We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History and splendor in downtown Dallas”
Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #19 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“History and splendor in downtown Dallas”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay in the heart of downtown Dallas. A mix of modern amenities and 20th century splendor, the Adolphus has everything you need in one location, short of a pool.. The Executive suite we stayed in was terrific for our family of four.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Victor,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Adolphus.

Thank you for letting us know that our staff made you and your family comfortable and cozy during your stay.

We hope you will return to relive your happy memories.

Wishing you more happy travels,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,501
    586
    251
    135
    91
See reviews for
348
848
168
838
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We just stayed for two nights Thursday 6/26/14 and Friday 6/27/14. We booked this hotel last minute on Priceline and got a great deal. We liked it so much we stayed a second night. The room was spacious and comfortable. The staff is lovely, especially Paul , one of the bellman. AKA Elvis.....he serenaded my daughter with some Elvis songs, she beamed!! The Adolphus Hotel has such a beautiful lobby and check in area, with all the rich wood and grand chandeliers. Please check out The French Room, WOW! We did not eat there, but we peaked in during the day and it took my breath away!! .......The convenience to Main St. is perfect. The only negative is all the homeless around the area. I say that out of love, honestly. My heart breaks for them. It's very near a Greyhound Station, that is the main reason. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to others. Beautiful and historic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 737FOAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Jim,

We love hearing that you had such a grand time that you extended your stay. This is high praise, and we thank you.

Paul is just one of many staff members who take superb customer service to heart. They want only the best for our guests - and they go above and beyond, time after time. Making a child beam with happiness is just one of the things they do best.

We appreciate your mentioning The French Room - and our convenient location.

Your compassion for the homeless speaks well of you.

With kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

In the tradition of fine old hotels, the stay was exceptional and I would happily stay at this hotel again. It is beautiful, without question, but the ambiance, such as listening to live piano music in the middle of the day, made the experience even more pleasant. The staff was professional and always helpful.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flakybaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to read that you had an exceptional stay at The Adolphus. This is what we want for all of our guests, as you saw firsthand.

Thank you for highlighting our service. Our staff takes great pride in their professionalism and courtesy.

We hope you will come back soon.

All the best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bixby, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed for a wedding. They overcharged for the room. Still trying to get a refund. The appetizers were cold and unbearable. The Lamb was seriously uncooked. They took it back for another 20 minutes. Still barely cooked. Must be another example of where the cooks decide how they want you to eat. Best bet for a meal is the the pizza at the 7-11 next door.

Room Tip: If your a yuppie and want to try and impress others, waste your money here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Art,

Please accept our apologies for your disappointing experience.

If you were overcharged, the hotel will be issuing you a refund, without question.

The lamb was prepared per the hosts' instructions, based on tastings before the menu was chosen. We received many compliments on the reception and the food served. Regardless, we are sorry the appetizers were not prepared to your personal taste.

Thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was the last stop on our Honeymoon and it was the 19th Hotel we had stayed at during our trip so we had a lot to compare it to. The Hotel is very old style Victorian throughout, which we enjoyed. There was some confusion with our booking on our check-in, but the staff were very quick to resolve it and we were immediately upgraded to one of the suites which had 2 bedrooms, large lounge room, dining room, 2 bathrooms and 2 balconies. We chose to dine in the Hotel restaurant "The French Room" and we are SO glad we did, it was FANTASTIC. Not only is the restaurant visually spectacular, the food was absolutely decadent and the service impeccable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Lisa,

How very kind of you to share your majestic experience with other travelers.

We are delighted that our staff created fantastic memories for you, especially on your honeymoon. Generations of guests have enjoyed this same warmth and charm, and we are so pleased that this tradition continues with your visit.

Thank you, too, for describing your evening in The French Room. In a few words, you captured the essence of this fabled dining room.

With best wishes on your marriage,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was so happy with the entire experience. Beautiful room, great service, and it was fantastic. I made the reservation last April. All of my needs and wishes were fullfilled. Food was very fresh and good. I will always recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I suggest if you are looking for a get-away pleasure trip pick this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Debbie,

It's a pleasure to read that you are impressed with The Adolphus - from the great service to the beautiful accommodations.

We are most grateful for your recommendation.

Thank you!

Cordially,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I would have had no complaints on my brief stay because everything else was excellent but for the following problems:

1) Why do luxury hotels believe they need to charge for Wifi when all of the relatively inexpensive hotels seem to include Wifi for free?

2) The location is in the center of Dallas and if you are looking for late night food or entertainment, this is not the best place. However, the late night bell staff was very helpful with a suggestion, though his directions could have been clearer; and

3) This is the biggie - they are apparently renovating their garage and their contract valet only has lots 4-7 blocks away. And they were way understaffed on Saturday morning leading to a 45 minute delay in getting my car. Plus they upjumped several other cars in front of mine (when I came down, there were only four keys on the rack waiting - about a dozen cars came before mine). When I approached a manager, his response was an exasperated "what can I do about it - they are a contractor" response. Well, contractors may not be your employees, but they do directly reflect upon you. There was no mention of refunding or discounting the parking fees, only bland reassurances that "we will get it as soon as we can". Needless to say that I left very unhappy, and while this doesn't reflect on the rest of my stay or the quality of the hotel itself, it really is a huge problem from a public relations perspective. Not well done at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcMM36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments, in spite of the problems you encountered.

We understand your concerns and completely agree with your parking assessment. The management is addressing this and hopes to have it resolved to everyone's satisfaction soon.

Please accept our apologies. We do our best, but sometimes - in spite of our best efforts - we fail.

We appreciate your fairness, regardless.

Sincerely,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,221 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 203 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Property: The Adolphus
Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing