We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Love Field
Ranked #17 of 204 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights based on the reviews from Tripadvisor. First the good: The breakfast was very good. I think the eggs were real eggs! It was clean and the rooms was big and nicely decorated. It was convenient to the freeway also and accepted dogs, so if traveling with a pet this would be a good place to stay. The service was good and helpful.
Now the not so good: I think the owners of this hotel went with making it cheaper for them than worry about the comfort of the guest with the AC. We don't stay in our rooms all day when we are in a hotel, but in these rooms the AC worked somewhat only when someone was in the room. There was a motion detector that make the AC work. Also, the AC was small for the room and didn't blow very much air, so it took it about 45 minutes really cool down. When we would get to the room at night, we would have to restart the AC and then wait for it to cool down. The exercise room was small and only had one of each of the equipment and no AC, so it was warm. The tub was very slippery. My husband actually slipped and fell one day and both of us slipped some each day. The sheets on the bed were rough and not very comfortable. Finally, the outside door to leave the hotel in the stairwell would not open. This is a fire hazard and I am pretty sure against the law. I don't know if I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you go in the summer, be prepared for the AC to not the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCSam12, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Love Field, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We are sorry that your stay was somewhat disappointing. We thank you for your appreciation of our service and breakfast. Our air-conditioning in the fitness room is set at the right temperature now. We apologize for the inconvenience. Our hotel is part of the green project for Dallas and therefore we participate in conserving energy. Our rooms have motion detectors which enable the air conditioners to start cooling when a person checks into the room and shuts off when it does not detect any motion or if someone leaves the room for an extended period of time. We do appreciate your concern for the comfort and we do likewise too, as we strive to provide with excellent service and comfort. We want to assure you that we have the best quality products and equipment’s in the industry as well as safety measures. We want to assure you that our exit doors and particularly the emergency doors work properly and for safety are tight locked to be opened on emergency only. Thank you for bringing to our attention to be more careful about the safety of the guests. We do provide bath tub mats to avoid any slip and fall in our tubs upon request as some guests do not like to have a mat on the tub floor. We want to request you to give us another opportunity to serve you to your expectations.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    210
    58
    18
    15
See reviews for
283
184
55
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I hardly have stayed at la Quinta. No specific reason but I always thought they were like inn.

This particular hotel is very nice, clean and convenient to the airport. The location for food or other convenient stores is not as great but at least this place offers free buffet breakfast.

The rooms are very clean and loved the fake hardwood floor by the foyer and the bathroom instead of tile. It makes it feel warmer.

The only issue that I had was the curtain. They had the blackout and then another thicker fabric instead if sheer. Basically I had to have the curtain either up it down with no sheer and everybody can see Elmer from the other side- a highway and parking.

The staff is ok. Not super friendly nor bad.

The fitness center is small but the mirror makes it bigger.

I was very comfortable in the spacious room so no complaint there

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank CecibelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCSam12, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Love Field, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for trying us out and we are glad that we did not disappoint you. We thank you for your suggestion in regards to the room curtain and we will certainly consider upgrading in the future. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Our room was clean and good in terms of size. The hotel in general was good too. The pool area was not the best but it was adequate. The breakfast was good, the coffee was not that great but typical for this level of hotel. The staff was friendly and welcoming. I would recommend this hotel to others. Dogs are welcome and no extra charge, which is always a good thing.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Pierce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cibolo, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very pleased with all aspects of our stay. Would recommend hotel to anyone staying in the Dallas area. Staff friendly and there was adequare breakfast offerings daily. Very clean! There was a huge dog show in town and many of the attendees stayed at this location...you never would have know there were pets. Clean and no odors...we were impressed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quilter142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCSam12, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Love Field, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the compliments and telling us about your experience. We are are honored to hear that it was a perfect stay for you.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The standard room had a mini refrigerator and small microwave ... the beds are comfortable, the staff is welcoming and the property is clean and in a safe location. The complimentary breakfast is good and offers eggs and sausage and make-your own waffles. Coffee is available via a machine 24/7. Looks like pets are allowed. Saw some dogs. Pool is outside and about average. Overall, this hotel is a good value for its price-range.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MelanieMassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moore, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My son and I stayed one night to see a concert and loved the hotel. The bed was soo comfortable and the room was cool and clean. Contemporary décor, and the breakfast was great. In addition to the regular continental breakfast items there was biscuits and gravy, eggs, sausage, ham, hash browns, waffles, yum. Liked the pool and hot tub area. Also used the business center to check my email. I paid around $100 for the stay. Of course would have preferred to pay less.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Laquinta Inn and Suites Dallas Love Field From June 25th through June 27th.



We were originally scheduled to arrive on the evening of June 24th but unfortunately our flight was cancelled. Upon calling the hotel about the change to our reservation, we were informed that "our room would be upgraded" to a suite at no additional charge. When we arrived we were given Room 101 Also known as the handicap room AKA largest room in the hotel. While the room was large, very clean and nice, we were not able to sleep one bit the entire time of our stay. The room was located right next to the back entrance of the hotel, with the headboard for the bed leaning up against the hallway wall. In other words, every time someone closed the outside entrance door, the entire wall vibrated. When people checked in at 4 AM, 5 am, It was especially annoying. One night the door must have opened and closed 12 times in an hour. We could also hear ever single thing going on out in the hallway at all hours of the night, and for the majority of our stay had a hotel neighbor that had a dog staying in the adjoining room. We could hear their entire conversations and all of the barking the animal was making very clearly through this adjoining room. It was so bad we had to turn the TV up! I know that our original room was given to another guest because of our flight delay/cancellation, I'm very upset and annoyed that we were told that this particular room was an upgrade when it clearly wasn't. We paid over 350.00 for three nights of no sleep. When I went to the front desk to check out. I explained the situation to the people at the desk. letting them know that we were not able to sleep at all the entire time we were there. I was just met with an "oh sorry" I booked this room directly off the hotel site well in advance to have gotten at least one of your rooms that was located in a much better section of your hotel. I was really upset that I was just met with an "oh sorry" at the front desk. Someone else has to have complained about this issue, and the people putting us in the room had to have known it was an awful room due to the amount of noise. our room charges were over 100.00 including taxes for each night we stayed. I realize that the hotel has no control over other guests, however the way this room is set up is not helpful in dealing with noise issues.

Don't even know why I am wasting my time trying to get somewhere with the hotel manager. This was his response: Just an FYI My husband is partially Deaf. Thought readers might get a kick out of the response with that added info.

This apology is in response to the above inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. I have personally checked through the reasons for the noise factor in the room and found that there is no noise that we can replicate of the nature that you have mentioned. We understand that noise is an abstract factor that cannot be measured by the individual perception of loud and inconvenient noises at different times. We are in no way denying that there is no noise around the room that you stayed but have confirmed that it is minimal and at times it is more due to people and traffic around, which is a factor beyond our control. In regards to the booking you made we can confirm that you booked a junior suite or an extended king bed suite with sofa sleeper at the best available rate for the nights you booked, which is also located in the same area. Due to the changes being made by you due to the flight cancellations we did change the category of the room to a one bedroom suite without any increase in price by upgrading you to it and giving you the privilege of using the best room in the hotel which is demanded by almost every guest and the most popular room. We had no complaints of this nature in the past by those who have used this particular room and also by anyone who is currently using it. This room is also facilitated for the use of handicapped guests too. We regret the inconvenience caused to you by these disturbances of loud noises around the room and sincerely apologize for the same. We are not able to do much but would love to take care of you in the future in a manner that will be comfortable to you. You may please contact me in this regard and will promise to ensure that you are satisfied. In regards to the location of the room and its allocation we do it on a first come first basis upon the availability unless there is a special request for a particular need which is accommodated only on the basis of availability.

Room Tip: Room 101 is noisy - the entire wall of the headboard vibrates when someone is leaving out the back e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 561janetl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCSam12, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Love Field, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We once again want to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and want to thank you for letting us know abou it. We promise to resolve an issue and deliver a satisfied stay as much as possible and would have appreciated an oppurtunity to address the issue during your stay with us, neverthless we will still be honored to have the opportunity to show forth our humble desire and effort to make your stay an enjoyable one.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 204 in Dallas
6,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 204 in Dallas
1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Love Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Love Field

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Love Field
Address: 8300 John W Carpenter Fwy, Dallas, TX 75247-4725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 204 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Love Field 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the service road of John W Carpenter Fwy (SH 183) in between Mockingbird and Empire Central, our 100 percent non-smoking La Quinta Inn & Suites offers easy access to many destinations such as Downtown Dallas (4 miles) and Fort Worth. We offer Bistro Q, a fast fresh restaurant within the hotel, an outdoor swimming pool, fully equipped fitness center, business center, state of the art meeting room, guest laundry facilities, free USA Today newspapers and free wireless high-speed Internet. Dallas is home for the famous Dallas Cowboys Stadium and Texas Rangers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LaQuinta, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Love Field reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing