We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Marriott HOME RUN!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dallas Marriott City Center
Ranked #41 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Marriott HOME RUN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I only rate a hotel when it goes above and beyond the normal Marriott high standards. In my opinion this Marriott (and their concierge lounge) far exceeds the service level at the Marquis in Times Square.

The concierge lounge staff were amazing. They took time to genuinely ask about my day and made sure everything was just perfect. Also, the food was spectacular, taking heavy hors devours to new heights.

The staff is friendly and anticipates your needs. One of the "small things" that is really a big thing for me, was their thoughtfulness in the room on the club level. Water and Pretzels in the room as a "late night snack" is a small thing that speaks volumes to their service level. I'm very rarely in Dallas, however, I know where I'm staying the next time I'm there.

Close to everything. Great food on site and nearby! Management visible and engaged. Home run Marriott, see you next time I'm in Dallas!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas_Marriott, Guest Relations Manager at Dallas Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Mr. Chad R,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review. We look forward to your return on your next trip to Dallas. If there is anything we can do to improve your stay, please do not hesistate to let me know. Meredith Innes, Sr. Rooms Operations Manager, meredith.innes@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    192
    63
    26
    14
See reviews for
58
77
21
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at the Marriott 3 nights on a recent trip to Dallas. This particular Marriott property is in the heart of downtown Dallas. Its huge, and includes an adjacent impressive atrium style shopping and dining mall. The location is great, and the rooms are fine, but you kind of expect that. The hotel concierge and desk staff were particularly helpful. However, there are some service and convenience issues which offset the positives for us. I have seen some of these problems at another Marriott hotel, suggesting to me that some of the issues may be system wide.

First, there is no hotel shuttle service at all. You will need a taxi or pay for a private shuttle van to go anywhere. Taxis are actually a better deal, at least for the airport trips. There is a nearby city train terminal, you can ride all day for a modest daily fee if the train happens to be going where you need to go. If you rent a car, plan on some pricey daily hotel parking fees.

Second, its about $14 a day to use the hotel internet in your room. Who charges for internet anymore? Marriott does.

Third and inexplicably, most of the atrium shops and restaurants on this huge Marriott property are closed on weekends, As a consequence, the lines for the few open food venues are outrageous. Since there isn't anything within walking distance of the hotel, this forces you to the Marriott hotel restaurant/bar. Breakfast there is good, dinner not so much. Service is also a little iffy

Fourth , there seemed to be a distinct lack of control of the premises. During our stay, and among other events, there was an athletic meeting or conference of some sort. Apart from the huge crowd and noise in the lobby, there were groups of teens actually dribbling basketballs in the hotel lobby. Although we had specifically asked for a quiet room at check in (based on a prior review we read), this disruption carried over to our hotel room. The entire hallway outside our room became a party area, with large groups of teens congregated. They actually had pizza delivered and sat on the hallway floor, eating and partying. This activity carried over into the room adjacent to ours.

Marriott's are nice hotels, but they do need to work on providing better services and oversight, at least where I've stayed. They charge enough to be able to provide a little more to their customers. In the future, I will stay at one if I have to.
.

Room Tip: Arrange your own transportation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas_Marriott, Front Office Manager at Dallas Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Good afternoon FloridaRO,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us; we welcome any feedback that can help us improve the guest experience in the future. I am sorry your time as our guest was less than satisfactory.

Thank you for the positive comments as well. I am glad you enjoyed the rooms and our location. I am happy to hear that the concierge and reception team displayed the service we strive for and our guests have come to expect.

While we do have a security team present at all times, we will absolutely look at scheduling an additional person to keep watch in the instances when there are large youth groups in the hotel. The safety and security of our guests is our top priority and our security team works very hard to ensure an environment that is conducive for both relaxing and productivity. I am truly dissappointed that you were disturbed by one of our groups and we were not able to adequately contain the noise.

It is great that you enjoyed your breakfast in the hotel restaurant but I am sorry dinner did not meet your expectations. If you have a free moment I would really appreciate any particular opportunities you noticed where we could improve your dining experience in the evening.

We do charge for our internet services in order to provide our guests with a secure, fast, and stable connection as well as provide a 24/7 technical support staff. We do offer complimentary wireless in all public areas as well our business center. The charge for internet in the guest rooms is common with most of our large full-service competitors.

Again, thank you so much for your valuable feedback. I know it will prove helpful for planning purposes to prevent these same issues from reoccurring in the future. If I can be of any help in the future, or if you would like to give us any more feedback, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards,
Chase Chasteen
Rooms Operations Manager
chase.chasteen@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I was at this location for one night for a wedding. Rooms were fine. Location is in walking distance of Klyde warren park & the art museum which was a great way to spend a few free hours. Service was slow at the bar. The appetizers we ordered were great. Especially the tempura prawns. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet & had the most friendly waitress!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here for the ACS conference in March. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. Even though I did not book through ACS, they helped me make the stay extremely comfortable. Room was well equipped and clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus Ontario
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is great for visiting Dallas either with a partners or for business. You should be aware that there isn't much near this hotel so expect to take a cab or use your own vehicle. The rooms are great and the service is exceptional. I did not give this hotel a perfect score because I believe a hotel that charges this much a night should provide free internet, not charge you $14.00 a day to use it in your room; that is just cheap.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dcaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
476 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

For my first stay in downtown Dallas, I chose this Marriott because of its proximity to a DART line stop and the Dallas Museum of Art. Aside from those benefits, there are many other reasons why I would highly recommend this hotel. [Disclosure: I am a Gold level Marriott Reward member].

For your consideration:
(1) The property is within easy walking distance of the Dallas Museum of Art, Nasher Sculpture Center, Crow Collection of Asian Art, Meyerson Symphony Center and Winspear Opera House. If culture is your thing, this would be a great place to stay.
(2) Slightly farther to walk (15-20 mins) are the Dallas World Aquarium, Perot Museum and Sixth Floor Museum.
(3) The hotel actually forms one side of the Plaza of the Americas, with odd number rooms facing Pearl Street and the evens facing the atrium. Because I thought hotel atriums could get noisy at times, I had a room facing Pearl Street. However, I noticed that the atrium seemed to be pretty quiet (closure of the offices and restaurants). Sleep quality was surprisingly good considering that I could see the DART trains from my room. My KING room was super-nice. The room fridge was very quiet.
(4) The fitness center is awesome, among the largest I have ever visited in a hotel of this type. Whether you are into cardio or weight workouts, everything is there for you.
(5) If your Marriott membership can get you access to the Concierge Level, you’ll be pleased to find free food and drink (pour ‘em yourself!) that just might suffice for a nice dinner.

A note about DART travel to/from DFW: program in a little over an hour for the overall trip, which is by rail/shuttle. From the hotel take the Orange train to the “Belt Line” station, which is currently the last stop. From there, you’ll hop a shuttle van that takes you to DFW. I’m told that the Orange line will extend all the way to DFW starting in September, so that will save a little time when that happens. You may want to visit the restroom just before you leave your hotel because there are none at the shuttle station.

Room Tip: The highest and lowest room numbers are farthest from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Dallas and enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean and comfortable, a very large firm bed. Only criticism is the bathroom looks a tad dated and old. Wasn't keen on the shower over the bath as the non slip in the bathtub felt very gritty which makes you think it's dirty when it's not! Good location for exploring central sights, just a short walk away. We didn't eat in hotel but the breakfast looked good. There is a small centre attached to hotel that contains eating places that are good for breakfast / snacks. I think they shut early evening though and only a few open at weekends. Oh one last thing you have to pay extra for wifi which is annoying in this day and age! And valet parking is around $20 a day which we felt was ok although we did see several car parks not too far away for $5..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sashakins09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Sheraton Dallas Hotel
Sheraton Dallas Hotel
#43 of 201 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 201 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Westin Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Dallas
Downtown Dallas
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dallas Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dallas Marriott City Center

Property: Dallas Marriott City Center
Address: 650 N Pearl St, Dallas, TX 75201-2818
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#29 Business Hotel in Dallas
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#40 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dallas Marriott City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dallas Marriott City Center is a gorgeous Downtown Dallas hotel offering luxurious accommodations and an ideal location in the vibrant Arts District. Enjoy world-class entertainment, fine dining and exclusive shopping at Neiman Marcus’ flagship store. Visitors will appreciate our location near the Nasher Sculpture Center, Plaza of the Americas and Petroleum Club. Back at the hotel, guests are treated to eye popping views of the Downtown skyline, and can experience the radiant energy of our well appointed guestrooms. We are equipped for weddings and events with 14 meeting rooms, including the Plaza Ballroom and the Atrium which offers a soaring 15-story space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dallas Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas Marriott City Hotel Dallas
Westin Hotel Dallas
Westin Hotel City Center
Westin Dallas
Dallas Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing