We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious”

Off the Bone Barbeque
Ranked #104 of 3,580 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Casual
Mercedes, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were the first ones there to open the place and we are glad we did. We were greeted with a rib each to try. Food was great and the workers were excellent. The portions are good and feeling. We ordered a sampler for 2 and 5 of us ate from it. The ribs are oh so delicious and the meat falls right off.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    43
    17
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
405 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Excellent Ribs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My daughter and I were in downtown Dallas and wanted BBQ. I'm glad we found Off the Bone. The brisket was very tasty and moist, and the ribs were incredible. The manager greeted us and showed us great hospitality. We were impressed by both the great food and the kindness. We will return!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
141 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ribs and sausage are superb!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Visited after seeing the great reviews and I was mainly interested in the brisket. We got the combo plate with brisket, ribs and sausage. We ordered the brisket lean which was a mistake as it was a bit dry. The sample we tasted had more fat (and flavor). While the brisket wasn't what we expected, neither were the ribs and sausage (in a good way). I've never tasted sausage like this. It was fantastic and the ribs had a very unique flavor. It is a small location but we ate outside of the busy hours and we had no problems with seating. The staff were very friendly. There is only one bathroom and it outside access but you aren't coming for the bathroom are you?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RaleighBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Interesting little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Place is small, very small. You come into the eating area, then turn into the order counter inside. Once you are in, you are right next to the counter. I can imagine what it would be like when its busy.

The service was very friendly, and food came out reasonably fast. My ribs were falling of the bone tender. It's dry, they provide one sauce on the table only if you want it, which i think has vinegar in it. Not a big fan of that. I like my sauce a little more spicy. Buy that is a personal preference.

The bake beans were good, potato salad was very good. The price was very reasonable for the meal.

You come for the food. And they don't disappoint.

Helpful?
Thank chiontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSoto, Texas
1 review
“Horrible Experience on my lunch break!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I preorder 11 different (bbq) orders at 11:03 am, and asked the young man how long would it take he stated whatever time I would like to pick it up it would be ready. Which I asked for it at 11:40 I arrived at 11:40. the young man repeated my order 4 times to verify. I paid $95.75, and got 3-orders of ribs, 1 meat combo, 2 meat combo, 1 beef sausage sandwich and 1 - 4oz baked beans, that should have been $74.15 + tax, and paid for 2 rib orders separately and charro beans. I got back to work two orders were not there, but they charged me for 2 chopped beefs, coleslaw, charro beans, open food(?) not sure what that was. I called back an elderly guy answered said to bring it back & he would make to order right. I sneak away from my job to get the missing orders and a young lady tried to talk crazy to me. I paid $95.75 for something and the point is I had missing food then looked at the food they didn't even add bbq sauce for the food and the chopped beef was fatty and rubbery. Also never order the order of ribs ($8.22) literally it was 3 bones baby back ribs which was boiled 8and a dried up roll, one piece of onion, 2 pickles..LOUSY. Worst experience. I normally go to Baby Back Shaq on Akard and decided to give them a chance. After the Inconvenience of going back to get the rest of my orders that I paid for, no one ever apology for not giving me my entire order or driving back. Rude, This company will never have to worry about the 11 people that ordered this horrible food...I wish I could take a screen shot..This company ruined our Juneteenth, needless to say, totally disappointed. WHO EVER gave this bbq joint a good rating do not know good bbq. Go to North Dallas, Anderson's bbq on Harry Hines, Sony Bryans on Inwood, Records BBq on Lancaster, TD's bbq on Lancaster, Big Al's Smokehouse. Try any of these and don't waste your time if this is a convenient location pass it doing 60...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 321gaylal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Off the Bone Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Off the Bone Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing