We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good time for all ages”
Review of Dallas Zoo

Dallas Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$48.00*
and up
Dallas CityPASS
Ranked #15 of 229 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The largest zoological experience in Texas, the 106-acre Dallas Zoo offers fun, educational and entertaining experiences for the whole family. The Zoo's mission is to inspire a passion for nature and conserve wildlife, and guests can see a number of endangered species and learn about a variety of conservation projects the Dallas Zoo supports. Opened in 2010, our award-winning Giants of the Savanna habitat is internationally known. The savanna features elephants, ostrich, zebras, impalas, giraffes, and guineafowl, often mingling together. The Dallas Zoo is home to a herd of five female elephants and 11 giraffes, which guests can feed by hand. Guests will see the fastest land mammal on Earth, the cheetah, as well as African lions who often spend their days sleeping just inches away from the viewing wall inside the Serengeti Grill restaurant. The Wilds of Africa area features rare animals such as gorillas, chimpanzees and okapi. Guests will enjoy getting eye-to-eye with African penguins as they swim effortlessly underwater. Highlights of the ZooNorth section include the Lacerte Family Children's Zoo, a top-rated reptile and amphibian complex featuring albino alligators, and the Koala Walkabout, featuring the only koalas in Texas, red kangaroo, wallabies, and a lorikeet feeding area for up-close adventures. For alternative transportation to the Dallas Zoo, consider the DART Red Line, which delivers guests to the Zoo's front entrance.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good time for all ages”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The zoo is clean and neat. Had a good time. Most animals were easy to see. Plenty of parking. Good shad on most walking paths. Food pricing is reasonable. You can take your own food and drinks in. Lots of animals to view with information on each.

Helpful?
1 Thank Trgrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DallasZooManagement, Public Relations Manager at Dallas Zoo, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Trgrin, thank you for reviewing us. Glad you had a good time! We know that allowing guests to bring their own food helps many families who might not otherwise be able to visit; we just prohibit glass bottles or alcoholic beverages.

Thanks again -- hope we see you again soon.
Laurie H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    450
    186
    33
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This zoo is okay, but nothing special. They have a nice variety of animals, but their living conditions seemed to be a little questionable. Some of the animals looks quite depressed or isolated. Perhaps it was the day/time we visited. It was fine for one visit, but probably won't go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Indiana_Kristen_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DallasZooManagement, Public Relations Manager at Dallas Zoo, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Good afternoon, Kristen. Thanks for sharing your feedback. We do have thousands of animals; I appreciate you noticing the diversity.

I'm not sure what day/time you were here or what animals you saw, so I can't really address specifics. (Was it a particularly hot day?) But I can assure you that our animal care team closely monitors our residents to ensure that they aren't isolated (unless necessary, like with tigers) or depressed.

We've made several "top zoos" lists in the past year, so I believe that your experience wasn't typical. I hope you'll come back again and give us another shot.

Thanks again for your feedback -- we value it greatly!
Best, Laurie H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Awesome Bird Show and Gorilla Habitat”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Pros: It is the largest zoo in texas (be prepared to walk) which explains the large variety of animals as well as several large animal exhibits. The zoo allows you to bring your own lunch and drinks, but keep in mind, glass, alcoholic beverages, and plastic straws (they can become a choking hazard to animals) are not allowed in the zoo. There's a large shaded picnic area in the zoo. Some shaded pathways due to tall trees and large canopies. Misting stations are placed throughout the zoo to cool yourself. There are a couple of restaurants located in the zoo with a variety of menus that will suit everyone's diet. There are plenty of children's activities in the children's zoo area.

Cons: a little pricey. We paid $30 for two adult tickets; $8 for parking; $28 for food, snacks, and drinks (we ate at the zoo restaurant and did not bring our own lunch and drinks). But to be fair, you would probably spend the same amount of money, if not more, going to a baseball or football game and paying for two baseball tickets, food, and parking. I am not complaining about the prices being high, but to put it into perspective, for a family of four or more, just be prepared to spend some money, if you decide not to bring your own food. One thing that bothered me, was that i did not see an aquarium exhibit (we probably missed it). The zoo closes early, at 5pm. Other than that, I found nothing else wrong with this zoo.

Opinion and Recommendations: I highly recommend that you make plans to see the bird show. The zoo only offers the show, Wed - Sunday, and at specific times of the day; look at the zoo schedule or ask a zoo representative for the show times; you will not regret it and your children will definitely enjoy it; plus it's free. The bird show was probably the highlight of our Dallas Zoo experience. Other animal exhibits that were just as spectacular, where the gorilla, tiger, elephant, and giraffe exhibits. For a large family, and if you want to save some money, i highly recommend that you take advantage of the "bring your own food" policy (take it in a cooler with wheels). In addition, wear comfortable clothes and shoes. This zoo is large and your feet will get tired. Also take a hat and sunscreen; be prepared for the hot sunny days. I recommend that you arrive early to take advantage of the zoo's hours of operation (9am - 5pm). Based on our experience, especially the bird show and the gorilla habitat, I can see why USA Today choose the Dallas Zoo as one of the top ten zoos in the nation. I definitely recommend that you visit this zoo.

Helpful?
6 Thank HoustonFootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
“Wonderful for children! (Of all ages!)”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The employees/zoo keepers in the trading post in the children's zoo are phenomenal!! we have a membership to the zoo and every time we come with things to trade (insects, leaves, rocks) the people working there are soo knowledgable and speak so well to the children!! They don't "talk down" to kids, but speak respectfully. My husband and I have been impressed, time and time again. I've learned a lot right along side my children. The whole zoo is great, but we've been most impressed by the knowledge and manners of the Trading Post people. (We feel it is worth the membership just for the Trading Post and the knowledge people in it!)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dominique711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
712 reviews
400 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“Amazing Fun for All Ages!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is one of the best zoos in the country, established in 1921, over 100 acres, with continued improvements and animal / people friendly areas. They have a fantastic bird show, the lion show they do is amazing and we loved the pairing of the cheetah & lab...so cute! They have a lot of interactive exhibits, it is well thought out, amazing zoo, with mindful keepers. We can recommend this zoo 101%.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mi-Dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dallas Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing