We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“That's it?!?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of African American Museum

African American Museum
Ranked #64 of 229 things to do in Dallas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A museum celebrating the contributions of African Americans to the arts.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“That's it?!?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I expected to really learn about the African-American culture .. more about the struggle, our triumphs, creations, etc ...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Drk_Chlte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“"Interesting"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I visited the African American Museum in Fair Park while vacationing in Dallas this past Dec. I stumbled up on it by mistake while looking for another attraction but I'm glad we did. The employees were very nice. The building had an old century feel to it with a staircase in the middle of the floor like an old plantation house. The museum was decorated very nice.

The exhibits were informative and some what disturbing with kkk suits, chains, postcards, newspaper clippings from hangings and riots that went on back then. Along with other significant pieces of information that I found graffic but it was a part of our history and we should know about it.

Did I mention that admission is free but they take donations. If you're in Dallas, The African American Museum is worth visiting.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank MAMM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum, Small Art Collection and Historical Collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I visited the African American Museum at Fair Park in Dallas in August 2013. I'll write this review for those who are not very familiar with Dallas. Fair Park is the location of the yearly State Fair of Texas in Sept. and October. However, certain parts of the park are available all year round. The African American Museum is one of these. You get to Fair Park by traveling a few miles East of downtown Dallas on Interstate 30. Please refer to a map before going here. Fair Park is large. The African American Museum is on the southwest side of Fair Park. The best gate to enter is gate 5. The museum is just off of S. 2nd Ave, at the west end of 2nd Ave.. Park INSIDE Fair Park. Fair Park is a safe area The area surrounding Fair Park is a less than average safety area. Park INSIDE Fair Park even during the State Fair. There is plenty of free parking right next to the museum, at least at non-State Fair times. The museum is a modern two story building with a dome. The 1st floor has very few displays. The 2nd floor has a good but small art collection and photo collection. It also has an excellent historical section. Both collections include many items which are loaned to the museum, rather than owned by it. There is an excellent collection of artifacts and history of the Freedman's Cemetery in Dallas. Sadly, about 2/3rds of the cemetery was destroyed before it was preserved. You can visit the Freedman's Cemetery today including modern bronze sculptures. It is located near the corner of Lemmon and Cemetery Ave. in Dallas. When I visited the AAM (Not the cemetery) a Ku Klux Klan uniform was on display, as well as a horrible sign. The sign said No Dogs, No Negroes, No Mexicans. Lonestar Restaurant Association. This is horrible, but it's true history, and as a white Texan I'm glad it is on display. Hopefully Americans will never think of doing such things again. Of course slavery is even worse. Some slave bill of sales are on display. One was dated after the Civil War ended, but a month before June 19th, 1865, when Texans learned that the Civil War was over. Worst of all was lynching, (murder). A postcard with handwritten words on one side, and a photo of a lynching was also on display. Fortunately the writer did not say he/she were in favor of the lynching, but who knows? It is gut wrenching history, but important.
The art collection is small. To be honest, some of it is just fair in my opinion. Other artwork seems very significant and quite valuable now and probably more so in the future. Some artist names are: Emma Williams (Three Faces), Carroll Harris Sims,(Untitled Bronze), Horace Foxall (Reclining Figure), Florence Staats (Heart), and oils by S. Beck and R. Beck, among several others. Unfortunately photography of the exhibits is not permitted. Admission is free, but donation locations are available and appreciated. Even though parts of the museum remind you of some horrific things, I recommend that everyone attend. An excellent aquarium is about 1000 feet away in Fair Park if you would like to visit there on the same trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank RickTX28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Reno, OK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I enjoyed this museum. It has some very interesting history that is well displayed in a quiet environment. I think some wonderful improvements could/would be made if there was more funding. But they have done a very nice job.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mindi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So glad we have one!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

I'm so glad we have a museum dedicated to African-American history, culture, and the arts in Dallas...so many American cities that absolutely should have one do not! The museum is housed in a large, beautiful building, and the employees are super friendly. It pains me to only rate it 3 stars, but I have to be honest, and I want people to know what to expect. I really didn't learn anything new, and I wasn't amazed or bowled over by any of the exhibits, but I see a LOT of potential! I would love to see the local Dallas history re slavery and the Reconstruction expounded upon, as well as a lot more about the early years of Deep Elm (Ellum) and the large number of Black street musicians in the '20s and '30s...also about the Blues nightclubs that frequently featured Leadbelly, Blind Lemon Jefferson, and so many others...and something about 508 Park Ave., where Robert Johnson recorded music in the '30s...a venue that is now being completely refurbished and will soon be alive again with music and so much more! http://508park.org

The museum offers free admission but is definitely worth a contribution to the box up front. It needs your support and is definitely worth a visit the next time you're in Dallas!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank RPBTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to African American Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing