We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location with Character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh
Ranked #37 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tyler
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Location with Character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location. Close to many popular downtown destinations. We were there for a wedding close to the hotel. The rooms were very nice and clean. The closet was huge... although we did not need a huge closet. We all commented on the nice view from our room. Suggest you request a room far away from the elevator. We heard the elevator (we were 2-3 doors down) "ding" frequently early am. Also, being close to the elevator, you would hear the staff bringing an announcing "room service." The valet and front desk staff were all very professional and nice. Room service available 24 hours a day. The items I ordered from room service were excellent!!! I would stay there again... but request a "quieter" room location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a "quite" location - away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 129thecatsmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    145
    46
    31
    19
See reviews for
56
127
21
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel was beautiful and well maintained. The staff were kind. There were tons of restaurants and such with in walking distance. The rooms were spacious. Three things would change this review from 4 to 5 stars - pool, self parking, and free or low priced wifi. The wifi was $14.95 and paying $24 per night for parking plus wifi was a bit much. Without a pool the activities were limited. We are use to having a pool in such a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynfuston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
207 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I found the Le Meridien Stoneleigh a bit of a contradiction of experiences that prevent me from having a positive review. The most disappointing and surprising experience was with attempts to reach guest services or the operator. On both days of my stay, multiple attempts to speak to an operator or guest services failed after 10-20 rings, even when the call rang back through the automated attendant.

Also, at 11:00pm on Tuesday night, I requested a wake-up call at 7:00am and 7:15am – but none arrived and I wasn’t going to mention it. However, when I reviewed my efolio, and saw that I was charged for internet – event though I’m a Platinum member, I called the operator to report this. I was surprised – someone answered – the first time this happened promptly. When I reported the internet service billing the young lady said she’d remove it. I then also mentioned that I never received my wake-up calls, and literally sub-seconds after I finished speaking she said, “that’s not true, I personally made all the wake-up calls.” Very disconcerting and in appropriate - she never even considered the possibility that she wasn’t given the call to make for my room, or there was a phone problem that prevented the call from going through or that she simply made a mistake. Rather, she claimed I wasn’t telling the truth.

The problem here is management. I never saw a manager during my stay. And, all that I experienced is a function of a) hiring the right people - staffing, b) training the right people, c) scheduling people in a manner needed to support the business and e) supervising the staff. These four points are management responsibilities and based on my experience, one or more are out of whack.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AppreciateAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wdchotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short not only in execution but in the responses you received from the associates. Since you have mentioned a number of other items in your review, I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you in more detail to learn how you feel we could improve our overall services. You can reach me at 214-871-7111. I look forward to hearing from you.
If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The Stoneleigh was our favorite getaway in Dallas for the last several years. Stayed there many times and recommended it to many friends. Not sure we will again. Since being purchased by Le Meridien, they renovated the lobby earlier this year and destroyed the elegant, retro vibe that made the Stoneleigh so unique. The staff is friendly, but unable to resolve issues such as a/c that will not cool. We were moved to another room, but the issue was the same there. Nearly 80 degrees in both rooms and an engineer promised to check it out who never showed up at the second room.

The only reason for the two stars is the friendly staff. Can't blame the front desk for a/c that won't work. :-) Also, the food delivered from room service was excellent. But two stars is the best I can do. Will have to look for another special place.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wdchotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us the feedback from your recent stay with us and thank you for your continued loyalty. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our renovation work. I want to apologize for the inconveniences you went through at our hotel. I understand that incidents like this leave a negative lasting impression that overshadows the rest of any trip. Rest assured that your comments have been passed onto the Hotel Management Staff to prevent similar occurrences from happening in the future. I am pleased to hear that you had a great room service experience and our staff treated you well.

I hope despite your comments you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was my first stay at the Stoneleigh, and from driving up to valet it was a level above in service from other hotels in the area. The lobby is freshly renovated and sleek, and the rooms are large and well-appointed. I found the staff to all be very pleasant and pro-active, and I will definitely be coming back again. This hotel was the tipping point for me with SPG. I think W was my favorite chain within the family, but Le Méridien edged them out with this stay. Big fan of this property, and I will be back for meetings in July!

Room Tip: SPG has great descriptions on the website. Just choose the right room level fort our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinHumphrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!
We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.

We look forward to welcoming you back in July.

Sincerely,

Emma S
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I rarely write reviews but in 25 years of business travel I felt compelled to share the nightmare that is the Le Meridien Stoneleigh. I've stayed here twice. The first time they overbilled me on valet parking by double billing me as if I had 2 cars parked each night. OK these things happen and they issued a credit.

Stayed here again in May 2014 and upon check-out I was billed for internet usage which should be free as a Starwood Preferred Guest. At my request, they removed the internet usage charge and I settled the bill. Then it got interesting.

Later that day they added back the internet usage and doubled it. Came out to about $90 for 3 days of internet usage. The next day they added $92 for the honor bar which was a neat trick since I was never even issued the key. The point is these charges were added AFTER I CHECKED OUT!

I called and spoke with the account manager, Veronica Duran, who promissed to refund the money. Eventually they did but it took 3 or 4 calls and about 2 weeks. She never returned any messages I left and I had to keep calling and hope I got lucky that she picked up her phone. I called the hotel manager but she ducked my calls each time and didn't return any message. Never got an apology or explanation.

Maybe they have cash-flow problems or something but the whole thing is really fishy. Stay at your own risk. Cresent Court, Mansion and Ritz Carlton are nearby and better bets.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ja1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wdchotel, General Manager at Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your loyalty to the Starwood Preferred Guest Program and for writing a review about your stay. The room service troubles you encountered during your stay are not typical of the service we offer, and I regret that we were unable to correct our mistakes in a timely manner. I will certainly be following up with the team to ensure this does not happen again. I apologize for your inconvenience and that you were unable to get a hold of me. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at 214-871-7111 with your contact details so we can work together to resolve this. I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great place to stay for a quick weekend getaway. Really nice bar in the lobby area. I would have liked to see it staffed as an espresso bar during the day. The restaurant offers a beautiful breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Oak Lawn
W Dallas Victory Hotel
W Dallas Victory Hotel
#52 of 201 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hyatt House Dallas/Uptown
Hyatt House Dallas/Uptown
#62 of 201 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel Crescent Court
Hotel Crescent Court
#51 of 201 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 201 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh

Property: Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh
Address: 2927 Maple Ave, Dallas, TX 75201-1444 (Formerly Luxe Stoneleigh Hotel & Spa)
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas > Oak Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#15 Green Hotel in Dallas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#56 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic and modern elegance are juxtaposed at the chic uptown location of Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh. This historic 1923 Art Deco building is steps from businesses, museums, boutique shopping, cutting-edge cuisine, and stimulating nightlife. Our harmonious spa indulges guests with rejuvenating experiences. Meetings and events are hosted with flair in 6,000 square feet of Dorothy Draper-designed space. In each of our 170 guest rooms and suites, warm cinnabar and charcoal color palettes blend modern amenities with custom mahogany and marble-topped furniture. Bathrooms feature sleek black-and-white Calcutta marble flooring and chrome fixtures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stoneleigh Hotel And Spa
The Stoneleigh Hotel Dallas
Stoneleigh Hotel Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing