We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve Celebration”
Review of Hotel St. Germain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel St. Germain
Ranked #3 of 23 Dallas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We joined another couple for dinner at St. Germain in Dallas. We were fortunate to have the later reservations. Apparently the earlier arriving guests had conflict with later guests arriving on top of them. There were alot of people standing around with drinks in their hands. The band was great. We were seated away from the band so it wasn't too loud to talk. If we were any closer it would have been too loud. The music was really good. I had a great time - six course meal - chocolate souffle dessert, champagne toast at midnight!
We loved it!
It took over three and a half hours for dinner - really special event. Next year we will stay at the hotel so we don't have to drive home after dinner.

Room Tip: We didn't stay here overnight. We just had dinner here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Georgia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

I adore this hotel, but 2013 NYE was aweful service! I had to get up and pour our own wine not once but twice. We were accosted by the next guest to get up from our table because we were promptly seated at 6:30, they had an 8:00 reservation. What restaurant thinks an hour and a half is reasonable on NYE for a party of 8? Let alone we waited for half an hour for our main course from the kitchen? Once we told the next guest we were waiting for our check for over half an hour, she appologized to us. We desparately wanted to leave and give them our table because this was a poor experience and we had an out of town guest from Oregon who really wanted to experience the place, well, not a good experience!!

We were so pleased in past years and we actually stayed there in 2012 and the experience was outstanding then. Not sure what changed this year. I think next year I will consider going back to Old Warsaw next door. I know that is where we will go for my birthday this month. If you have a guest who has been waiting for a table for 40 minutes, would you not expidite that check while those guests were waiting. We also waited 20 minutes for a coat check to retrieve our coats while my other guests sat in my driveway for at least 15 minutes who got out before us in the cold night until we could get someone to help us with coat check and get outside to get our cars.

Very disappointing.

Room Tip: The balconies in the front are excellent rooms. The staff are usually very nice and caring when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank carrbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband and I spent our anniversary at the Hotel St. Germain on 12/28/13. We reserved Suite 1 which has a balcony directly overlooking the entrance to the hotel and faces The Crescent Hotel property within easy walking distance just across the street. There are seven suites in varying price ranges. Suite 1 is the least expensive at $290 per night. We were invited to view the other suites. Each has it's own personality and all were exquisitely appointed with beautiful antique pieces and luxurious linens. The two largest suites on the third floor are fit for royalty! You cannot go wrong with any of the choices in suites. Check-in begins at 4p.m. We arrived a few minutes after 4 and the valet (Gary), dressed in tuxedo with white gloves, immediately came out to our vehicle to greet us as we pulled into the circular drive. We continued to the front desk while Gary took care of our luggage. Meghan congratulated us on our anniversary and had everything ready for our check-in at the front desk...took about 3 minutes. Gary escorted us to our suite and promptly returned with crystal glasses of champagne and an assortment of fruit, cheese and crackers. We enjoyed these and then sat outside on the balcony with cocktails while my husband smoked his cigar. We had dinner reservations but I have chosen to place my remarks about the restaurant in a separate review. The following is a brief synopsis of our stay in Suite 1 for your consideration:
Pro's:
Valet parking included
First suite up the stairs for those who may not like to walk
Champagne/Cheese included in suite upon arrival
Attention to detail & extremely clean...bathroom was spotless
Very large bed (I think it is the largest of all suites...CAL King plus!) and very nice linens
Good sized balcony
Mini fridge was well stocked and gas fireplace was romantic
Hidden TV above fireplace was good for hubby to watch bowl game while I soaked in tub
Very private & serene hotel that exudes romance!...only saw 2 other couples during our stay
European style continental breakfast is included & served in room or in dining room (ur choice)
Recommend taking the Dallas paper to posh parlor after breakfast for quiet reading
Con's:
If you are a light sleeper, you might consider earplugs/noise machine as w/all hotels IMO
If you want flashy, loud, high energy and a need to be seen, this is not the place for you

Room Tip: Third floor contains largest and most private/quiet suites (only two suites there) but also most exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank texaslizE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We live in North Dallas and twice a year go downtown for a one night runaway.
Love the lower McKinney vibe. The Hotel is 1/2 a block on Maple south of McKinney, close enough to walk.
The hotel is fantastic. Met us at the door, parked the car, no fee, and helped us to the room.
Great old house, this is a very small hotel with no large hotel amenities, no gym or pool, that's fine with us.
The place is spotless, very old French style, you could have been in a Chateau in Provence.
The room had a flat screen TV with lots of cable.
They gave us champagne upon arrival and had a cheese board with fruit already prepared. The ice bucket was full and a music channel was playing on the TV. My wife fell in love with the place.
Manager who greeted us was great, even had a tux on.
We stayed in room 1 with a balcony, we almost did not come because it was raining and cloudy. Glad we did not change, sat on balcony in the rain wrapped up in their comfy robes and watched the traffic.
We like to stay is different hotels, love ZAZA but its getting to pricy and does not have the feel, service or style of St. Germain.
This is a winner, nothing to criticize, loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richardandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of being guests for dinner and an overnight stay in suite #3 this past Saturday. We were very pleased with everything! Our stay was delightful.

Pulling up on a rainy Saturday we were greeted with gracious hosts ready with umbrellas to whisk us away to our suite. Suite #3 is very nice – comfy, cozy and quiet! The cheese tray waiting upon our arrival was nice as was the added touch of a glass of champagne. It was a great way to begin our weekend. Suite #3 is in the back of the building looking out over the garden area downstairs. We also visited with the couple in Suite #1 - which has its own very nice sized balcony overlooking Maple Avenue. I think next time we will try Suite #1 - although absolutely no complaints about Suite #3.

The suite – was very well appointed - comfy bed - beautiful bathroom with a large soaking tub - nice towels, robes, linens - and a secret passageway to a pretty dressing table.

After relaxing - we came down for dinner and were again very pleased. We enjoyed the meal tremendously – the variety of course – the ease in which it was served – the expertise of those serving – never felt rushed or a bother. Food was excellent. Lots of it – but excellent.

After a quiet and leisurely Sunday morning – checkout was smooth and we were on our way.

We impressed by all the attention to details – personalized notes and menus – cleanliness – thoughtfulness and the overall great attitude of each staff member we encountered.

We will be back and have already recommended the place to others!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhvtme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We live in Dallas, but we decided to take a weekend "away" for my wife's birthday. The Hotel St. Germain was perfect for our stay. We booked Suite 4 for Friday and Saturday night. The room was opulent, and the service was perfection. The desk was ready for us when we arrived, and they brought champagne and cheese for our welcome. We spent the evening in Uptown Dallas, then retired for the evening. We had a superb breakfast in our suite each morning. My wife went across the street for a spa day, then we had an excellent 5 course dinner in the Hotel St. Germain restaurant.

We were pampered and had a great weekend celebration.

Room Tip: Ask for help when you make your reservation. Each suite is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LewDalTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel and its staff made our anniversary better than we could have ever imagined!!! From the time you walk in, you feel like you have stepped out of Dallas into old world France!!! Everything about this hotel is amazing! The service is impeccable! The food is FANTASTIC! The wine selection and liquor is worth every penny! We stayed in Suite 2 and loved every second of it!!! The beds have multiple pillows! The bath tub is huge and relaxing! They have many extras in the room! They have a turn down service at night which is fantastic!!! Seriously, every single part of our trip was memorable and amazing!!! I do not have a single negative thing to say about the Hotel St. Germaine! If you are looking for a romantic getaway and have money to spend, this is the place to come!!! I hope you enjoy your stay and dinner, as much as my fiancé and I did! :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymousfrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 206 in Dallas
7,044 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 206 in Dallas
2,118 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#8 of 206 in Dallas
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 206 in Dallas
1,191 reviews
The Adolphus
#19 of 206 in Dallas
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Germain

Address: 2516 Maple Ave, Dallas, TX 75201-1951
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas > Oak Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Dallas
Price Range: £151 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic Victorian hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel St. Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing