We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #19 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Pomona, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Recently stayed there for my son's wedding reception. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and courteous. The hotel has a lot of charm and class. It is in an excellent location downtown which allows you to walk around and get a feel for the city. The room was comfortable and spacious. The food was quite good. Can't say enough about how accommodating and pleasant the staff is no matter where you go in the hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2go2spas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Guest,

All of us appreciate your hosting your son's wedding reception at The Adolphus. It was a joy getting to know you all.

Thank you for praising our staff and their service. We are delighted that you were impressed with their hospitality.

Congratulations, again, on your son's marriage. May this always be a treasured memory.

With kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,515
    589
    251
    135
    91
See reviews for
349
856
169
843
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very nice stay at the Adolphus. Everyone was very courteous and helpful. Upgraded the room on arrival - Nice surprise. Best thing though was the complimentary Town Car and driver waiting to take us anywhere we needed complimentary. As many times as we stayed there was unaware or this service. So much nicer than getting a cab.

Room Tip: Just ask for an upgrade. If they have an open room they gladly give you one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Susan,

Your compliments mean the world to us!

Thank you, too, for highlighting our complimentary town car service. It is, indeed, a wonderful amenity that saves time and money.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I was impressed in many ways. The magnificent old building gives it lots of charm and originality, but I didn't feel like things were dated. My room was wonderful and had beautiful furnishings. Most hotels have very austere, boring, and completely uniform decor, but not here. I actually had REAL furniture, not just a faux headboard nailed to the wall. The staff and service was also excellent. Everyone I spoke to was exceptionally friendly and helpful. I had breakfast at the in-house bistro and the food was delicious, accompanied by first-class service. And, although I didn't order room service, I did notice that the prices were very reasonable. I couldn't believe that pancakes were just $12 on the room service menu. I've seen them for $26 before! I really have nothing bad to say about my stay. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Beverly,

We are delighted and honored to have earned your high praise.

Thank you for recognizing our staff for their first-class service and graciousness. They work very hard to impress, as you learned firsthand.

We hope you will return often to relive your happy memories of The Adolphus.

All the best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in a regular room with King bed.

First off, the pros..
- The lobby is gorgeous. It is obvious that this hotel is old. There is a very historic look to it.
- The staff are quite friendly and helpful. I really only spoke to the valets, for the most part, who were all awesome.
- The room was quite large.

The hotel has some amenities in it that we didn't get to experience, due to lack of time.. but most will like that it has a pool and what sounds like a great restaurant (or more) in it.

Cons:
- The bed was TERRIBLE. It was one of the worst ones I've slept in. The bed was beaten to a pulp. This hotel, as mentioned, is quite old. It felt like this was the original bed!
- Hot water.. they've got lots. Cold water? Maybe if you scoop it out of the toilet. I couldn't even stand in the shower the first day because the water was way too hot for me, even on the lowest setting. It worked fine for my wife though, so it wasn't terrible.
- No safe... I didn't think this too big of a deal though, since it's a fairly ritzy hotel (apparently?), but it would be nice if I could lock up valuables.
- Expensive WIFI. At the time of writing, it was $10.95. Lots of lower quality (again, apparently) hotels have free wifi. This is 2014... time to get with the times.

I would never stay in this hotel again. Its staff are quite courteous, so nothing against them, but this hotel really didn't offer anything to me that made me want to go back. The charm is in the front entrance, lobby and elevator, but it dies once you exit that elevator. Everything is quite dated. It's long overdue for renovations.

This very well could have been just a problem with the room we were in, given the other glowing reviews. But we're fairly well travelled.. stayed in some great hotels and some bad.. and this was definitely among the bad due to the fact that I would have rather slept on a bed made of broken glass.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Chris,

We appreciate your feedback and apologize for disappointing you. Your comments will help us identify what went wrong and why.

Thank you for praising our staff, in spite of our flaws. You are most kind.

Sincerely,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The ambiance of this hotel was outstanding. I especially loved that there was an afternoon tea service. The rooms were clean, certainly roomy, not that "hotel squashed in feeling".
Room service was prompt as well as tasty. Also, QUIET!!! Greatly enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinpearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

How very kind of you to take the time to write about your recent Adolphus experience.

We appreciate knowing that we impress, night after night.

Thank you for your compliments and high praise!

Kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent our 44th wedding anniversary at our favorite place ever, The Adolphus Hotel in downtown Dallas. Their staff is beyond compare, from the friendly greeting by the doorman to the ease of checking in by their excellent front desk staff. While we were dining downstairs at The French Room, the turn-down person noticed a button sitting on our desk and left a sewing kit for us. I was going to request one the next morning, but they anticipated my needs, as all their staff seems to do. The French Room is well worth the money. We love it and they make you feel like kings and queens while there. The wine parings with the prix fixed meal perfectly matched each course. I can't wait to see the rooms when they are finished with the remodel they are doing. Will definitely be returning in September for my birthday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Julie,

We are delighted that your romantic getaway at The Adolphus was all that you dreamed.

Thank you for including The French Room as part of your 44th wedding anniversary celebration. It is truly an extraordinary experience.

All of our staff wishes you both continued happiness. We look forward to seeing you on your birthday in September.

Kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
164 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Adolphus Hotel is about 100 years old, and that is both its charm and its chief problem. The entry is grand, and reflects the sort of old world charm that many of us love. But the car entrance is too small and crowded. The rooms are very large, but seem old. The bathrooms are large but not particularly modern. However, once you decide to accept the hotel for what it is, it is wonderful. You won't have the gleaming marble and high tech showers, but you will have a wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is at the edge of the West End with all of the restaurants and clubs, and is a couple of blocks from Neiman-Marcus. The French Room is high end dining, and guests in the hotel get about a 25% reduction in the cost of the prix fixe meal. This hotel is virtually unique in Dallas, and well worthy of a stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddymedbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and travel insight. We appreciate your praise for our staff, too. They look forward to your return.

All the best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 203 in Dallas
6,340 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#7 of 203 in Dallas
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 203 in Dallas
1,886 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 203 in Dallas
1,154 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#21 of 203 in Dallas
3,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Property: The Adolphus
Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing