We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful historic hotel”
Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #19 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful historic hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

If you are a fan of historic hotels, this place is a must. If not, it is still a very enjoyable experience. We had an executive suite with 2 double beds. Lots of space to spread out and very comfortable beds. Very quiet as well, no doors slamming or other hallway noise and no noticeable street noise on 10th floor. Only slight annoyance was AC compressor which turned on and off, AC fan only blew "high" even when set to "low." Not a big deal. Lobby is spectacular and lobby bar very cordial. Staff and service is very good, not five star, but excellent for the price we paid (AAA rate). Would highly recommend.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shemp-0-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to hear from those who appreciate our historic character and charm.

We are delighted that you were pleased with your stay and are recommending The Adolphus to other travelers.

Thank you for your kindness. We hope you will come back soon.

All the best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,530
    592
    252
    135
    91
See reviews for
356
860
169
848
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Willmar
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I enjoy this hotel very much - they value great service and the employees make you feel right at home - they are friendly yet professional.
I think this hotel is something "special". The close proximity to the Convention Center is of a great value - a comfortable walk to my business meetings.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKayKruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

You are most kind, and we thank you for your compliments.

The management and staff appreciate your high regard for The Adolphus and its service.

Thank you, too, for mentioning our ideal location.

Cordially,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The lobby of the Adolphus hotel is beautiful. I booked though Hotels Tonight and check in was quick and easy. The rooms were clean but not a luxurious as the lobby. You have two options for parking, Valet or parking in a garage off site. We chose to park off site and walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLyn1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments and insightful tips.

We appreciate your feedback.

All the best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The services at this hotel is terrible. They didn't clean under the beds in my room and dont have microwaves in the room also the fridges are wine fridges. We order ice to our room and we didn't get it till the next day. When we asked for a microwave thet brought us a very old one that only haad 3 options, ontop of aall of that it didn't have a plate and it was missing a leg. Dont think ill be going back to this hotel ever again

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pmagino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry for disappointing you in the way you describe.

The hotel does not provide microwaves, and we are looking into why this one was sent to your room. Clearly, this is unacceptable.

Please accept our apologies, too, for the poor housekeeping and ice delivery. There is no excuse for this either.

Thank you for your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address this with our staff.

Kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is by far my favorite hotel to stay in. The hotel itself is decorated beautifully in an old world style. You can almost feel the history. The rooms are very well equipped and clean. The staff is extremely helpful. We called housekeeping several times because we forgot toiletries at home & they were always kind and helpful. We have had meetings within the conference rooms & the staff is always so nice and the food is delicious. Their veggie lasagna is to die for! They really know how to make guests feel special. I've been there 3 times, all for Mary Kay seminars, where we flood the place with hundreds of people. They have always handled it well!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Renata,

Thank you for your high praise.

Our management and staff appreciate knowing that you thoroughly enjoy your stays at The Adolphus. They always go "above and beyond" for our guests.

Thank you, too, for your compliments on our food. Our executive chef is delighted with your feedback.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Caney, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a hotel that literally takes you back in time to old world elegance. From the moment you are greeted at the door until checkout, you are met with friendliness and elegance. The entire staff went out of their way to assist with anything we needed. We were in town for a convention held at another hotel and welcomed returning to the Adolphus each evening for quiet relaxation to get away from the crowded elevators and lobby of the "other" hotel. From breakfast in the morning to late night cocktails in the lobby bar, we felt like a valued guest partaking in "Old World Elegance".

Our stay was several months ago, and I recently needed to contact the business office for a copy of our hotel bill for the accountant. D'Lynn assisted me very efficiently with everything I needed. This is just one example of how the staff goes the extra mile to help in any way they can. This is a corporate culture that is fostered through excellent management, training, facilities and staff.

The hotel is not new. It is not shiny, glossy or artificial. It is elegant, classic and welcoming. I am looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: We had an executive king suite and it was enormous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee77365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to commend our staff for their hard work. They are always delighted to hear that they impress and amaze.

It is a joy to know, too, that there are many who value the hotel's elegance and charm.

We appreciate your thoughtfulness - and the many compliments you paid us.

With kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Large room with spacious bathroom with marble floors and sink was nice.

But many issues lurked beneath the surface.

The bellhop took over 20 minutes to bring our bags to the room. The thermostat completely didn't work. The room smelled like mildew according to my husband although I actually couldn't smell it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Julie,

Your comments are invaluable in helping us identify areas in need of improvement.

Thank you for letting us know - and for the compliments about our guest baths.

Best regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 203 in Dallas
6,498 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 203 in Dallas
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 203 in Dallas
1,939 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#22 of 203 in Dallas
3,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Property: The Adolphus
Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing