We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip Neighborhood Theater”

Dallas Angelika Film Center
Ranked #6 of 35 Fun & Games in Dallas
Attraction details
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hip Neighborhood Theater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Clean modern movie theater in which to enjoy low-circulation films. Nice added feature...they sell beer and wine!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lachoirboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    64
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
221 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good Venue, Great Movies, Good Sound but Poor Parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I had a "date night" Saturday night; dinner at the East Hampton Sandwich Company in Snider Plaza and a movie at Mockingbird Station at the Angelika. Despite the many dining venues at Mockingbird Station, we had been to almost all and chose to visit another for the first time in Snider Plaza in Park Cities, only a short drive away. The theater is more upscale than most and is jumping on a Saturday night. Seating is good (get there 30 minutes early!) and the sound system is excellent. They do have a bar and the snack bar is very pricey. My only negative is the parking on a busy night. The garage is extremely tight (take the smallest car you have) and parking is limited. On the fourth pass through the garage, we simply gave up and were going to leave. On the way out of Mockingbird Station, we were lucky to have someone pull out of the center island and we got parked in time to make the show. While I have serious concerns about the safety of DART Rail, I might consider parking at the station across from NorthPark and riding down to Mockingbird Station. That's got to be better on a weekend. That said, we will continue to enjoy our visits to the Angelika at Mockingbird Station.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MAC3844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Kinda pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We recently spent a day celebrating our anniversary which started out at Norma's cafe for breakfast, then on to the Angelika for a movie. The movie was not great, which probably was the primary reason for the bad review. I bought a 7.00 icee, and a 12.00 medium bag of popcorn. The place was almost deserted. I think they are trying to make up for the low attendance by upping the price of their concessions.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ahill77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
750 reviews
295 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Needs an update”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Overall the Angelika is a cute little theater in Mockingbird station. It's a nice place to go on a date since it isn't your run of the mill movie theater, it has a little more character and a bonus is they have a full bar! However, it could definitely use a little face lift. When we went to a movie there last week when we first walked into the theater the entire hallway (until you get into the area with the seats) smelt strongly of urine :S Thank goodness once we got in our seats we couldn't smell it anymore. The whole place just feels like it could use a good cleaning & some new carpet.

Mockingbird station does have parking garages but sometimes it feels like you have a looooong way to walk to the theater. If you take the train or park in the DART lot it's a quick little walk to the Angelika since it's on the station side of Mockingbird station.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrussoDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Love Angelika in Plano AND Mockingbird Station”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We love the Angelika theatres! Great experience always! Good, unique selection and refreshments. We definitely recommend!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MollyOflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dallas Angelika Film Center also viewed

 

Been to Dallas Angelika Film Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing