We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but loud a/c!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dallas Fair Park
Ranked #89 of 206 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This hotel was nice and clean and the staff was very friendly but my husband and I slept terrible all three nights we stayed here. The a/c did not have a "constant fan" feature and loudly turned on and off all night long! We won't be returning to this hotel when we are back in Dallas.

Room Tip: Light sleepers, beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmdd333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dallas Fair Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Tmdd333,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. We would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced because of the AC unit in your room. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Yours in Hospitality,
Gabriel Vallejo
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Express Dallas East-Fair Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

When we arrived the front desk clerk (did not get her name) was very helpful. We chose this hotel because a friend was having surgery the next morning at Baylor and it was a short drive. Around 10:30 we discovered our TV was not working and called the front desk. The 11-7 shift desk clerk Mr. Hernandez came to our room as soon as he clocked in and corrected the problem with the TV. Around midnight the room above us was so loud that we could not get any sleep and I called Mr. Hernandez and he took care of the problem and the next morning when I went down to breakfast he was still on duty so I was able to thank him for all his help. I just wanted to be sure his manager knew how good a desk clerk they have with him. The overall stay was great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dallas Fair Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Cheree R,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable accommodations. Please accept our sincere apology for the noise challenges you experienced during your stay. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Dallas.

Yours in Hospitality,
Gabriel Vallejo
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Express Dallas East-Fair Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Clean hotel, easy in and out access from freeway, and courteous staff. It is hard to find a decent hotel in this area - many seem to be very old and run down, so this one was a bright spot in East Dallas! At about 5:45 AM one of the smoke detectors in our room began to beep (low battery). The person on duty came immediately and removed the battery. Breakfast on Saturday does not begin until 7:00 AM...sure could have used a cup of coffee after the smoke detector woke us up. The only coffee packet in the room was decaf...no regular. Overall, this is a great place to stay, but there were a few details lacking during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TchrTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dallas Fair Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Tchrtech,

We appreciate your comments about our property. We take our guest feedback very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We apologize that on this day we were not able to meet your expectations especially with the noise from the smoke detector and the inability to get a great cup of Joe from our Breakfast Bar area. Once again, many thanks for your review and while we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Yours in Hospitality,
Gabriel Vallejo
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Express Dallas East-Fair Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Very updated decor and extremely comfortable beds. Got the queen bed suite with the pullout couch for 12 year old. Room had very nice fridge, micro, flat screen tv. Came in late and had very fast check in. What was amazing was the level of service we received from the day manager the next morning. Enterprise messed up our car reservations and he went to bat for us to get us the car and rate we had reserved. Cant express how much he did and how relieved we were to finally get our rental car. Really this level of assistance usually only comes from family members. Good location for our needs as we were heading to LA next day, cab ride approximately $55 from airport We liked it so much we have returned for another night as we continue our travels. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dallas Fair Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

To Islandmann,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We would like to thank you for your kind words and hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Dallas.

Yours in Hospitality,
Gabriel Vallejo
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Express Dallas East-Fair Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This place is Great. Full hot breakfast for me and the family, especially loved the hot cinnamon rolls. The indoor pool was wonderful and had a dolphin design on the pool floor. Very nice! The staff was very friendly and courteous and made our stay comfortable with no worries. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who visits Dallas.....:)

Room Tip: Ask about the cinnamon rolls and restaurants in Mesquite.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValleySon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is the tenth time we've stayed here and every time we've been pleased. The price is great, the amenities above average, the service friendly and the breakfast top notch. Kudos to the staff for keeping such a clean and attractive hotel!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Caligranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

As other travelers have noted, it is confusing to find your way here, but once there, we were greeted in a very friendly manner, the room was clean, the water was hot, and the breakfast was good. It's not easy to find a reasonably-priced hotel that meets all those basic needs.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not overlook the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas West
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas Park Central Northeast
11.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas West / I-30
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas (Galleria Area)
13.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Dallas - Addison
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas/Stemmons Fwy(I-35 E)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dallas Fair Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dallas Fair Park

Address: 8703 E R L Thornton Fwy, Dallas, TX 75228-7113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Dallas
#58 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range: £80 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dallas Fair Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dallas Fair Park is conveniently located off RL Thornton Freeway ( Interstate 30) just 7 miles east of Downtown Dallas. Our guests will enjoy quality accommodations and amenities including a full hot breakfast served daily, free WiFi, an indoor pool/hot tub. While you're in Dallas, be sure to check out Dealey Plaza, the site of the Kennedy Assassination and other interesting historical points of interests in the Downtown Dallas area. Our city also offers events year round at Dallas Fair Park (Home of the State Fair of Texas) and Starplex Pavilion ( formally known as Gexa Energy Pavilion). We hosts huge events and concerts at large venues such as the The Kay Bailey Hutchinson Convention Center and the American Airlines Center, which is home to the Dallas Stars. We are certain that your stay in Dallas will be a pleasant experience so saddle up and Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dallas Fair Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dallas East Hotel Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing