We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas-Medical Center
Ranked #6 of 24 Dallas B&B and Inns
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with 4 other family member in 3 rooms. My only negative comment is that there weren't enough Luggage carts. My step-sister and I carried our luggage though and had no problem. Everything was clean and nice. But the best thing was my experience. I was having surgery te next morning and was nervous, so after everyone had fallen asleep, I started wandering around. The night clerk noticed, and started talking to me. He talked to me for over 30 minutes, and helped to calm me down. I found out while I was in the hospital that the man worked again sometime later and asked my family how I was doing they also kept all the reservations straight and we had absolutely no problems. I'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kklamb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas-Medical Center, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a response for our hotel. Mike is the front desk agent you were referring to and I will let him know of your kind words about him and the hotel. I hope you are doing well.

April Jackson
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suties Dallas Central Market Center
1521 Inwood Road
Dallas, Texas 75247
214-905-1400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    25
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
21
13
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Really nice builidng. Nicer than most HI express. I am a HI Rewards Platinum member. I stay at a lot of Holiday Inn properties. I thought the decor, beds, amenities and overall condition of the hotel was great. Better than almost any other I've stayed in. Yes it was noisy, but its a Holiday Inn Express, its not supposed a 4 star hotel. The food is mediocre, but the same as any other. I liked the convenience store across the parking lot! It was convenient. There was even a little taco shop tucked into the CStore (great al pastor tacos)!
As a business traveler, the internet service was simply unacceptable. It was terribly slow. I've had better service in Dubai or Beijing (both places with notoriously poor internet service). It would take minutes to load pages. I had a lot of work to get done and I couldn't do it. I spoke with the front desk. The attitude and response was basically this happens all the time, not much we can do about it. They suggested using a different user name and password. That did nothing. This was slower than dial up. It was so bad, I turned off wifi and used the 3g on my iPad. I ended going to starbucks to get some work done. Terribly inconvenient. This is obviously an ongoing problem. It should be fixed.
If you need to use the internet, i suggest staying elsewhere. Other than that, its a decent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mexikinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas-Medical Center, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your nice review of the hotel, Sorry for the internet issues you had encountered I will be looking into the internet issues with my management company and addressing them. We hope to see you next time your in Dallas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel in Dallas. I hate to say it was the worst experience with a hotel i have had. The room was ok, neighborhood was skechy. The customer service was absolutely horrible and I have never been treated so rudely before. I had just pulled out of the hotel from checking out and get a call saying my credit card was declined. I knew that wasn't right because I had just recently paid the credit card off. I explained that to the girl at the front desk and told her that also in my paperwork when booking this hotel from ichotelsgroup.com it stated that the reservations required full prepayment at time of reservation so I knew already why it was declining because a charge had already been made for this reservation and she was trying to charge me again but that didn't seem to matter to her. She asked if I had another form of payment. I told her I would call my credit card company and get right back with her and that I wouldn't give another method of payment without knowing if I had already been charged on this one. I called my credit card company and got excellent customer service from them and of course found out exactly what I already knew had happened. They advised me that I already had a charge from Holiday Inn Express and Suites on my transactions for May 4th, which was the day we checked into the hotel. So as I expected they were running my credit card again and charging me twice and not closing out the original transaction they did when i checked into the hotel. I had reservations to be somewhere else during this time I was wasting having to deal with this situation that shouldn't have even happened if this hotel staff knew how to do their job appropriately. I personally drove back to the hotel to deal with this matter in person and not over the phone. Advised them of what my credit card company had told me and explained to them they it was a mistake on their part and not mine. The girl kept pointing to this sign next to the desk about the hotels procedures when booking a room. I told the girl I knew how the process works regarding booking a room and it taking 5 business days for transaction to finalize according to my credit card company which said they were waiting on hotel to complete transaction for the first transaction to go through and up to 10 days with the hotel policy. So she made herself look poorly trained at her job because the sign she was pointing to numerously about the policy answered her own problem regarding the transaction being held for several days. Even after explaining all that to her and the manager who came out while this whole fiasco was going on telling both of them that it was declining the charge because they were putting the same charge through again they continued to argue with me and say it was my fault it was declining and even had the nerve to tell me that maybe i used my card and didn't remember it and the money wasn't really there. Are you serious?!? What kind of customer service is that? So in front of both of them, I called my credit card company back again!! Just like the first time I was told by a diffrent representative who even consulted with their supervisor that Holiday Inn already had charged me for the two nights I stayed there and they were trying to put the charge through again, but the manager of hotel and front desk clerk still wouldn't except they were doing something wrong. The clerk even had the nerve to put it in the computer and turn the screen towards me and say" see this is what it's doing!" like i thought she was lying about it or something, which only made her look stupid. I told her I know what's it doing, but it's declining because your putting my credit card through again for the same transaction, not because the money is not there, which had already been verified by the credit card company twice and with excellent customer service both times I may add. The credit card representative knew exactly what was going on from the beginning when I explained it to them but the hotel staff never seemed to get the picture and try to fix the problem they just kept telling me in many diffrent rude comments that it was my fault. Finally my credit card company said they would delete the first transaction since the hotel wasn't trying to fix the problem on their own and to get the hotel to run the card again after the first transaction was deleted and of course it went through then. Capital one showed exceptional customer service during this time and went above and beyond to make sure their customer was treated with respect and fixed a problem that shouldn't have even existed if this hotel staff was trained appropriately to do their job. I intend to put this information on every hotel and travel rating site I can find and will never stay at another hotel in this group after the way I was treated. Corporate needs to improve training for their hotel management and their staff to avoid putting the wrong people in positions they apparently don't need to be in to avoid future customer relations problems.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samhedrick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas-Medical Center, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear samhedrick3,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. I will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Has easy access to the freeway and Love Field. The room was spacious and clean but we overlooked the gas station/freeway and was quite noisy so we used the TV to muffle the sound of traffic and cars starting and stopping. Only stayed 2 nights so wasn't a real problem and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was adequate for our needs and the business center allowed us to stay in touch and print boarding passes. Check in staff less than attentive but check out staff were more friendly. All in all we would stay there again if visiting Dallas.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megansworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed here because of the good tripadvisor ratings and location. Our room happened to face the street and was noisy with traffic and sirens audible all night. The small refrigerator and a/c were both very loud. We could hear doors close and talking in the halls. The breakfast was almost in edible. The eggs were probably made from powdered or synthetic. The pancakes were spongy. Nothing looked appetizing. So don't go there for the free breakfast. The bathroom was just the basics, with soap and shampoo but no lotion or shower caps. The towelslooked old and were poor quality. The best thing about this hotel was the convenience to the medical center.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas-Medical Center, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
etang,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel last week with friend. The room was spacious, clean with plenty of necessary amenities. Complimentary breakfast was ok. Business center was helpful to print out our boarding passes prior to our trip. If the FD personnel was a little more friendly and helpful, then they deserve a five-star rating.

I will definitely go back if I ever return to the Dallas area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSPMDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Easy access to I35 (when leaving make sure to use the road out the back behind the gas station, makes things very easy. Stayed on the 1st floor in a king suite. King bed w/ large flat screen tv, nice sofa w/ coffee table and small fridge/micro, desk area and chair. very spacious and loved the high ceilings. 5 lamps in the room. The bathroom is small, but is nicely done. Our room was across the hall from pool, rec room and near ice machines...yet was quiet. We like to leave the a/c fan running to drown out any noise, or we use our travel hepa. Breakfast was good....eggs, sausage, bisquit/gravy, fruit, pancakes, bagels, muffins, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee. Front desk was very pleasant at check in. Overall i feel safe even though right on i-35. Near market area and hospitals. Pool was a little cool and hot tub was very hot, my daughter didn't seem to mind the cool water. Afterall. she is swimming in February while it is 50 outside. I would definitly stay here again!

Room Tip: Suite is really nice to have. Just one large room w/ a bed and sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgoeverywhere05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas-Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas-Medical Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas-Medical Center
Address: 1521 Inwood Rd, Dallas, TX 75247-6205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas-Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas Central-Market Center. We are excited to be your premier hotel while staying in the Market Center Area. Convenience and comfort are just a few of the benefits for Staying Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. Free hot breakfast to start your mornings off right as well as staying connected with our free wired and wireless hi-speed Internet are the essentials to a smart stay! Speaking of convenience, we are located right off one of Dallas major highways, I-35E and Inwood Road. You will find places you will want to visit just minutes away such as the Dallas Market Center, famous for buyers shopping in the furniture industry, as well as the American Airlines Center and West End Nightlife. Be sure to visit the Visit Dallas Website for inside information of places to visit and wonderful places to dine! Our business customers will enjoy the convenience of our hotel to places like UT Southwestern Medical Center, Parkland Hospital, ADP, Ernst & Young, Federal Express Training Center and Aetna. And what we mean by convenient, Aetna is located right next door! So travel smart, Stay Smart and enjoy the many benefits you know and love from your most global hotel brand, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- Dallas Central- Market Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas-Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas-Medical Dallas
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Dallas-Medical Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing