We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Terrible Experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ZaZa Dallas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Ranked #2 of 196 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Terrible experience from beginning to end. My wife booked a double king bed room over the phone at a rate just under $400 for the night. When we arrived to the hotel to check in, the rate had magically increased to over $500 - we decided to stay there and gave them our credit card.
They had issues processing the card and kept telling me it wasn't going through; however, I was able to confirm the charges were hitting our bank account through mobile banking. They did this to us on three different cards (two Visa and one Master Card) until I used American Express.
When we arrived to the room everything looked great, the rooms are nice and the beds super comfortable; the only issue was that the beds were not king size. Checking out the next day, I tried to have them change the charges from the American Express to my Visa but they still had system issues and I kept seeing the charges on my mobile banking but not on their system. I overheard one of the receptionists on the phone with their billing company to let them know the billing system was not processing cards. The receptionist told me it was no problem and would just make a copy of my Visa and I signed on that, she also mentioned I was not going to get a receipt because of the billing system but that she would email it to me as soon as it was fixed.
I never received the receipt and kept seeing the charges on my Visa card for about three days until the charges disappeared from the Visa card and were applied to the American Express. I called the hotel for assistance with the billing issue but nobody was able to help me. The first person I spoke to said she needed to get assistance from a manager and that the manager would call me back - manager never called me back. I called again and the second person I spoke to told me they couldn't help me there and gave me a number to the billing department in Houston but wouldn't be able to speak to them until the next business day (it was after five when I called.)
When I called the supposed billing department it just turned out to be the front desk of the hotel in Houston so they ended up transferring me to the front desk in Dallas. The last person I spoke to had to place me multiple times on hold and ended up saying that I have to send a notarized copy of my Visa card and ID because they didn't have a copy. I remember when I checked out they made a copy on my card and I signed it but they had apparently lost it because they only had the American Express and one of the other cards they tried to charge.
Nobody at any point took any ownership of the issue and I will not recommend nor go back to this hotel or the chain again. The valet parking guys were the nicest by far.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eccomusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
eccomusic,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your visit at the hotel. I sincerely apologize for the transaction issues you encountered while staying at the hotel. I attempted to contact you; however I was unable to reach you. The credit card system has been fixed since your visit. Please touch base with me when you have an opportunity, as I would like to gather more details concerning your experience and WOW you with a signature ZaZa visit! We love ya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    181
    49
    32
    31
See reviews for
73
339
55
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hotel ZaZ is Such a fabulous hip boutique hotel. My room was huge and very well decorated. Staff was friendly. BreakfAst at Dragon Fly was delicious. My hotel room had a beautiful view of Uptown Dallas!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerlady2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
travelerlady2009!

Thank you for the great feedback! I am happy to read that you had an awesome time at Hotel ZaZa recently! The hotel is definitely eclectic. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast at the Dragonfly!

Please touch base when you would like to plan another z-mazing ZaZa getaway, as I will have my team roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival. We love ya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were truly blown away by Zaza over the past weekend. We went to celebrate my fiance's birthday, and received an upgrade to one of the new bungalows. It made our night! The room was super luxurious and an attendant was waiting to welcome us to the room! Loved that extra touch and that you get picked up to and from the bungalow any time you want to get back to the hotel or the restaurant... made things very easy for us and our friends, since we had reservations at the Dragonfly. The staff throughout our stay was excellent, especially Zack. Thank you so much for making our first stay with Zaza so special! I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anima-Nawaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Anima-Nawaz!

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! I am pleased to read that you and your fiance had a thoroughly enjoyable experience at Hotel ZaZa recently. The Bungalows are AWESOME!

In regards to service, I will definitely commend Zach for providing excellent service to you during your stay! Please touch base when you would like to z-scape back to ZaZa, as I will have my team roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival. We love ya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

My stay at ZaZa was nothing short of amazing!! The valet, reception staff, waiters/waitresses, bartenders, etc were all super friendly and very helpful. My room was huge, immaculate, and the decor was beautiful!! I never comment on beds however, the bed was extremely comfortable. This is the type of hotel that you will never forget and you will return. You really don't have to leave if you didn't want to. The hotel bar and restaurant were superb and my food was delicious and plated perfectly. The attention to detail and customer service at Hotel ZaZa is above and beyond any hotel I've stayed at. I received a special that entitled me to free valet, 2 free cocktails, and breakfast. This was a great deal and it saved me a lot of $$. We will return ZaZa.

Room Tip: "Top floor corner room was large, and quiet"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NessiaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
NessiaH!

Thank you for the wonderful review! I am pleased to read that you had a delightful time at Hotel ZaZa recently! The hotel offers quite a few specials throughout the year; I am happy you received a great deal!

Come on back soon for another signature ZaZa visit! We love ya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at the Dallas hotel for their Halloween party. It was Fantabulous!! I love Halloween and we had excellent service. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Anything they help you with, they will. I always go here when I need a break from the daily grind. Love the balcony rooms. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Deanie010!

Thank you for the fantastic review! I am very pleased that you had an awesome time at ZaZa's Halloween celebration! The Z is definitely a great place to unwind!

Please touch base when you would like to z-scape to ZaZa, as I will have my team roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival! We love ya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

A beautiful, slightly different hotel with friendly, and helpful staff.
We had a standard room which was tastefully furnished. In an age when turn-down service is rare, it was an unexpected bonus!

Our special rate included parking, cocktails and breakfast all of which exceeded our expectations (Cocktail ticket was good for $30.00, and cocktails were $12.00 each. Breakfast ticket was valued at $40.00 with options up to $17.00)

Our visit was in October, and all the staff wore pink sneakers in honor of Breast Cancer awareness month, the main lobby chandelier glowed pink: it was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Leonard Street is busy, so ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Anne V!

Thank you for the wonderful review! I am pleased to read that you had a lovely stay at Hotel ZaZa last month. We're all about the unexpected bonuses!

Please touch base when you would like to dive back into the ZaZa world, as I will have my team create a signature experience for you! We love ya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were really impressed by the staff, particularly valet and servers in the bar area. They were very accommodating. My fiance and I were wanting a quiet night with a few drinks but the bar was packed. There were a few servers that showed us to a quiet, back dining area with a great view of the bar minus the noise and crowd. They took excellent care of us despite having a packed house out front, I believe their names were Maddie and Tiffany. They even did the same for us the following night! Their extra effort made the difference between a good and a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Jonathan C!

Thank you for the wonderful review! I am glad you and your fiance had a lovely time at Hotel ZaZa and the Dragonfly! I will definitely commend the servers for providing excellent service to you during your visit!

Please touch base when you would like to explore more of the ZaZa atmosphere, as I will have my team roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival! We love ya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 196 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,744 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 196 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Adolphus
#16 of 196 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,493 reviews
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 196 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ZaZa Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ZaZa Dallas

Property: Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Address: 2332 Leonard Street, Dallas, TX 75201-2020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas > Oak Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#3 Family Hotel in Dallas
#6 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ZaZa Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Uptown Dallas, Texas, Hotel ZaZa is a luxury boutique hotel that features concept suites, day spa, meeting facility, vacation packages, and fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel ZaZa Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaza Hotel Dallas
Hotel Zaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing