try and look out for hotels that have a bit of character - and this was a great example - it had bags of it! It also has a great location - only a few mins walk to the Convention Centre, and to the trams to get around further. On top of that - great service, lots of space, and beautifully furnished - I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank addlefinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind compliments and high praise. We appreciate it so much.

We hope you will return, again, soon.

Best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,950 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Property: The Adolphus
Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing