We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Serene Setting”

Thanks-Giving Square
Book In Advance
More Info
US$53.04*
and up
Dallas Sightseeing Segway Tour
Ranked #58 of 229 things to do in Dallas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Thanks-Giving Square is a place that inspires gratitude and honors the great American and world traditions of thanksgiving. Designed in 1976 by architect Philip Johnson, this island of serenity in the heart of downtown Dallas contains a landscaped meditation garden with cascading fountains and a chapel open to people of all faiths and traditions. Gabriel Loire's dramatic "Glory Window" and Norman Rockwell's "Golden Rule" mosaic are highlights of the art collection on display. Throughout the year Thanks-Giving Square hosts an array of events, exhibitions, and community celebrations that promote the spirit and unifying value of giving thanks. Visitor guide available in English, Spanish, Chinese, French, Russian, Arabic. Braille/tactile signage available. The garden is open from 5:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. every day. Due to long-term renovation projects, hours of indoor facilities vary and are subject to change (check the website for the latest information). Chapel of Thanksgiving: Open 11:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Wednesday through Sunday; Open 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. Monday; Closed Tuesday. Hall of Thanksgiving (museum and bookshop): Open by special appointment only. Please call or email to inquire.
Elmer, New Jersey
Level Contributor
294 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Serene Setting”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Need a break from the city environment? Stop here to find peaceful solitude in a very serene setting. Make sure to go inside the chapel to view the beautifully design stain glass that towers above you. Yes, unfortunately it is a place where the homeless hang around in the plaza but let it be a time to reflect on how thankful you are for what you have.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Nicemeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    23
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth your time”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Walking around down town we thought we would go a few extra blocks to see but boy it was not worth it. The walls were falling down and the smell was unbearable.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hey...I kinda liked it.”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I was doing a (self-guided) walking tour of downtown Dallas, and this was in the middle of it.

The other reviews are true: it's worn down, there's either a smell of urine or pine-sol, and it's not in a picturesque location.

But should it be? If the point of it all is to be thankful (and gain some literacy about Thanks-giving itself), then it accomplishes its purpose. I'm not so new agey, but I kinda liked the Square itself and the Thanksgiving ring.

It's not a charismatic destination for you to plan your vacation around. It IS a nice addition that I found along my path. It's at least as fun as the giant eyeball a few blocks away.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank EatTheBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Needs Work”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The stained glass in the chapel is nice. The park is kind of gross. It smells like urine. Half of it is ripped up and it doesn't look like it's under repair because that's the dog area of the park.

The thought behind the park is nice but the execution is not great. Visit and be thankful for something. Don't stay long because it's gross.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GN303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Collins
Level Contributor
229 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Quiet in the midst of a busy world”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Maybe it had something to do with the rushing water (What an interesting waterfall!), but this place is at peace. I understand why it's called Thanksgiving Square. Walkways, bells, flags, quotes, I spent a couple hours here just breathing. I did get caught in a rainshower and had to take refuge under an overhang of a building in the park. My mind was at ease and I was very happy to be alive. If you follow the walkway the bells will ring :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RainJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thanks-Giving Square also viewed

 

Been to Thanks-Giving Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing