We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great acoustics for any type of event”

Winspear Opera House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$74.69*
and up
Arts District Segway Tour
Ranked #32 of 236 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great acoustics for any type of event”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Opera is the main reason for this building but other musical programs are enhanced by the acoustics of this place. Plus, the building is gorgeous at night.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank scott46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    41
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dallas finally has a great venue for the performing arts”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I really enjoy the performing arts, but we had no local venue that had great staging and acoustics. Winspear has hit the mark. It's a modern venue, you can hear everything on stage, crystal clear from front row to upper balcony. Don't let the word Opera fool you, they have all kinds of events at this place. I recommend checking out what they have and trying it at least once. Splurge on some better tix. Go early and have dinner in uptown which is only a few blocks away.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Opera.yeah kind of”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Winspear is a gorgeous opera house, totally not what I expected in Dallas for some reason. It is part of the theatre district they are almost finished building. Good seats, if still a little packed too tightly. The seats at the top are a little high. The stage is a little small. Could use more bathrooms for the ladies. The staging is sometimes wanting, but that has more to do with the opera company and not the venue. There have been glitches and at the price we pay for good seats on a subscription, there should be no technical glitches. We have been more impressed with the Forth Worth opera staging and performances, and there is no where within walking distance to go have a coffee afterwards - it's as dead as door nails all around. They have to fix that. In Forth Worth, when we attend the Bass Hall, there is a ton to do within walking distance into the night.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luluhalabaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A great venue for concerts”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Such a beautiful venue and not a bad seat in the house. I am cheap and sit in the upper balcony. Even there the sound is wonderful and the view is fine. This is a great venue for any concert or performance.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chill15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Saw Alex Jones here...”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Was at a conference and saw the great patriot Alex Jones speak, as well as filthy rich T Boone Pickens. Really nice venue, the only downside is that no more than 2 or 3 gents can drain the lizard at any one time in the small men's rooms.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NotoriousCLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winspear Opera House also viewed

 

Been to Winspear Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing