We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Flagship El Fenix” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Fenix Famous Mexican Restaurant

El Fenix Famous Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 3,563 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Oak Lawn
Dallas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Flagship El Fenix”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Martinez family has been serving quality Mexican food here as far back as I can remember and this restaurant maintains its quality. Some friends and I recently visited the Perot Museum and afterwards walked across Griffin Street to El Fenix. We were seated after less than a 5 minute wait and were immediately served their signature chips and salsa as we decided from their large menu. Our food arrived fairly quickly and was hot and plentiful. Our waitress was attentive and kept ice tea glasses filled without our asking. The restaurant is colorful and roomy. This is just a great place to eat authentic Tex-Mex in Dallas. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Texcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    193
    78
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durant, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Old friend.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I've been a fan of El Fenix since the first one on Beckly Ave. The food remains true to it's Tex Mex reputation. Beautiful building with lovely murals on all walls. Friendly and quick service. A favorite.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank okiloki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“VERY Good Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Was looking for a place to meet friends. We all love Mexican food. They found this place, so we said we'd try it, and we were glad we did. There is plenty of room for seating and parking. The dress is casual, and the menu selection was great. Food and drink prices was very reasonable, and we were all VERY satisfied with the food. It was presented well, tasty, and good quantity. No one walked away hungry, and everyone really enjoyed the taste. The wait staff was very good, and we highly recommend it, and will definitely be back. I could have given it 5 stars, however, for 5 stars I would want it to be a little higher end, quieter and formal. Not that this was low end, noisy or anything, it was great. However, 5 stars to me means exceptional, hard to match. This very very good and enjoyable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, FL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Flew in from Florida, first stop was El Fenix”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This review is for the Lemmon Ave location. Long time transplanted Texans, we longed for the flavors of real TexMex that isn't duplicated anywhere else other than in Texas as far as I am concerned. Landed at Love Field, got a car and headed to El Fenix for the taste of a great enchilada. My group wasn't disappointed. We all had something different and weren't disappointed with any entree. Started coming here 45 years ago and this is the only location I know. Have a special request, they can make it happen. Management and servers made our latest meal memorable. We will return some day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rattler93a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabrook, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old Standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We asked all of the staff at the hotel for the best Mexican Restaurant around and none of them mentioned El Fenix. We asked a couple of people about it and they said it wasn't very good. We didn't take their advice and went to El Fenix anyway and we are glad we did. I fact, we stopped Sunday morning on our way home and ate there again. El Fenix is just good solid TexMex. Nothing fancy but always excellent service, fresh ingredients and fast. We will always go there anytime we are in Dallas.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank yayho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Fenix Famous Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Fenix Famous Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing