We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An evening with the Grande Dame of Dallas Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Adolphus, Autograph Collection
Ranked #18 of 212 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My husband and I recently spent a stay-cation weekend at the Adolphus Hotel in Dallas,TX. We are Dallas residents and members of the Adolphus Club so we enjoy the Adolphus hospitality as often as possible. Whether it's a fabulour five star dinner at the French Room, "cowboy" grub and football at Walt Garrison's Rodeo Bar or just enjoying the historic yet warm ambiance and accomodations, time at the Adolphus is always top notch.You're in the middle of downtown Dallas within walking distance of the many fine arts offerings, award winning Perot Museum, sports and concert venue at the American Airlines Center , a stroll in the gorgeous Clyde Warren Park with outdoor activities and the shopping at Neiman Marcus. Treat yourself on your next trip to Dallas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors with a view and ask about upgradingto a suite....it's well w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your praise for The Adolphus. We appreciate knowing that we continue to impress and provide special value to Club Adolphus members.

As you wrote, the hotel's location is ideal. The savings on taxi fare alone is tremendous, especially with our courtesy car providing service throughout the downtown area.

Our staff looks forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,265 - 1,271 of 2,701 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is truly beautiful and very historic and the staff was wonderful! The location was great as the purpose of our trip was to visit the Bush Library and Dealy Plaza. However, our room and bathroom were disappointing. The furniture and fixtures were extremely worn and/or not quite up to the cleanliness level of what I expected from the Adolphus. No pad and pencil to write with, no trash can in the bathroom and as we walked down the hall, we could hear other guests talking in their room. The difference between the hallways/guest room and the beautiful lobby areas was night and day.

Room Tip: Room facing the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Deborah,

We appreciate your kind compliments and constructive criticism. Rest assured, the management and staff will use your comments as we make improvements and enhance our services.

Thank you!

Warm regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Reading some realy bad reviews made me a bit worried. As it turned out-for nothing.
Hotel is conveniently placed, with nice and attentive staff. Checkin was smooth. The packages I have ordered were there and waiting. Spatious rooms, bathroom, everything kept clean.
Valet personell was quick and efficient. The price of 28$ a day is a bit too much, though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docdun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your fair and balanced review.

The vast majority of our guests agree with you. They see we are doing our best to make everyone feel comfortable and at home.

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers.

Kindest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

10s all the way around. As a matter of fact the concierge Drake took me on a personalized Ghost Tour of the hotel. He was as keen on this subject as I was. Don't be scared no malevolent spirits here just some odd apparitions and happenings. Gracious staff cozy environment and a short walk to Dealey all you need for a Dallas trip or holiday.

Room Tip: room number 533 great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank night_fright_show
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and compliments.

We appreciate your high praise!

Our management and staff look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Had a wonderful experience at the Adolphus recently. The hotel is the definition of classical elegance and old world charm. A beautiful lobby bar area and the lovely French Room. The hotel had a great rate - $169 for a small suite - 2 queen beds and really roomy sitting area with a couch and chairs; beautiful bathroom as well. We stayed on a weekend and was able to enjoy the downtown Dallas area - some restaurants and shopping at Neiman Marcus. Room service was wonderful as well and I have to say the staff was so very friendly and caring. I recommend the Adolphus to anyone - check it out!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Karen,

Thank you for choosing The Adolphus for your shopping trip to Dallas.

We are delighted that you are impressed with our accommodations, staff and service.

Our management and staff look forward to your return.

Warmest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Valet is right up front, and easy to access from the street.
The lobby and common areas are incredible. I wish we'd had more time to just grab a beer, admire the scene and enjoy some piano music.

We got a basic room off a travel site, and it was a nice size. Beds were very comfy and the linens were soft and very clean. The TV was decent. Carpet was blah, but it was clean.
The bathroom was really cool. It had nice marble looking tile on the floor and in the shower, so it had a nice upscale feel to it. The fixtures in the shower looked like they had been there since the place opened, but in a good way. It was a nice contrast between old and new.

The couple staff members we encountered (valet and front desk) were very professional, though not very warm. They said all the right words, but it felt mechanical and not very genuine, if that makes sense. I felt like I was buying insurance, not being welcomed as a guest for the night. They were efficient at their jobs though, so it wasn't the end of the world, and wouldn't prevent me from returning.

Location was great. Smack in the middle of downtown, and walking distance from American Airlines Arena. There were a few panhandlers nearby, but nothing I saw/experience from them made me feel like it'd be unsafe to walk around with my wife (we walked back to the hotel after the concert at the arena). And they didn't come into the hotel or even hang out in front of it (mostly just around the 7/11 next door).

Oh yea, having the 7/11 next door was really nice for late night munchies (everything in the immediate area seems to close fairly early) and early morning coffee/drinks on our way back out to town.


Overall, I'd definitely recommend this hotel. The old parts are all old in a good way, and the parts you want to function like the year is 2013 all do that. It's a great blend between modern and antique, IMO.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExistenceNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughtful review. Your insight and thorough evaluation will be very helpful in guiding other travelers in their hotel selections in Dallas.

You make some excellent points, and we appreciate it.

We hope you will return, again, soon.

Best regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

It's been a little while since I have stayed at the Adolphus (but tripadvisor only goes back to Dec 2012) but it's just because I haven't been able to get into the area to stay there!!! My daughters and I experienced the awesomeness of this hotel when we were touring around the area. If you're looking for a very high class, luxury stay where you can enjoy the surroundings and CLASS of the area... You must stay and EXPERIENCE the Adolphus!! This is what sets this hotel apart from the others around the downtown Dallas area---- you STAY at the other hotels... You EXPERIENCE the Adolphus!!

It's a $$$ hotel, but if your willing to treat yourself... This is my "go to" hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your compliments and praise for our accommodations, staff and service.

Thank you so much for recommending us.

With kindest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 212 in Dallas
7,367 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#17 of 212 in Dallas
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 212 in Dallas
1,231 reviews
Fairmont Dallas
#16 of 212 in Dallas
2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus, Autograph Collection

Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly The Adolphus)
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 212 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range: £160 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Adolphus, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing