We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites I-35 / Walnut Hill
Ranked #119 of 206 Hotels in Dallas
Reviewed 23 March 2014

When I arrived, they had me a room next to the elevator, so I asked to be moved, because I hate listening the elevator all night long. So they moved me to another room, which the smell of fresh paint just about overwhelmed me, plus the smoke detector was chirping. So again they moved me to another room. This room the bath faucet would not shut off completely. The motel is right next to a Night Club, the music coming from the club kept me up all night. Around 4 am, after everyone left the night club, I was just about to fall asleep, when the people next door arrived in their room and I had to listen their conversion. By this point, I just decided to pack up and drive home. On my way out to drop off my keys, I was going speak to the person at the front desk, but she was asleep. I am so glad someone at the motel gets to sleep. With out saying, I wont be back at the motel, I advise you not to either.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room on the other side of the Night Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slewis71119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

The lady at the desk was horrible. Very rude. Had family and requested to have rooms close to each other. Her response was "There are NO requests!" The rooms are old and some smell of smoke even though they were no-smoking. Was not pleased here.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buddiesonroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutt P, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites I-35 / Walnut Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Hello buddiesonroad,

Thank you for taking the time to participate in our on-line survey. I would like to apologize on behalf of my staff, she should have accomodated you and not stated that we did not see that request on your reservation. I will most definitely train them better so this does not happen in the future.

We were a smoking facility, having smoking rooms on the top floor but we have changed to a non-smoking facility, and again, I am sorry you had a smoking room. Hopefully you find it in you to give us another chance in the near future, everything will be new!

Kind Regards,
Mike O'Neil
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I will start off by saying the outward appearance will fool you. The rooms were much older than any other comfort inn and suites that we have stayed at, the tub was dirty, the coffee pot was dirty and broken, the towels were scratchy and the breakfast was mediocre. The night staff was unfriendly but the morning staff was better, more professional. The pool gave my son an ear infection, but the gym was good for my older son. My husband was not impressed with the 1990s era box tv.

Room Tip: Maybe go to a better neighborhood?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutt P, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites I-35 / Walnut Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Hello Billie R.,

Thank you for taking the time to participate in our on-line survey.

On behalf of my entire staff I would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I am truly sorry that you had that experience staying with us. We do know that our hotel is modernly behind that is why we are moving to renovate it to its entirety. I am sorry about your son's situation, please let us know if we can remedy that.

We do hope that you give us another chance to provide you with great guest satisfaction in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mike O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We had made reservations through choice thinking we had guaranteed reservations. At 830pm we called to make sure letting them know we were still in transit to find out they had given our room away but would give us a different one. With Wyndham we have never experienced that. Thankful they still ha a room since they said their full. Yet we arrive and "somehow" they have our room for us. However the building next to us and parking lot had a party going the entire night to wee hours of the morning. Music loud voices and freeway traffic. We were on the Fourth floor backside of building. Though my husband with cold medicine slept through it I didn't.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutt P, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites I-35 / Walnut Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Hello dd1984,

Thank you for participating in our on-line survey.

I deeply apologize for your experience at our hotel and will make sure to train our staff better at assigning rooms. However, we were very busy that day due to the Valentine holiday but again, I will share this with the staff to reinforce our commitment to all of our guest's satisfaction.

We hope that you give us a chance in the near future to serve you better.

Kind Regards,
Mike O'neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I should have known, after passing the Gentlemen's Club nearby, that this hotel would be nothing but trashy. When I walked through the automatic sliding glass doors with my luggage, they actually closed on me. Then my sinuses were assaulted by the pungent chlorine smell which burned my nostrils. After having to wait 15 - 20 minutes to check in, the elevator wait was no better. I was placed in a room next to the hall being remodeled, a scant ten paces away. Not only is the hotel outdated and shabby, so are the rooms. There were holes and cigarette burns on the furniture and bathroom vanity, holes in the drapes, the sink and tub did not drain properly and backed up, the carpet was ragged and the televisions were circa 1980. The air smelled of musty cigarettes and stale beer. I was awakened to the sound of hammers, drills and saws which competed with the obnoxiously loud interstate noise outside my window. I would have been better off at the Bates Motel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernTravelerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutt P, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites I-35 / Walnut Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear SouthernTravelerGal,

Thank you for participating in our survey.

I am very sorry you had to go through that ordeal at our hotel. I know it is not a consolation but it sounds as if you experienced the worst of the worst and I am deeply sorry about that. We have talked to our working crew to scale down on the noise and starting time of their work as we are in the process of renovating and needing a new, upgraded look to our hotel. I would love to have your address to mail you a couple of thousand points. If so you choose, our email address is gm.txa01@choicehotels.com. I hope you forgive us for such horrible experience. Have a nice day and hope hearing back from you.

Kind Regards,

Mike O'Neill
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is a very good value. It is nicely appointed with a friendly and responsive staff. It is clean and contains a whirlpool, an indoor swimming pool and workout center. All are handicap accessible. The breakfast is excellent with bacon/sausage, biscuits and sausage gravy, eggs/omelets, waffles, juice, cereal, coffee, bread, bagels, Danish, yoghurt, and fresh fruit. There are some minor instances of amateur maintenance such as discolored tiles in the elevator and masking tape on the heater/AC, but nothing that is intolerable. The bathroom is clean with an excellent shower head and bath. There is free Wi-Fi. Parking is free, secure, well-lit and there is a low-profile security officer on duty at night as well as video surveillance. Excellent freeway access to 35E to go downtown Dallas in about 15-20 minutes. There are several restaurants or fast food places such as Denny's and Jack in the Box and others within walking distance. The walls are not soundproof, but average. The TVs are older, but operational. The stairway carpet from the lobby to 2nd floor needs shampooing. A few negatives are out of control of the management such as: the location is next to a car lot on the north and the freeway on the west. Not much of a view...who cares? Several nightclubs are very close, but none of this really affected me once inside. I stayed there for 5 days and was very satisfied. To get the best price, book via the internet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutt P, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites I-35 / Walnut Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Mr. Mark O.,

Thank you for taking the time to participate in our on-line survey. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will share this with our staff to reinforce our commitment to providing all our guests with an exceptional service.

I do admit we need minor improvements and that is one of the reasons we are renovating. Also because we do need to be on par with today's technology thus we will be installing all new furniture and television sets. I hope you come back in the near future and enjoy our new accommdations.

Kind Regards,
Mike O'Neill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Spent three nights at this hotel in early January. Noticed a small wrapper, plastic bottle cap and red coffee stir stick on the hallway floor the night I checked in. All three pieces of trash where still there when I checked out. Also noticed a few crackers on the floor of the elevator everyday. Room was pretty clean. Just wonder who cleans the elevator and hallways?

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutt P, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites I-35 / Walnut Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Russell M.,

Thank you for taking the time to respond to our on-line survey.

I am very sorry that we failed to exceed your expectations and I will bring this to the attention of our housekeeping staff. Thank you for letting us know in order to provide a better experience for all of our guests. Hope you come back to see us to let us serve you better.

Kind Regards,

Mike O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
8.0 mi away
Comfort Inn North Dallas Near The Galleria
8.5 mi away
Comfort Suites North Dallas
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas/Stemmons Fwy(I-35 E)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Dallas
Days Inn & Suites Dallas
#113 of 206 in Dallas
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas I-35 Walnut Hill Ln
3.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Dallas Love Field-Medical District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites I-35 / Walnut Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites I-35 / Walnut Hill

Address: 10835 Composite Dr, Dallas, TX 75220-1209 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 206 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range: £54 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites I-35 / Walnut Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All spacious guest rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, hair dryers, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms feature whirlpool bathtubs. Non-smoking rooms can be requested. After a busy day of work or play, enjoy a refreshing swim at the indoor pool and a relaxing soak in the hot tub. Business travelers to this Texas hotel will welcome additional conveniences like the business center, in-room desks and access to copy and fax services. The on-site boardroom can accommodate up to 12 people. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Quality Inn & Suites I-35/Walnut Hill the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! The next time your travels bring you to Dallas, Texas, the Quality Inn & Suites I-35/Walnut Hill hotel offers you ideal accommodations, affordable rates and service with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites I-35 / Walnut Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Dallas
Dallas Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing