We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Adolphus, Autograph Collection
Ranked #17 of 212 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed for a wedding. They overcharged for the room. Still trying to get a refund. The appetizers were cold and unbearable. The Lamb was seriously uncooked. They took it back for another 20 minutes. Still barely cooked. Must be another example of where the cooks decide how they want you to eat. Best bet for a meal is the the pizza at the 7-11 next door.

Room Tip: If your a yuppie and want to try and impress others, waste your money here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Art B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Art,

Please accept our apologies for your disappointing experience.

If you were overcharged, the hotel will be issuing you a refund, without question.

The lamb was prepared per the hosts' instructions, based on tastings before the menu was chosen. We received many compliments on the reception and the food served. Regardless, we are sorry the appetizers were not prepared to your personal taste.

Thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,066 - 1,072 of 2,706 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was the last stop on our Honeymoon and it was the 19th Hotel we had stayed at during our trip so we had a lot to compare it to. The Hotel is very old style Victorian throughout, which we enjoyed. There was some confusion with our booking on our check-in, but the staff were very quick to resolve it and we were immediately upgraded to one of the suites which had 2 bedrooms, large lounge room, dining room, 2 bathrooms and 2 balconies. We chose to dine in the Hotel restaurant "The French Room" and we are SO glad we did, it was FANTASTIC. Not only is the restaurant visually spectacular, the food was absolutely decadent and the service impeccable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Lisa,

How very kind of you to share your majestic experience with other travelers.

We are delighted that our staff created fantastic memories for you, especially on your honeymoon. Generations of guests have enjoyed this same warmth and charm, and we are so pleased that this tradition continues with your visit.

Thank you, too, for describing your evening in The French Room. In a few words, you captured the essence of this fabled dining room.

With best wishes on your marriage,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was so happy with the entire experience. Beautiful room, great service, and it was fantastic. I made the reservation last April. All of my needs and wishes were fullfilled. Food was very fresh and good. I will always recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I suggest if you are looking for a get-away pleasure trip pick this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Debbie,

It's a pleasure to read that you are impressed with The Adolphus - from the great service to the beautiful accommodations.

We are most grateful for your recommendation.

Thank you!

Cordially,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I would have had no complaints on my brief stay because everything else was excellent but for the following problems:

1) Why do luxury hotels believe they need to charge for Wifi when all of the relatively inexpensive hotels seem to include Wifi for free?

2) The location is in the center of Dallas and if you are looking for late night food or entertainment, this is not the best place. However, the late night bell staff was very helpful with a suggestion, though his directions could have been clearer; and

3) This is the biggie - they are apparently renovating their garage and their contract valet only has lots 4-7 blocks away. And they were way understaffed on Saturday morning leading to a 45 minute delay in getting my car. Plus they upjumped several other cars in front of mine (when I came down, there were only four keys on the rack waiting - about a dozen cars came before mine). When I approached a manager, his response was an exasperated "what can I do about it - they are a contractor" response. Well, contractors may not be your employees, but they do directly reflect upon you. There was no mention of refunding or discounting the parking fees, only bland reassurances that "we will get it as soon as we can". Needless to say that I left very unhappy, and while this doesn't reflect on the rest of my stay or the quality of the hotel itself, it really is a huge problem from a public relations perspective. Not well done at all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcMM36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments, in spite of the problems you encountered.

We understand your concerns and completely agree with your parking assessment. The management is addressing this and hopes to have it resolved to everyone's satisfaction soon.

Please accept our apologies. We do our best, but sometimes - in spite of our best efforts - we fail.

We appreciate your fairness, regardless.

Sincerely,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The room is big but poorly laud out. Tv is in a big immovable cabinet set directly behind a post so you cant see it very well from the couch or bed. And the hotel is "quaint old" but their is nothing quaint about unchanging for internet service. How pathetic.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mzungo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback. This is very helpful.

All the best,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and moved from Tulsa to Dallas to start married life in 1984. We decided for our 30th anniversary to revisit Dallas and relive some newly married memories. I chose the Adolphus first because of a wonderful Groupon deal, secondly because it was downtown Dallas and close to the west end.
Upon arrival we were quickly greeted by the head valet who efficiently took our information and valet parked our car. $28 per day. Rental car. Ugh!
Next we checked in and had our bags brought up to room 1807. Not our first choice (queen vs king) but the view was much better than interior walls. So far so good.
The bed. Squeaky and every slight movement is felt. They need to take a lesson from the Marriot or Hilton.
A/C. What little air movement their was was not cold. By 1 am the room had cooled. Sleep was hit and miss.
Technology. Ok it's a landmark hotel. Still, $10.95 a day for sub par performance? My iphone logged on without any charge for some reason but again, the performance was lacking.
Next morning. Getting my car from Valet Prison! OMG!! Nearly 45 minutes to get my car? Remember $28 per day? Pissed for sure. When we finally left my wife overheard one of the employees say now they had two cars missing!
The room itself was large and nicely arranged. However instead of period pieces for ambience out room looked old and tired. The shower however was powerful and hot water never ran out.
I summarize with this. A year ago on NYC we stayed 4 days at the Waldorf Astoria. The Adolphus reminds us a lot of the Waldorf. The entry is impressive, the staff cordial and accommodating, a genuine feel of excellence without snobbery. Of course there are those among us still! Ha! But that's just it. An impression upon entering not followed through to the guests room. Would we come back to the Adolphus? No. Was it a mistake? No, we just wouldn't do it again. There exist too many modern upscale hotels that one can find a great weekend rate and experience true luxury. The Omni in Dallas for instance. This is just my point of view and if it helps great. Maybe you had a different experience. Whatever. Choose wisely.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Owasso007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments and your insight. Both are appreciated.

Kind regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel really looked like something from back in when call girls were in...

The room was clean, which is always a plus, but the furniture was a tad outdated.

My hallway smelled like urine. I found this hotel on Hotwire for $60 but if I would've paid the advertised rate, I would have been beyond furious.

For what it really costs, I would choose something better.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it.

Kind regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 212 in Dallas
7,371 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#14 of 212 in Dallas
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 212 in Dallas
1,235 reviews
Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 212 in Dallas
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus, Autograph Collection

Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly The Adolphus)
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 212 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range: £160 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Adolphus, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing