We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Landmark”
Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #19 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Classic Landmark”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My parents first stayed here about 70 years ago. And over the years they kept going back...every trip to Dallas. I can certainly understand why. It is an awesome hotel. With attention to every detail, and to their guest. Today...would probably be classified as a "boutique hotel". Posh and polished. I plan on returning many times in the future.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room...was on the 9th floor. it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bib3157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We take great pride in welcoming travelers whose families have stayed with us for generations; we are honored by their loyalty.

Thank you for the posh and polished review. It means a lot to our staff to be recognized for their devoted service.

We hope you do return often and relive your happy memories, time after time.

With kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,500
    586
    251
    135
    91
See reviews for
348
848
168
837
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel was very nice. A typical luxury, historic hotel. Definitely lived up to its reputation.
Staff was great! The bellhop sang happy birthday to my friend.
Great location. The view of downtown was nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Carrie,

We appreciate your high praise for our accommodations and our staff.

Thank you for allowing us to share in your birthday celebration.

It was a pleasure to have you with us.

All the best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I spent 4 days/3 nights at The Adolphus and thoroughly appreciated and enjoyed the historic / heritage / vintage aspects from top to bottom. Certainly there are some flaws in furnishings, carpets, lampshades, etc., but for us these only accentuated, in a good way, the fact that this property is over 100 years old. We have absolutely no complaints and are delighted to have stayed here before too much changes! Our King Suite on the 11th floor was spacious and comfortable.

Service was exemplary throughout. We had a great dinner at the Rodeo Bar & Grill, light breakfasts (yogurt and croissants) at the lovely lobby bar --and scrumptious huevos rancheros in the Bistro the morning we checked out. We walked up to the bar a couple of times after busy days and enjoyed Cosmo's smooth, elegant service and conversation. The drinks/wine menu is very good, and the espresso at the bar is excellent.

The hotel has a wonderful "shuttle service" to nearby venues, and when we asked to go to the Arts District, the shuttle turned out to be a lovely SUV. After we toured the Museum, we phoned and were picked up quickly. Ordering taxis was also easy, and the driver who dropped us off for a party on the SMU campus returned quickly when we were ready to leave.

There were rehearsal dinners and wedding receptions on the property, and we were told that there are such events almost every weekend. We heard a bit of noise here and there, but honestly it added to the spirit of the hotel stay. Some wedding events are held at the Adolphus because parents or grandparents were wed there.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Everycontinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Your kind and gracious review reflects the opinion of thousands of guests who, like you, appreciate The Adolphus for its elegant patina.

You obviously arrived with a wonderful, uplifting attitude, and it all came back to you a hundredfold. Congratulations on discovering the secret to rich and rewarding hotel stays!

Thank you for sharing your joie de vivre, which will inspire many to travel with a smile and a kind word.

Cosme sends you his best wishes and looks forward to your return - as do we all.

With warmest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I found this hotel on the hotel tonight app and it was listed as Luxury. .. boy was that out of touch with reality. I don't like to get on here and slam hotels, but this is terrible. We thought we would treat ourselves to a swanky hotel in downtown Dallas. This was like stepping into a time warp. It smells like old carpet, well probably because it is COVERED in it! The elevators has food in the corners and the rooms were very odd. We got a room with 2 full beds and the furniture was pushed to the walls so there was this odd huge space on the floor with a perimeter of furniture. It was comical. But what was even more disturbing was the fact that while I fell asleep on one of the full beds my hubby watched TV in the other and he woke up the next day with around 30 bed bug bites all over his legs!! I have to wait until tomorrow to speak with the manager but one thing is for sure, we will NEVER stay at the Adolphus again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

It was a nice old historic hotel, the rooms are nice but the service was not the best. When I called trying to figure out where we park and go to at almost midnight the lady on the phone was not to helpful and then when we did pull up to the door where you valet nobody was outside to assist us with our luggage until I had my car empty. Then we ate at the café the next morning and the service was slow and they were not even busy.

Room Tip: Nice old boutique style hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Andrea,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate knowing where we fell short of the mark.

Please accept our apologies for the disappointing experience. Our service is usually top-notch.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 20 year anniversary of our first date at this historic hotel. Planning in advance allowed us to get an executive suite at a great price and we were treated as royals for a day. Room was very comfortable and large and we had a great stay. We dined at The French Room, an excellent French restaurant with a very contemporary tasting menu that we selected. Service was very personal and the sommelier made a great job describing the wines included in the wine package. This was like being at Versailles eating with the European dynasties and it was a great experience.

Room Tip: Book early for a good discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Claes,

Thank you for capturing the essence of The Adolphus and The French Room in your thoughtful review.

We appreciate knowing that our service still impresses and earns guests' loyalty throughout the years.

The management and staff of The Adolphus are grateful for your business and look forward to your next visit.

Again, our sincerest thanks.

With kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gecko831
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This is a 100+ year old hotel in downtown Dallas. The lobby & common areas are beautiful & have been restored. It made me feel like it could have been 1920. The room itself was nice but in need of updating. Older antique style furniture, which I liked, but some of it was broken - knobs missing here, drawer pulls broken there. Tried room service & liked it. I was there for a conference & having been to A LOT of conferences was very impressed by the quality & care the staff put into the conference food, breaks, set up, etc. you can walk to the Book Depository, DART stops a couple of blocks over & restaurants all close by. Parking is expensive - $28 a night, but this may be typical for downtown.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gecko831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing our history and ideal location with other travelers.

We appreciate your highlighting the professionalism of our staff and the care with which they handle their duties. They take great pride in what they do, and it shows.

The room updates are being addressed. Your feedback is of great value.

Thank you, again.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,203 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 203 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Property: The Adolphus
Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing