We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wouldn't bother if I were you” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh
Ranked #39 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I wouldn't bother if I were you”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel on Fri 17th January. Arrived late evening and walked into a temporary reception where the person on reception was talking about his lack of food that day to his associate - and he didn't stop when we came in. Strike one. I thought I had come in the wrong door. Receptionists sitting at put up tables was odd, a hotel like this would surely have something better around somewhere? Anyhow, the guy swiped my husband's debit card, as is usual, in case we used any further facilities...we did not and I had paid for the room in full the day before via Hotels.com. We proceeded to our room which had a kitchenette beside it, in which was a cooker hood, but no stove there. Bed fine, except for wooden footboard which was hidden under the sheet and which we both injured ourselves on as you couldn't see it was there. Went on our night out. Fine, but had to walk to trolley stop in freezing temps as no hotel shuttle...in Dallas? Not impressed how they are handling their renovations, but this is not the problem although it does need a strike two.

The problem is that one week after our stay I was charged $334 by the hotel...for what? I rang the hotel twice and was put through to the accounts department and left messages with my phone number because there wasn't anyone there to take my call. I could not find an e mail address for the manager anywhere on the website but found one for one person who happened to be the accounts lady I believe. I received a generic e mail response from her which had nothing to do with the e mail I had sent her asking her to trace this strange charge. Upon hearing nothing,two days later, I e mailed her again asking if she had actually read my e mail.

Today I received a short apology, with no explanation for what happened, and was told the money will go back into the accouunt within 5-7 days. Well, thank you. Not everyone can afford for $300 to suddenly be taken from their account when it was not planned for. Strike three.This nearly made us overdrawn as it was right around payday. Why have I had to make calls and several e mails to sort this out and what on earth are they doing with our card details still active 7 days after we visited? Perhaps the manager will respond to me now? This was supposed to be a good memory for us before we relocate back to the UK. I wish we had just stayed somewhere cheap downtown, it would have been less hassle.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Esther W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wdchotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh. I was dissapointed to see that you did not enjoy your expreience with us. I do apologize if our renovations negatively impacted your experience. This work will be complete at the end of January.

With regard to the CC issue experienced, our hotel (as do many others) automatically authorize credit cards at check-in for a set amount of incidentals. When using a debit card, the bank will physically hold these funds for up to 10 business days from check-in and they are then released by the bank. I hope this answers your question with regard to this process and my apologies if that was not made clear before or after your experience. We will be sure to share this feedback with the managers here for improvement.

We do hope you will try us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    143
    45
    31
    19
See reviews for
56
123
21
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed here in January while traveling on business in Dallas. The hotel seemed very nice (althought the valet at night was a bit slow to get my car). Everything was under construction in the main lobby. I am not sure when the construction will be done, but until the construction is done,the hotel will be a mess.

The room was nice and clean. I am sure with my platimum status that I was given an upgraded room of some sort, but the room faced a busy street and the garbage trucks woke me up early in the morning. I am sure there are nicer rooms in the hotel, but likely those are saved for others without status at Starwood.

The bathroom was nice, the room was clean and spacious, the doors to the hall were thin and let through all the hallway noise. The HVAC was noisy, but livable.

I would consider staying here again once the renovation is completed, but probably not unitl the hotel is put back together.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing a busy street and do not stay on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GAH0668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wdchotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh. I was pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize if our renovations negatively impacted your experience. This work will be complete at the end of January.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Birthday staycation, lovely 2 days planned. Valet though it was cold, was abrupt and short. No direction as to were to go since a good portion of the hotel is draped off for renovations. Again review has ALOT to do about the lack of service, not the renovations at all. Room is comfortable and roomy, amenities are abundant, bed comfortable. The whole "BE GREEN" in regards to the bulbs is crazy. ALL of the light bulbs had to be changed out because they would not stop flickering most of the night. THE one bright spot was the maintenance staff at night. They were aware of some of the rooms having the same problem, one even mentioned "these are new bulbs that were just replaced" Housekeeping not through at all. Stains on floors, wet wash cloths still on the floor, and trash not complete. Room service. Could you please find someone with experience in speaking and not talking over the guest. Order was wrong with the ice cream, burger was not cooked as requested, fries were dead on arrival, and the Coffee???? lets just say is was room temperature. From the previous responses left by the management of the hotel, I anticipate a detached, emotionless response. Its not if you encounter a issue, problem, the ISSUE is what does a person or company do when when a concern or problem happens, there is when you see the ability of a person, and the character of a hotel come out....well this hotel sadly, has no character, no warmth, depth, or any cause to care......at all. When the renovations are complete, one can only hope they do the same for the staff.

Room Tip: corner rooms overlooking maple are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank endless_summer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wdchotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh. I was dissapointed to see you did not enjoy your stay. I appreciate the detailed feedback you took the time to write and I apologies that these service issues negatively impacted your stay. I have forwarded this information on to the management team to be addressed.

We will be done with our renovations at the end of January and hope to see you back at The Stoneleigh to try us again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I will definitely stay at the Le Meridien again! Very convenient valet parking under canopy.
Friendly staff; from valet personnel to food-service attendants.
My fiance' and I booked this hotel at the last minute after travel plans changed.
The Customer Service we experienced was impeccable; from the phone-reservation to our "in-person" experience with everyone whom we encountered---up until to our departure!!
The atmosphere is quiet and upscale; yet homey.
We will be staying there as often as we can get away.
The rates are reasonable and there are plenty of great restaurants within the general vicinity. But, if you don't feel like getting out, just order up room-service which is what we did for most of our stay.
Great portions of food for the money if you decide to go with that option.
The Le Meridien is HIGHLY recommended!

Room Tip: I would ask for a corner room/suite which is what we had. It was spacious and separation of the liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wdchotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh! I was thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

My stay was for business. Worked nights and tried to sleep during the day. Hotel is under renovations which did not make for sleeping as they were hammer drilling on the outside near the room. Went to the workout room the display on the elliptical was not working right. They TV in the room was placed 20 feet from the bed which was hard to see although there was not much to choose from on the very basic channels unless you paid extra for other services and the charge for Wi-Fi was a little much as well! They offered a $5.00 a day coupon if I skipped daily room service to stay GREEN which they could not give me when I left because they did not have any of them to offer me. The only GREEN they got was from me!

Room Tip: Make sure the renovations are done!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wdchotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh. I was dissapointed to see you did not enjoy your experience. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback.

We do hope we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed here with my husband while I was in Dallas for a couple work meetings and a little R&R. The hotel is being renovated and it appears it will be beautiful once all the work is complete. I appreciated the attention to detail in the room decor. The room itself was huge and featured both a sleeping area and a couch/seating area that was separated by a large console with a television that rotated. There was even a walk-in closet! Staff at the hotel were pleasant and helpful throughout our visit.

A few disappointments: Noise from the construction woke us up early on the first day, but was not really a problem the rest of the time. We agree with other reviewers who said the walls seemed very thin. Also, the wi-fi situation was confusing. We thought it was free, but saw a screen with a $15 per night charge, so we declined. Same goes for the parking fee, but I guess $24 per night wasn't too bad considering in Chicago the going rate is around $50 per night!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wdchotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh! I was thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, TN
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I was very disappointed. This was supposed to be a upscale hotel. Instead they charged for Wi-Fi ($15/night) when other hotels provide for free, $24 per night parking, overpriced movies, and overpriced room service. Their was no concierge to help find restaurants. As recommended, I e-mailed the manager with my concerns and didn't receive the courtesy of a reply. The room was nice and large, but only had desk chairs, no comfortable chairs. When I asked for a cab, they told me to take a hotel limo which was "a little more than a regular cab". When I took a cab back it was half the hotel's cab fee. There are many more hotels in the downtown Dallas area and I recommend that you use one of them.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wdchotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh. I was dissapointed to see you did not enjoy your stay. We are undergoing renovations to improve our space and I apologize if this work negatively impacted your stay.

I hope you will choose to try us again soon!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Oak Lawn
W Dallas Victory Hotel
W Dallas Victory Hotel
#53 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel Crescent Court
Hotel Crescent Court
#51 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hyatt House Dallas/Uptown
Hyatt House Dallas/Uptown
#65 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh

Property: Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh
Address: 2927 Maple Ave, Dallas, TX 75201-1444 (Formerly Luxe Stoneleigh Hotel & Spa)
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas > Oak Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#16 Green Hotel in Dallas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#56 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic and modern elegance are juxtaposed at the chic uptown location of Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh. This historic 1923 Art Deco building is steps from businesses, museums, boutique shopping, cutting-edge cuisine, and stimulating nightlife. Our harmonious spa indulges guests with rejuvenating experiences. Meetings and events are hosted with flair in 6,000 square feet of Dorothy Draper-designed space. In each of our 170 guest rooms and suites, warm cinnabar and charcoal color palettes blend modern amenities with custom mahogany and marble-topped furniture. Bathrooms feature sleek black-and-white Calcutta marble flooring and chrome fixtures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stoneleigh Hotel And Spa
The Stoneleigh Hotel Dallas
Stoneleigh Hotel Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing